We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, friendly staff and a greta place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Benacus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Benacus to your Saves list
Hotel Benacus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Monte Brione 19, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Derbyshire UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, friendly staff and a greta place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

From the moment we checked in the staff were very helpful, polite and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt as if we had been there weeks after just a few hours because we were on good terms with everyone. It's a delightful location, fantastic views over Garda, and our room featured a balcony with a superb view. Breakfast was fresh and varied, and there were options to have dinner in the evening (we didn't eat there but the menu looked good and it was always busy in the evening) The pool, WC's and changing areas were immaculately clean, and it was so easy to relax in lovely surrounds with a terrific view over mountains and the lake. It's ten minutes walk from the harbour and 15-20 mins form the town, which on a sunny evening is a pleasure to stroll along the street where you will find lots of choices of bars, restaurants and places to go. It's not quite as close to the town as some hotels but none of them enjoy the spectacular views over the lake. We'd certainly book again and this hotel is a real find.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies and lake views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    24
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
60
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This nice little hotel is beautifully located with a stunning view over Riva del Garda and the mountains. Very nice pool area, great breakfast and friendly staff made it a very nice stay! Make sure to book a room with balcony as view is spectacular.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jablonec nad Nisou, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful view, nice breakfast, friendly and helpfull staff, clean rooms.
Free WiFi is OK.
Airconditioning is effective.
Definatelly recomend!!!
This is our favorite destination, we are coming back regularly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a holiday in Italy which included an 8 night stay in Hotel Benacus. We booked our stay there on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor and I can confidently say they were all correct. It was fabulous.

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The welcome was wonderful, with a lovely drink. Our room looked out over the lake and mountains and we had our own small balcony. I would highly recommend anyone staying there to ask for a room on the -2 floor. It was quiet at all times and totally private. We could sit there with our feet up and a book and feel like we were in our own villa! If I could have wished for anything more it would have been for a mini fridge in the room so we could put our water that we bought during the day in there, but other than that the rooms were perfect. Very clean, tidy, spacious, comfortable. Lots of space to hang clothes. They will also do laundry. I was most impressed with that service. Especially when I got concerned by the fact that one item wasn't returned with the bulk, but was told it was because it wasn't quite dry and would be delivered later - and it was! Very impressive.

The staff were fab from start to finish. When we needed advice (I had to work a bit while I was there and managed to destroy one of my phone chargers), but we were v quickly directed to somewhere I could replace it, and kindly advised not to go to the place I'd seen in Riva because the costs would be higher - great advice and showed they cared).

I must especially commend one of the waiters, Maurizio. He was everything you hope and wish for. He looked after us from start to finish (as did everyone there) - even when England were losing to Italy!

At one point the hotel became v busy because there was a convention in town, but at no point did we feel left out or ignored, The minute I arrived at (the buffet) breakfast (perfect - continental style with a bit of everything, fruit, cereal, bread, pastries, cheese, ham, juices - usually freshly squeezed - and scrambled eggs), Maurizio would ensure my cappuccino was on its way to me.

The hotel itself is a small walk from the town, but it's really an easy walk if you don't mind a bit of up hill on your way back. We were usually glad of it as it justified the amount we ate (we wish!). Worst case, it's easy to find a taxi from town (go to the main hotel by the museum where there's a rank) and it only costs about €7, But honestly the walk is nice.

I stay in 5* hotels around the world all the time because of my job and can honestly say this was one of the nicest, friendliest stays I've had anywhere. And we will be back!

Ps - one small bit of advice, take a towel. We hadn't, and the pool (with breathtaking views over the lake) is not to be missed, but you can't use the room towels. We ended up buying a couple in town at great expense!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony - especially on floor -2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago having booked a package through Travel Sphere. The staff were great always smiling and happy to help in all they could, the food was super always plenty of it. The rooms we very clean and comfortable towels were changed every two days,the swimming pool was also very clean and also the sun beds.We would stay at this hotel again it was the super.

Mr & Mrs C essex

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've just arrived back from our second stay at the hotel, on a holiday booked through Travelsphere. We have never made a return trip to the same venue before but the holiday was so exceptional last year that this time we brought two friends with us to share in the magic. They loved it and the holiday was just as special for us this time, too.

The Hotel Benacus is situated on a hillside with stunning views of Lake Garda and Riva Del Garda. Because it's on a hillside, the walk from Riva may not be ideal for the elderly but a shuttle bus is available if needed. I'm not sure about frequency because we have always walked it. If you are fairly able bodied and capable of getting about, the zig-zag road to the hotel shouldn't be a problem. The views really do cancel out the walk, as they genuinely are second to none.

The hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. I am a vegetarian, and the staff went out of their way to ensure that my meals weren't repetitive or boring. The hotel has a long balcony with tables, which runs all along the front of the building. It was just heavenly to be able to eat and drink 'al fresco' in such beautiful surroundings on warm summer nights.

We can't understand why this hotel's star rating is so low. It could possibly be because some of the rooms are oddly shaped because they are in the eaves of the hotel but we didn't find this a problem on either occasion. Our friends were equally impressed by the place - it's just so wonderful. There were no 'down sides' to the holiday for any of us and I have a feeling that a third trip to the Hotel Benacus might be in the air ......... I sincerely hope so!

Irene and Bill L

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel having booked a package through Travel Sphere. We were impressed by the very friendly staff who were always happy to deal with our enquiries. We stayed in Room 435 on the second floor. This was comfortable. The only downside was that it was under a sloping roof. The head end of the bed was under this slope so you had to remember to duck your head when going to the loo in the night!

The food was excellent with a buffet for breakfast and a choice of dishes for the evening meal. The wine we chose cost about 13 Euro so the bill at the end was quite high!

Although the hotel did have wi-fi, I was unable to connect my ipad despite entering the username and password many times.

The hotel is located uphill out of the main town which gives it lovely view over the lake. However, if you have a disability this hotel is probably best avoided as their courtesy mini bus only goes down to the lake once a day. However, we were fortunate in being able to walk without difficulty and it only took us about 20 minutes to walk down to the centre of Riva

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Benacus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benacus

Address: Via Monte Brione 19, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benacus 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Benacus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benacus Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Benacus Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Benacus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.