We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lakeside hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sole to your Saves list
Hotel Sole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza 3 Novembre 35, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely lakeside hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel was extremely well placed right on Lake Garda and close to the shops. The staff were very friendly. There was a reasonably priced internet connection. The staff were very good and the food was delicious and there was plenty of it. The rooms were very pleasant although some may find them a little small. All in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the lake although from my room I could see the clock tower and the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    120
    40
    31
    13
See reviews for
58
173
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

this hotel is fantastic and the views from the balcony are breath taking i got up every morning at 6,30 and sat on the balcony to watch the lake and the italians starting their day.make sure if you want a balcony with a lake view you email the hotel before you go..the food is sometimes hit and miss.

Room Tip: email hotel befor you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Enjoyed our room with a balcony overlooking the lake. The food was good and filling and the staff were very pleasent and helpful, we had a great time........pity they dont offer double beds!

Room Tip: If you have heavy cases get a taxi to the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolveerhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

See "worst 4 star hotel I have ever stayed in". Poor food for a 4 star, Rooms in annex lacked poor quality. Bulbs in bathroom over the sink did not suit the sockets. Threads did not match. Replacements were taped to make them fit!! Very dangerous! Bed moved away from headboard when sitting up. No easy chairs. Windows opened out to plastic sheeting over the cafe. No views from rooms 502,503 Our coach party was in a small dining room with very little room between tables. Service was abrupt and it wasn't possible to linger after a meal. We were once asked if we were waiting for breakfast!!! We travelled with Parrys International ,. The coach,driver and courier were first class although our complaints to the management , we feel, were not satisfactorily answered. All tthe comments made in the review mentioned above were relevent to our hoilday.

Room Tip: Don't accept rooms in the annex!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed a week here on half board(not our choice) with Newmarket holidays. Piad extra for lake view room which was very nice but was the only room (308) with a view which didin't have a balcony. Great central location. No help with luggage and had to drag our cases over cobbles from coach to hotel but there was agold buggy for our homeward journey.
Nice double bed and possibilty of an additional child bed. Large bathroom but only had a hand held shower over the bath tub so not possible to shower properly. Lots of TV programmes but no sky, only one english channel.
Food was very basic, breakfast was worse than a "Premier Inn" and no possibility of anything cooked apart of hard boiled eggs. All fruit was tinned and all milk was full cream.
On half board we had to order our evenig meal at Breakfast, three choices for each of three courses. Much like school dinners - very basic. Wine was reasonable but no coffee after dinner. We eat out on a number of evenings.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We set off with some trepidation having seen some uncomplimentary reviews of the hotel. We were not the only ones on this holiday but like the others our fears were unfounded. The hotal is in a fabulous position, Everywhere is so clean and nice and the staff brilliant - nothing was too much trouble. We were half board, on a Newmarket Holiday and the food was absolutely fine with a choice of four dishes for every course at dinner. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We booked with Newmarket Holidays for a week on half board basis.
The transfer coach dropped us about 250 yards from the hotel and we had to drag our luggage across the cobble stone square.No assistance was offered.
Our Lake view room was in the annex and the views down the lake were beautiful.
The problem was that to get to our room we had to pass through what appeared to be a disused lift compartment that opened onto a dirty corridor used by the hotel staff for bicycle storage, as a smoking area, and for rear access to rubbish stores and kitchens.
The perspex roof leaked badly when it rained, and although there was an open storm drain in the passage way (I kid you not!!!) , the water pooled in places and we were left to paddle over sodden sheets the staff had thrown on the ground to soak up the excess water.
There was also a security gate in the passageway that cut off the main hotel building from the annex. I was scared that if I needed to get out in an emergency that this gate might be locked.
Food was very basic and the evening meals for the following day had to be pre-ordered the night before. The salad bar seldom varied and hot vegetables were almost always tinned carrots and dwarf beans. (Reminiscent of hospital food)
We were amazed to see guests smoking in the conservatory dining area that doubled as snack bar and also on the pavement tables where food was served .
Our room was clean but not very comfortable. There was an old futon in one corner that I assumed had been used by previous guests for a child.
The main light bulb in the bathroom failed on the 4th day and although it was reported as broken it was never repaired so we spent the rest of our holiday using the small light over the shaving mirror.
The only English speaking channel on the promised Satellite TV service was a rolling Sky news bulletin that repeated every 20 minutes.
We were told the hotel had been refurbished but I could see no evidence of this in the annex . We had old faded carpets in corridors and broken light shades.
The sun terrace on the roof had no access to refreshments, or shade and the only other place to sit outside in the fresh air was the hotel snack bar where we were obliged to continually purchase drinks and food.
A sad hotel in a beautiful position.

Room Tip: Avoid the Annex and eat in one of the excellent cafes in Riva Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portici
Hotel Portici
#30 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#9 of 49 in Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#26 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#24 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Miravalle
Hotel Villa Miravalle
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
#44 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
3.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole

Address: Piazza 3 Novembre 35, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#25 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its splendid lake front facade adorned with arches, balconies and decorative ovals that recall the historic porticoed buildings of the square the hotel boasts large lounges, an impressive staircase and a terrace looking out onto the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Hotel Riva Del Garda
Sole Riva Del Garda
Hotel Sole Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.