We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Luise to your Saves list
Hotel Luise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Rovereto 9, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
S Oxon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

This hotel has at first glance an unpromising location. Its on the main road and 250 metres behind it is an engineering works. But, its a stylish comfortable place with excellent food and service. We stayed half board for a week. Our room overlooking the pool was on the small side but it was comfortable with a nice modern shower room. Not the place to sit at leisure, but the comfortable bar, or the garden ticked that box admirably. The buffet Breakfast started the day with plenty of choice, as much as you like, with fresh fruit, cereals, bread, scrambed and boiled eggs, bacon, youghurts, cakes, coffe, juices and tea, too much to list.
Just across the road are footpaths to the lake shore, and the road outside leads quickly to the town centre, easily walkable in 10 minutes. We were out all day and found many easy and more testing walks in the local countryside. The town is great with loads of eating places and lots of seats to while away your time. Walk along the shore to the River and up the cycleway to Arco and bus back. Walk up to the Bastion cafe, it will make you puff and get the blood pulsing. The best walk of all is towards Limone on the path cut into the side of the mountains straight over the water - spectacular views.
When you come back an excellent buffet dinner will be waiting. Two main course choices, one often fresh fish, pasta dishes, a galaxy of bits and pieces to start, salad, and some pasta for a secondo.
The hotel staff are all great, friendly, efficient smiling people who are eager to please.
An excellent place to stay on Lake Garda. People who critiscise the food are just criticising the Italian way of cooking (ie rare beef, fresh fish and unusual vegetables like fennel and artichokes) ignore them because this is Italy, not meat and two veg land!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    116
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
77
162
6
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

We stayed here recently for a few days. An excellent Hotel in all respects - staff, rooms/ensuite, location ec. - except the food. Breakfasts were well up to standard but Dinners were truly awful! Tiny portions, no choices,inedible meat, repetitive ....... such a shame.How could they be so poor?

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 7 days as part of a touring holiday around Northern Italy. The hotel looked very nice on the websites we visited and the favourable reviews attracted us to book. The booking was made via Travel Republic. This was part of the problem overall. By booking via TR we saved a considreable amount of money (£00s) but you do get what you pay for.

In the hotel there is a very definite old and new part. Whilst the decors isn't too bad in the older part, the rooms are smaller and not as well appointed. On arrival and seeing our room we regretted not asking and paying for one of the newer rooms.

However the room was comfortable and adequate for our needs.

The grounds are very nice and the pool is useful. Sun beds were in short supply and due to some people 'booking' beds from 7.00 am and then not appearing for hours if at all the situation wasn't particularly good. We weren't bothered as we only used the pool for a short while on a few days. But some people were getting annoyed.

The hotel is situated right on the main road and the rooms at the front are a little noisy, however the roller shutters and double glazing did an effective job.

The restaurant is good the choice of food was fine with reasonable choice on every night. Service was excellent the head waiter keeping a low key but high efficiency regime.

Most reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Riva del Garda is a lovely old place with limited night life but great to relax.

Borrow the hotel's bikes and explore.

Some people have been returning for the last 8 years or more, it is good but there is more to see and do than keep going to this hotel I feel.

  • Liked — Riva del Garda
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermanagh, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

The Feeling Luise Hotel is very modern, yet welcoming and warm (the weather was a bit chilly during our stay). We were upgraded to a superior room on arrival which is alot more modern than the standard one we had originally booked, although we were at the front of the hotel over looking a busy road, which can be quite noisy at nighttime and the active building site opposite, can be an unwelcoming alarm clock in the morning if you've left the window open! Apart from that, we found this hotel to have excellant service and we ate in the hotel on 4 occasions in the evening during our stay, where there is a good variety of food to choose from, in a buffet style arrangement. The staff are very helpful and friendly. It's a short 5-10 minute walk into the heart of Riva and a 10 minute walk to the edge of the lake where there is another lovely lakeside walk. I would certainly recommend this hotel, but try to insist on a pool view room with a balcony at the back of the hotel (there are no lake view rooms at all btw) for a bit of peace at night time!

  • Liked — It's clean and modern and staff are great!
  • Disliked — Noisy road and building site infront of hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed in Luise for two weeks with our 1 year old and we loved it. The room was clean and spacious, the staff were friendly and the food was tasty.

Italy is our favourite country to visit and we especially loved Riva del Garda. It was very pretty, with loads of great shops and plenty of places to enjoy the sun. It was also handy to Gardaland which is a very enjoyable theme park.

The pool area was ideal for babies and young children. There was a play area and childrens pool. It was never over-crowded either. While there wasn't a big selection of lunch on offer at pool, there were other places to eat close to the Hotel so it didn't bother us. The breakfast and dinner were both good and the service was very good.

Our daughter really loved her first holiday! We would definitely go back.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

Stayed here with my boyfriend on our holiday last year. The lobby and bar were very nicely decorated, it looked to have been recently re-done. However the rooms didnt match the rest of the decor, they were quite old fashioned and we had no bath which i had requested. Never the less we enjoyed our stay, it was very close to the town Riva but at the time there was a lot of construction work going on when we were there. The town itself was very pretty but in the afternoon-a ghost town everything closes for a few hours through the day so you do need to go further afield to fill your day. We were on a package which included breakfast and dinner in the hotel, breakfast was nice, lovely pastries and coffee, dinner was a disaster most evenings which was a shame asit was incuded in what we had paid for the trip. It was a set menu with no chance to get anything different and it all seemed to have been prepared ages in advance. We didnt enjoy it and twice out of the 7 nights we went to a chinese restaurant in the town. Overall the staff were extremely friendly, very few of them so you got to know them as the week progressed. We did enjoy our week here but the food really let us down!

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the amazing view over lake garda
  • Disliked — the food and shabby decor in the room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a stay at the Feeling Hotel Luise. What a fantastic hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and we were made to feel really welcome. I am quite a fussy person when it comes to hotel rooms; it has to be at least on a par with my own home, or better. I wasn’t disappointed with room 216; it was spotlessly clean and chic. The cleaner was incredibly thorough, lifting every item of my toiletries to clean underneath. The towels were changed daily without having to ask. We had a mini bar in the room and the prices were reasonable enough for us to actually use it. There was a safe in the room which was free to use and free use of two computers in the bar. We went in September so we found that the pool was very quiet and we didn’t have to worry if we were going to get a sun lounger or not. We only went B&B and can't comment on the evening meal. The choice of breakfast was extensive and it looked the same for the evening meal (of which we heard no complaints from other guests). It’s hard to think of something negative to say about the Luise but if pushed, I guess it was a shame they didn’t do any food during the day. The bar was open for hot and cold drinks but there were no snacks available. There were supermarkets and restaurants all around so it wasn’t a problem for us. We also found evening meals out in the town very reasonable; in fact, we thought it was cheaper than England. All in all, a wonderful hotel which we would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Cleanless and helpfulness of staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luise

Address: Viale Rovereto 9, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#9 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luise 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luise is just 500 meters from Riva Del Garda's historical center and a 3-minute walk from the lake. Built in 1959, and now a modern design hotel, it is inspired by the theme of the journey and by the atmosphere of the '50s and '60s. All rooms are newly renovated, with parquet and modern furniture, air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. The superior rooms have a balcony. The Millelire restaurant serves a superb buffet breakfast, with sweet and savoury, and hot and cold dishes, and is open at night for dinner too. The Hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, Wi-Fi connection in all the rooms and common areas, a private parking place, a children's playground and a kids' club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Luise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feeling Hotel Riva Del Garda
Feeling Luise Hotel
Hotel Luise Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.