We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gabry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gabry to your Saves list
Hotel Gabry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Longa, 6, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed here in August 2011, and found it a great base for exploring Lake Garda and the surrounding areas. The staff were really helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The hotel is a lovely walk along the lakeside from central Riva (great to walk off all the fabulous ice-cream!) and is in a quiet location. Our room was really spacious and traditionally decorated. You will be disappointed if you come expecting a contemporary decor. The room was really clean on our arrival and was cleaned daily. Each room had a safe to secure some smaller items. The pool is a little on the small side but we got sunbeds any time we came down. It was really useful to have internet access while we were there. The breakfast buffet was great and really set us up for our days exploring Lake Garda. We also used the bikes to get in and out of town on a few occasions so that was a useful extra to have available. All in all, we had a great holiday in Riva del Garda and would recommend to anyone to visit here. We would love to return and would happily book again if we do return to Riva del Garda.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    48
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
48
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at The Gabry. It is familly run and they are all very friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfasts are superb and the homemade cakes and pastries are delicious. If you are a windsurfer or cyclists then this is the place for you. They run organised cycle trips from the hotel every day which are of varying distances and if you want to windsurf, then you are a short walk (20mins along the lakeside) from all the expertese you could possibley want.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Gabry for 4 nights in September 2011.
It is quite difficult to find this hotel as it is at the very end of a cul-de-sac squeezed in between several other hotels which over look your balcony and pool area.
Unfortunately, this hotel is very basic and is clearly not worth paying almost 90 Euros per night per room for bed & breakfast.
On arrival we were checked in by a very unwelcoming young man. In fact, all the reception staff we encountered during our stay were exactly the same and did not acknowledge us as we came and went through reception throughout the day.
The standard double room was extremely basic with not enough drawer space, a tiny TV and no waste paper basket. The bathroom was very compact with a tiny shower cubicle. We were charged an extra 6 Euros per day for air con which was a complete waste of money as the air con was switched of when we left the room. The air con was only a noisy fan blowing cold air when you were actually in the room but went off as you left and therefore you came back to a very warm room. We could not use it during the night as it was too noisy. The old fashioned key operated room safe was tiny and is only good for very small and thin items.
We thought breakfast was reasonable for the first couple of days until one evening we saw the buffet tables were just covered with a couple of table cloths and left out for the following morning. The bowls of various cereals were not even covered over but just lying exposed. On the third day the warm scrambled eggs and sausages were inedible.
One reason we chose this hotel was for internet access as we take a laptop with us to keep in touch with family and friends. However, the two PC's in the bar were appallingly slow at everything (one was not working at all) and the in-room ADSL cable operated internet access was even worse and was completely useless. We resorted to going out to other hotels where wi-fi with decent speed was available.
We did not use the pool area but we did try once to use the outside sitting areas, but the gardens were overgrown with lots of black fly and mossies. We spent most of our time during the day and evening away from the hotel.
The Hotel Gabry is a very poor quality hotel and we would not recommed it at all.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelbo_10
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

In many ways a good hotel with a nice staff and free bikes to ride, but it was a bit of a walk to reach the center of town.The wifi was free, but it was too slow to use for anybody with an average amount of patience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raisio, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Nice hotel, but not exellent. Breakfast was good and tasty. Staff was helpful. Room was clean, but bed was uncomfortable, too hard. Aircondition was expensive, 40€/week, but bikes was free to hire. A little bit too far from citycentre, but to lake was only 100 meters.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

The place was in a nice location at riva del garda. A 10 minutes walk to the center of riva. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We even had a big balcony with a nice view on the mountainside. The breakfast was great with a rich variety of local food. The staff was nice and helpful.
We recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Hotel is quiet and off the main road. It is within walking distance to the town centre of Riva del Garda. Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Hotel was very clean. The pool was cleaned every day but it was very cold.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gabry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabry

Address: Via Longa, 6, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabry 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gabry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabry Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Gabry Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gabry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.