We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce little hotel. Shame about the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luise to your Saves list
Hotel Luise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Rovereto 9, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“NIce little hotel. Shame about the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Stayed here for one week with elderly parents, Nice little hotel . Very very clean, Staff very welcoming and helpful. Rooms on the small side and situated on busy road on the outskirts of town - so quite a long walk for the older members of our party, Otherwise a good stay. On half board basis we found the menu very limited and repetitive. Not Bad - but not worth going back forl It seems as though they had tried to make the menu appeal to many - but actually it lacked any theme at all. Pleasant stay and our actual holiday was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    119
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
77
163
7
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brac Island, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

Great design, friendly manager, good location, good food... Between morning and afternoon meetings we took the hotel bikes and went for a ride by the lake -that was beautiful!

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

This was a good hotel. The location is good, just 5 minutes to the city centre. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and they spoke all good English. We borrowed the bikes, that the hotel has, and made a bike tour by the lake - good service! Breakfast was good (dinner was not). All in all, I would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We have just returned from staying at the Hotel Feeling Luise. Had a brilliant weeks holiday. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel is very modern but with a classy feel. We were made to feel very welcome by all. The food was excellent with plenty of choice.
We stayed in a room which was situated at the front of the hotel this faced onto the road at night this was a little noisy as we had to sleep with the windows open as the air conditioning had been switcthed off. But the view we had - more than enough made up for this as the mountains overlooked and we had a lake view.
There is lots to do in and around Riva. Torbole is in walking distance.
We borrowed the hotel bikes to get out and about more. We visited Arco which is such a beautiful town and a must to see. We also biked up to the waterfalls which were magnificent. The weather was very good. We will had a very memorable holiday and can not wait to return again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Stayed here for seven nights. Although we had a room overlooking the main road, the traffic did not disturb us at all. We had one of the new rooms with a balcony and it was very clean, as was the whole hotel, and of good size. Beds are a little on the hard side but then that's supposed to be good for you and we had no problem sleeping. Bathroom was large and modern. Food at the hotel is very good with an excellent selection for breakfast. Even the scrambled eggs & bacon were good which is a plus for a continental hotel. Good selection at dinner and on the two occasions I had fish it was very well cooked and tasty. Ten minute walk to the centre of Riva along the main road or 15 minutes via the coastal paths. View from the balcony a bit mixed as there is a large sunken car park (waste land) on the other side of the main road but the views of the mountains were good. Didn't have time to use the swimming pool so cannot comment on this. All of the staff were friendly and helpful particularly the restaurant staff.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire,UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

My partner and I only stayed here for one night (he was in garda on business) on arrival the staff were very welcoming and the hotel immaculate. Got into our room quickly, which was very modern very clean, a little on the small side for a couple! And unfortunately faced the main road rather than the pool or the garden. The real killer for us, and thankfully we were only there for one night was the air con had been switched off through out the hotel in mid september & Garda (this year) was having a freaky hot September. We asked to have the air con put back on in the rooms but the staff either couldn't or wouldn't. We were in a party of 6 and no one slept at all that night as the rooms were unbearable & being put in a room on the main drag the noise was awful! Unfortunately that part of Garda has become far too commercial. For a true relaxing Lake Garda break, stay someone else.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I am a bit of a foodie and heard the food was good here, so chose this over other boutique hotels on the lake, and I was not sorry. Every night there were several choices on the menu, and even things that sounded dull - chicken breast in mustard sauce - turned out to be amazing. A couple of things were okay rather than amazing, but as there were several dishes to choose from, you could always go back and get something else instead, and that would be amazing. The desserts were also gorgeous, and I had the best lemon meringue EVER! There is also a wide selection of 'starters,' set out as a buffet as everything is, so if you are travelling with children there should be something they will eat.
The other best thing about this hotel was the staff in the dining room (I'm saying nothing about most of the staff on reception). The waiters were very efficient at clearing plates, saying bounjourno, and serving drinks, and the head waiter especially was quite amusing with it. The sexy barman made very nice coffee.
The bedrooms and the balconies seem small, if you are used to travelling outside of Europe, and some don't have a balcony, and the balconies at the front are on the main road and not at all private. However, you do get a view of the lake from the front - it is a five minute walk from the hotel - and the dolomites loom , but an ugly car park sits right in front of the hotel. Never mind - the car park is completely flat and you can look beyond it - sometimes young people in little cars use the car park to do wheelies which was entertaining, but ideally this car park should be turned into something else more in keeping with the beauty of Lake Garda. There was a hoarding up, in Italian, which I think said something about ''for the good of all,' but I didn't understand what was 'for the good of all' - hopefully that this car park was about to be turned into a nice little park?
And on that point, italian childrens' playgrounds don't close at dusk so you can go to them anytime with your kids, even after dark.
There were people from all age groups doing their own thing here: families with young children, young people, old people. Lake Garda itself is a beautiful place and I highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luise

Address: Viale Rovereto 9, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luise 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luise is just 500 meters from Riva Del Garda's historical center and a 3-minute walk from the lake. Built in 1959, and now a modern design hotel, it is inspired by the theme of the journey and by the atmosphere of the '50s and '60s. All rooms are newly renovated, with parquet and modern furniture, air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. The superior rooms have a balcony. The Millelire restaurant serves a superb buffet breakfast, with sweet and savoury, and hot and cold dishes, and is open at night for dinner too. The Hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, Wi-Fi connection in all the rooms and common areas, a private parking place, a children's playground and a kids' club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Luise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feeling Hotel Riva Del Garda
Feeling Luise Hotel
Hotel Luise Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.