We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sole to your Saves list
Hotel Sole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza 3 Novembre 35, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Montrose, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have read mixed reviews of this place but I was very pleased with the hotel. The location is lovely and quiet next to the lake. The rooms are clean, comfy beds and great air conditioning! The staff were always there to help and friendly. The breakfast had a good choice but the dinners were slightly basic. Overall, a great relaxed place to stay which I would do again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    93
    37
    29
    11
See reviews for
42
139
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A brilliant location, clean and tidy hotel with large rooms. Very friendly staff. To experience the lake to its fullest there's no better location than this hotel, the ferry stop is literally just outside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Hotel Sole occupies a superb location ron the shore of Lake Garda opposite the quayside.and adjacent the Apponale tower on Piazza 3 Novembre. Our room, 603, was one of the smaller rooms with a a limited view onto the inside of the hotel but what it lacked in view it made up for in tranquillity. The room was simple but adequately furnished with comfortable beds, efficient air conditioning. It had an excellent bathroom and was cleaned every day. The hotel has recently been refurbished to a good standard. The staff throughout the hotel are efficient, friendly, and helpful. Given the variable nature of half-board package holiday food the Sole does an excellent job offering interesting and generally good food for breakfast and dinner.

There's a selection of salads followed by a starter, main course and dessert with several options for each course. The wine list is reasonably extensive and good value especially for the local wines like Marzemino and Teroldego and Lagrein. Breakfast is very good with a wide selection of the usual continental breakfast items together with some hot food that was usually speck bacon and a good scrambled egg. The restaurant staff are friendly, efficient and superbly helpful.

My only comment is that the breakfast coffee is virtually undrinkable and if you like coffee at breakfast you'll have to order it separately. The hotel serves the excellent Omkafe from nearby Arco. This is superb especially served as espresso or espresso macchiato

All in all the Sole is a great old Italian hotel in a superb location. It's a real pleasure to stay there but try to get rooms with a lake view to enable you to fully enjoy the superb location. This is the second time we've stayed there and it won't be the last.

Room Tip: For me a balcony isn't as important as a lake view so try to get a room with a lake view. The sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Spectacular location on Lake Garda, bit of a trek from the airport (about 2 hours) but well worth it and for most of the trip you are travelling beside the lake anyway so lovely views. Situated in the second biggest town at the top of the huge lake the area has all the amenities coupled with old world charm. The hotel is set in November 3 Square which has it's own clock tower and is visited by cooling breezes most afternoons which make it ideal for sailing and windsurfing. The rooms have been recently refurbished although the lift could use a bit of a boost. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is okay with plenty of choice especially at breakfast. We paid a little extra for a lake view which was well worth it. A fabulous holiday in a great hotel in a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ayrshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just returned from a lovely week at the Sole. It is in a fantastic position right on to the lake near the ferry port and beside the main square. We had a lovely room with a balcony with a fabulous view. It is well worth the extra money to wake up and look out on the beautiful lake. There were fireworks on the Friday night which we watched with a glass of wine on our balcony. The staff were all very friendly and helpful particularly Arianna on reception and the head waiter and his team.
Have read some of the critical comments on the food. It is true that they use some frozen vegetables and they acknowledge that unlike many places. It would be good to have more fresh vegetables. The orange juice at breakfast is poor but in general we found the food tasty and hot.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and are hoping to return later in the summer.

Room Tip: Request a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Sole Riva Del Garda, 2nd June 2014 - 7day stay.



We found the hotel to be very clean, and staff were very attentive on check in, we were very disappointed with the room allocated, although the room was clean and tidy, the outside space was awful, a small balcony over looked a steel staircase, one metre away,with a wall straight ahead, the main kitchen was on a lower floor, we encountered noise from staff using the staircase, smells from the kitchen, and no light due to being enclosed, we cannot understand why the hotel would put guests into these rooms, there are four rooms on this level and should be avoided at all costs, the hotel charge a premium for a guaranteed better room, we of course requested a Change of room but was told the hotel was full and could not help with our request.

Free wifi is a complete waste of time, and very annoying all of our devises could not receive or send emails.
Food in the restaurant was good and again we found the staff to be very attentive, breakfast is normally scrambled eggs and streaky bacon, with full cereal and the usual continental choices.Half board basis is dinner and breakfast, dinner is normally 4 courses with a help yourself salad bar, again plenty of choice and well presented, wine with dinner is good quality priced at around 15€ a bottle! Left over wine can be kept until the following evening!
Location of this hotel is fabulous, with its own ice cream parlour and outside bar area, prices charged for drinks and snacks we found to be very good, and no evidence of overcharging, set in a lovely attractive square of more bars and shops, again all charging sensible prices.

Due to the problems we encountered with the outside area of our room, we would not return to this hotel !

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Lovely hotel, great location just a short stroll from where you catch the boats. Hotel was extremely clean, staff excellent, we stayed half board and the evening meal was excellent. We choose this hotel because of its location to the lake as we travelled with my parents and did not want to have to walk too far to catch the boats. We all had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Try and get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole

Address: Piazza 3 Novembre 35, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#27 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its splendid lake front facade adorned with arches, balconies and decorative ovals that recall the historic porticoed buildings of the square the hotel boasts large lounges, an impressive staircase and a terrace looking out onto the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Hotel Riva Del Garda
Sole Riva Del Garda
Hotel Sole Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.