We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and kind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gabry

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gabry to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gabry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Longa, 6, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Espoo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Functional and kind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We visited Gabry on mid june 2014 with our family of five. We found Gabry to be a nice an functional hotel, with very kind staff ready to help in any situation.

Highlights of this hotel are the breakfast, which is really good to Italian standards and to the size of the hotel. Another highlight is the pool, which was relatively vacant throughout our stay - something that the kids really enjoyed.

Gabry lacks the luxury, but that for me wasnät what they were after. It is a cozy and nice family hotel, where everything works just fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    47
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
47
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A green, eco-friendly hotel with very helpful and nice staff. The room and bathroom were clean and well-equipped. The breakfast is super! The bar prices are not high, absolutely affordable. There is an outside pool, but for the cold days you can find a Finnish sauna and Turkish bath inside the hotel, where you can relax. There are city bikes for free, but you can hire great mountain bikes, in case you would like to take some better trips in the mountains. At the reception you can find lot of possibilities for trips, or hiking in the surrounding area. The free beach is really close, and there are great restaurants by close. Negatives are the free wifi in the hotel, which is extremely slow and water-pressure in the shower is annoying, sometimes you have almost no water.

If you don't want to live in the middle of the tourist central, it is a really good place for your holiday. It is possible, that you can find better places to stay, but this is absolutely recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just back from a great week in the Gabry Hotel on the outskirts of Riva Del Garda. This is a lovely hotel about 800 metres from the old town. You can walk to Riva by the roadside or take a lovely amble on winding footpaths adjacent to the lakeside. There are many good reataurants nearby and plenty of ice cream for afterwards.
Hotel Gabry is run by a friendly family who are just there to make your stay special. Lovely clean modern bedrooms have it all, with balconies giving a great view. The breakfast is absolutely stunning with a wide range of foods available including home made cakes and pastries, locally sourced jams and honey. And all this can be taken on the verandah overlooking the large pool (with a separate childrens section) . It was just a bit too chilly when l took a dip one day.
Riva is a great base to travel round the lake or across it by boat and you dont have to go too far to take in some of the other highlights of this area - the Dolomites, Verona or even Venice.
We had a lovely time in Gabry, thank you, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor bedroom. They have a great view and some have extra large verandas with 2 steame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Gabry Apartment which we reserved at the same day as we arrived. The Apartment (number 20) was located some 200 meters apart from the hotel. That was an aparment at apartment house, second floor. There were three bedrooms, two bathrooms, quite big living room and a kitchen with refrigerator and freezer. Two balconies. Furniture were sparse. Clean towels were available daily from the hotel. Cleaning was only once a week, so there were no cleaning during our stay. Hotel breakfast was included, and the breakfast was excellent. Hotel pool was quite small but nice. Personel at reception very friendly and helpful. Few minutes walk to the lake and some 15 minutes walk to the old city. Bikes available for loan at the hotel. Very good choice if you need a quiet place to sleep and change clothes at reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our second stay at the Gabry and we have booked for next Oct. It's spotlessly clean ,nice rooms, helpful staff and very good breakfast make it perfect for us. You can walk into the town fairly easily or drive, although you have to pay for parking a lot of the time. Another plus for the hotel is free parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton On Tees
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

In 1989 I was a coach driver for a company called Scots Gray's of Darlington. I helped as second driver to take tour to Lake Garda. We stayed at the Hotel Gabry..I was really impressed at how the hotel was run. Since that trip I have been all over. Greek Islands, Caribbean, Egypt, Turkey and more. Although I could not get Gabry out of my head. The thing was my wife liked a beach resort (you know sun bed, sun oil, toasting and lashings of after sun) In 2004 I found out I had D.V.T. So to go to the sun I had to drive. 2004 was the year back on the road and the resort was Jeslo Italy. A three day run? So stop overs. First night Germany Rudishiem B&B fantastic. Second night Italy. Thought Oh the Gabry Riva,remembered from my early days of travel. Got there and realised we needed an extra night. Gabry did it, although we changed rooms.No problem. A nice two days in Riva and at the hotel relaxed. Went down to to the Hotel Cambridge in Jeslo 4 stars and a dump, paid big money. You paid for everything,the pool if you wanted a sun bed, the beach if you wanted to be on it,plus more for a sun bed, if you wanted to sit privately for you food extra.After two days my wife just wanted to go home. So at a great loss withdrew and returned to Riva and the Gabry. At least for a stop over and they just fit us in. Next morning after counting up my coppers and a bit of begging we managed a extra five nights.

My wife is now smitten with Riva and the Gabry and we have driven down every since. Last year we did not go.England and was penniless. This year we are on the up and GOING BACK DOWN.

If you want total relaxation and love being looked after by local caring people please do it. Taxidave

I have booked for this Year in July /August and we are taking our little King Charles Cavalier,she will be a welcome guest.

Room Tip: All rooms are good the upper floors are better and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel offered good size clean modern rooms. There was a varied good selection for breakfast. I think it was one of the best buffet breakfasts i have experienced in Italy. The price was good value for Lake Garda although you didnt have a view of the lake, but a short walk and you are by the lake side.

The hotel did not offer an evening meal but there are plenty of restaurants in the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gabry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabry

Address: Via Longa, 6, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabry 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Gabry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabry Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Gabry Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gabry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.