We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay hotel in Riva del Garda.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Park Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Trento 9, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Short stay hotel in Riva del Garda.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel is clean and quiet despite being near a busy road and next to the bus station.
It's a good 500 metres walk to the waters edge, so not central to bars and restaurants.
Breakfast is a real treat, with lots of options to suit all tastes. Half board option was available, but restaurant has a limited menu and is only open for 3 hours.
The hotel is set in beautiful gardens, which you have to walk through to get to the outside pool.
The indoor pool would suit when the weather is inclement. During our stay in late June/early July, it was very hot and the daily walk to the beach was sometimes unbearable.
We did not take advantage of the free bike hire, as the hotel does not supply helmets.
Ther's a lot of sporty people using this hotel as a base to pursue their sporting activities. Cyclists and windsurfers were evident in abundance.
It's a nice place to stay but one feels isolated from being away from the tourist spots.

Room Tip: Take your own travel kettle. Milk and sugar can be brought up at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    105
    42
    24
    11
See reviews for
52
141
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in good condition, fairly new looking, and clean. We paid extra for a superior room for our 4 night stay, which had a view (over the bus station) of the hills. Our room was far too hot however, and no matter how long we left the Air Conditioning turned on at 18degrees, it never got below 25. I complained about this on the second day, where the staff at reception reset a computer in the reception area, and said it should fix the problem. It didn't. I complained 5 more times over the next 2 days, each time asking for a fan to be brought to our room- and each time I was told it would be done- nothing happened- no fan. Eventually one of the receptionists admitted the hotel didn't actually have any fans (no mention of this on the previous 3 days, no apology, and no attempt to offer any alternatives). They also said the master Air Conditioning temperature was set by reception, and the units in the rooms could only vary that temperature by a small amount. They refused to accept that our room was too hot, and refused to change the master temperature (presumably as lower temperatures cost more to achieve). Even when i pointed out that it was colder in the hallway outside our room than inside our bedroom, nothing was done. In short, the building was nice, and the staff were generally attentive, but unable, unwilling, or uncaring enough to do anything about what should have been a minor problem. We were glad to leave, and won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here with family for 2 weeks in August and thought it was a great hotel.

Rooms were exceptionally clean, and very simple and stylish (I preferred this sort of room than hotels with more traditional Italian furnishings). Ours had a nice view of the gardens and grounds, which are lovely.

We found it a very quiet hotel. It's about 10-15 mins walk from the lake, but it's a pleasant enough walk. The pool area is good - not a huge pool but it was never busy so we could always get sunloungers and there are lots of trees for shade.

The restaurant was brilliant - lots of choice for breakfast and and we ate there for dinner a few times too. One of these times was the 'gala dinner', which I think was for an Italian holiday day. It was incredible - 9 courses (not even small portions!) and then a fruit and chocolate waterfall on the patio area. Not sure if they still do this but if so then definitely give it a go!

We loved the bar staff - really helpful, chatty and friendly. We usually went down to the lake for dinner and drinks but the patio area outside the bar is a lovely place to sit at night.

There were more couples at the hotel than families when we went, but I'd recommend it for any group.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Just out of the centre (10 minute walk) We really liked this hotel. Nice, clean room (superior double) Air conditioning and mini bar but no tea/coffee making facility (take a travel kettle if it matters to you). Very good spa/pool/bar areas and free afternoon tea and cake served daily at 4pm. Lovely garden to walk around. Excellent choice of food for breakfast. We did not eat dinner here but the menu looked good. Staff very helpful and we would not hesitate to book this hotel again

Room Tip: We had room at the front of the hotel (set slightly back from a busy road). We didn't really not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We've just come back from a weeks holiday in Lake Garda. I was worried beforehand that the holiday would be too far away from the lake. In fact it's really only 10 mins away and it's an easy walk at that. After a day sightseeing, it was bliss to get back to the peaceful pool and gardens and relax before a nice stroll into town to eat. The free bike hire is great and a brilliant idea for older kids tho' you can't guarantee when they will be available.The pool and pool grounds are the highlight of this hotel and the pool attendant was very helpful. Snacks are available around the pool and they weren't pricey. The indoor spa area is wonderful and ideal if you have a bit of rain. We spent a lovely morning in the steam room, indoor pool and relaxing in the light therapy room before enjoying a herbal tea and biscuits in the spa lounge area. The gym was also great with good running and cycling machines. The choice of food for breakfast was exceptional from cooked to continental style with fresh rolls, plenty of fruit and yoghurt and organic ingredients for some things. There's also a pancake bar where fresh pancakes are prepared. The only slight drawback was that we were a family of 5 and we couldn't always find seating and had to wait for tables to be cleared but it really didn't take long. A nice treat was afternoon tea and cakes which were laid on in the bar area and which you could take to the garden. Rooms were simply furnished and very clean. The only drawback to this hotel was the slightly lifeless bar and very slow service. It felt a bit like a cafe and there wasn't much atmosphere - a pity as the view into the gardens was very nice. Likewise the reception area is minimalist and a bit stark but we couldn't fault the friendliness of the receptionists. On the whole, this hotel worked well and we would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms, which was good because they were behind the hotel and so we didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here as a family for 5 nights and all really enjoyed it. It's a little walk into Riva centre (about 10-15 minutes) but that was very easy. Last year we stayed right on the lake and it was lots more expensive. This seems like a better option. There are bikes available to hire but one for kids so we walked into Riva and hired them there. The bike paths round the lake are superb.

The pool area is gorgeous, there were always plenty of tables and sunloungers and we didn't see anyone reserving them. The table tennis table at poolside is also fab and provided lots of entertainment.

We had 2 interconnecting rooms in the garden complex and they were huge, probably the most spacious we have stayed in, even with 3 beds in. View wasn't great and there was no balcony but it didn't matter. Can't believe the reviewer that said it was a "scary" walk to the garden rooms, it took all of 20 seconds along a lit path and always felt perfectly safe. It was really quiet as well, apart from the Saturday night when there was a late wedding party in the adjoining conference centre.

We walked into Riva for lunch each day, lots of choice, and especially good slightly off the beaten track. We ate in the hotel each night and were very impressed. Food and service very good and reasonably priced. They cooked anything the children asked for if they didn't want to eat off the main menu. Drinks in the bar were also very reasonable.

In summary it's a good option to stay and explore Lake Garda. It is not the most picturesque hotel from the outside but the views in the garden and round the pool are great. If you don't mind not being right on the lake then its a cheaper and very worthwhile option.

Room Tip: garden rooms are very quiet but are right next door to adjoining conference centre so if there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

New, stilish, clean. Small, but good and clean rooms. Very good restaurant in the hotel. Swimming pool area is breathtaking. The spa is perfect. Has its own cycle-garage that is locked all time. Parking garage in basement.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Park Hotel

Address: Viale Trento 9, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#14 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#23 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#25 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Astoria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astoria Park
Astoria Park Riva Del Garda
Astoria Park Hotel Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.