We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday! miss it already!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sole to your Saves list
Hotel Sole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza 3 Novembre 35, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday! miss it already!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

An amazing holiday, superb location and nice hotel! The hotel is situated right on the lake front offering surrounding views of the lake and square from every angle. We requested a balcony upon booking but was lucky enough that our room led out on to the communal solarium which was basically our own and in my opinon far better than the smaller balconys, it gave us access to the roof which gave amazing views of the lake! The hotel itself situated in the perfect location, riva del garda has lots to offer. We stayed half board breakfast offered a wide choice, the evening meals were not to my particular tastes but the local restaurants i found gave a better taste and experience of italian food! I would recommend more than a weeks stay as the amount of exercusions avaliable to such places as Verona and the Dolomites which i went too were amazing and well organised. Handy tip expect rain! we went in the first week of July and experienced two spectacular thunder storms, the weather changes vastly due to the mountain range-beautiful still what ever the weather so pack a poncho! The hotel is 4 star my first experience in a 4 star and i think it was just fine the room was cleaned every day to a good standard and was comfortable! the price you pay is for the spectacular views and location-after all you only sleep there! i personally found if very accomodating and comfortable! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and especially this area of the lake! miss it already and cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just came back from a week in this hotel.
Staff very friendly. Seems like a family run place. Room with balcony (£25 per night extra) but well worth it. That is for the room, not each person. Food is very good indeed. We didn't feel the need to dine out (on half board). One minor niggle is that the service is a bit slow in the evenings. They could do with more waiting staff. Very central and next to the water. 2 minutes to shops.
Very clean and good maid service.
I'd go back anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Ours was "at the back, through the kitchen area" so guess it was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mortelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

just returned from spending 6 nights in this hotel on a Robinsons coach tour. We had a lovely lake view room which was spotlessly clean and the beds were quite comfy there was also an easy chair which i think made into a bed and 2 dining chairs. We had a television but could not get any english on it but some people on our trip did (saying that we didnt go to watch tv ). The food was ok and we didnt go hungry there was a choice every night and most nights had a fish choice and either veal or chicken with veg, the hotel also has an ice cream parlour which was really nice but i didnt manage to try them all before we had to come home. The staff were all very nice and polite and helpful. The downside for us was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room so everytime you wanted a drink you would have to go downstairs and sit at the tables and pay for it, I also think it would be nice if they had put water on the table with your evening meal but again if you wanted that you had to pay extra. The hotel did not have any seating outside to just go and sit unless you ordered something to eat or drink, they did have some sunloungers on the roof which was ok but not much atmosphere. We went on trips to verona venice and the dolomites which were all ok but on the whole it was a very tireing trip and an awful lot of the time was spent on the coach.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view room we were on the 3rd floor and didnt get disturbed by any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Returned on the 2nd after two weeks half board in balcony room with lake view. Very nice. Room old-fashioned and clean – perfect. If you don't book the balcony and lake view, you might end up disappointed because some of the views are dreadful.

A word about half board: there are three courses (remember, this is Italy, not a pizza joint in Glasgow). Pasta and rice dishes are served as a first course. The main courses are fish, veal, chicken (not much beef) and, to be honest, not great. Unless you have a huge belly that needs filled, the first course with a selection from the salad buffet, followed by desert (usually very nice) is fine. During my second week I skipped the main course. Also, the ambience in the restaurant is poor. If I used this hotel again, I would go B&B only.

The staff are professional and helpful, and the Sole has a fearless black cat. Its main advantage is the location: just step outside and you're in a lively square, no cars – lots of bicycles, though. Overall, maybe 3.5 stars rather than 4.

Room Tip: Pay extra for lake view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCarrickfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

our four night stay at hotel sole was near magical
the location lake view and hotel overall was fantastic
this was my fourth trip to riva but first at the hotel sole
now it is the only hotel i would book in riva
many thanks to manager sylvano latfisi for his hospitality
he is an incredible asset to the hotel
anna f

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annaf943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Don't be put off by the other reviews, this is a lovely hotel, run and staffed by polite and hard working individuals, from the reception to dining room to bedroom all staff go the extra mile. The food is traditional italian, fish dishes excellent and nothing too much trouble. Rooms clean.
This is our 3rd visit and we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: e mail if you want a specific room/balcony/lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brownowlval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel Sole for 4 nights. Having read some other reviews I was a little apprehensive about what to expect. However this was not the case when we arrived. It was beautiful and totally spotless. I couldnt fault the staff, they were so friendly and helpful.

The hotel is perfectly placed on the lake and view is breathtaking, we had a balcony on the second floor and it truely did make the holiday perfect. We could sit on the balcony and enjoy the evening and chill whilst people watching.

Riva was such a beautiful place to be situated, there are plenty of bars and restaurants to satisfy you. We went half board and it truely wasnt worth it. The food wasnt awful but it wasnt typical italian pizza and pasta, which was a let down in itself and meant we had to eat out a few nights to get the full Italian experience but it really wasnt an issue for us because we had read reviews, but personally I would only recommend going b&b to not waste your money.

We found our holiday very expensive, we used the boats on the first days and this was so expensive. There is a tourist office near the hotel and they can provide bus time tables i strongly recommend you use the buses to save lots of time and money.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a balcony, it is the best experience!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracy1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#28 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portici
Hotel Portici
#27 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#35 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Riva
Grand Hotel Riva
#42 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
3.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole

Address: Piazza 3 Novembre 35, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#24 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its splendid lake front facade adorned with arches, balconies and decorative ovals that recall the historic porticoed buildings of the square the hotel boasts large lounges, an impressive staircase and a terrace looking out onto the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Hotel Riva Del Garda
Sole Riva Del Garda
Hotel Sole Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing