We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Catena, 13, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Europa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Haddenham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great position, lovely town with many restaurants, shops & tasteful entertainment. Hotel was clean & friendly and food was excellent. Shame the pool was only a plunge pool - a slightly bigger one would have made it perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    64
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
24
89
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The first time that we stayed at the Europa was in 1989! Like a recent reviewer we also have spent many happy weeks, always in a lake view room - probably out of the 25 years we have visited Riva about 15 or 16 times, and as Hoola13 said "always at the same Hotel" Our paths must have crossed! We have seen the previous family grow up and now move from the Hotel business. The new managers are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is excellent. There is a help yourself salad/buffet before the starter which is beautifully set out. The Gala Dinner once a week starts with a sparkly drink and vol au vents in the lounge. The cook and kitchen staff must work very hard to produce such a wonderful range of food which is on offer each evening. We booked in December 2012 for our stay in July, 2013. We asked for a lake view room with balcony. Marion on reception said in her e.mail that she could give us the lake view, and would do her best to get us a balcony. On our arrival we found that we had both. Only one little thing. The air-conditioning is controlled from reception. Each room has to ask at reception for their choice of whether they want it to turned on off each day. As far as the room is concerned, we found it to be modern, comfortable, not noisy and the bathroom had adequate supply of soap, shampoo etc. We travel by car so do a round trip of Europe each year staying in many hotels. The Europa is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have just returned from my 16th visit to Riva, 13 times at this Hotel!! (twice this year!) I cannot recommend it highly enough, The staff are wonderful, very helpful at all times and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is excellent with a huge choice for dinner each evening and they hold a weekly "Gala Dinner" with live entertainment. The Hotel is spotlessly clean, spacious and bright with a lovely large lounge having open balcony doors overlooking the Piazzas and lakefront below. They have a "Happy Hour" between 5-7pm each evening with reduced price drinks, they also have bicycles available for guests to use free of charge. The Europa is in the perfect location and is ideal for less mobile guests too as everything is on the doorstep, also, the buses to the western side of the lake stop just outside the main entrance. I have booked again for next year and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are perfect for people watching!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spent one night in Best Western Europa in Riva during a weekend. Had limited options since most of the hotels were overbooked and Riva is an expensive place (at least for accommodation) during summer.
The good points: The location is good, and if you are lucky you can probably get a room with some nice lake view. The stuff is quite helpful and friendly and a very positive thing is that their english is quite good. Rooms are also spacious (compared to other options in Riva).
The bad points: The hotel is quite old and needs renovation. While this is not necessarily bad, the problem is with the rooms that have no soundproof (we could clearly hear conversations from next room). There are no blinds in the rooms, meaning that you get up very early in the morning by the sun. We had very few amenities (soap, shampoo) although we booked a double room for 2 persons.
Breakfast is average for a 4* hotel.
The pool..well, I doubt if it can be considered as a pool or a big jacuzzi. It is literally 5x2 meters and on our last day it was closed for maintenance (probably because it was Sunday and most of the guests were leaving) without any notice from the reception.
I would have given a better score if we hadn't paid 150 euros for 1 night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Recently spent a week at this hotel, first week in July 2013 with Riviera Travel.
A truly outstanding hotel with great food and I cannot speak highly enough of the staff who were so polite and helpful.
Riva is a lovely place to stay and the position of this hotel on the lakeside makes it that much better.

Room Tip: You need to ask at reception to have the air conditioning in your room switched on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Recently spent a week at this hotel, and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Perfect location right on the lake edge and close to all restaurants, bars etc.Very friendly staff both on reception and in the dining room. Included breakfast and dinner were first class, with the evening meal very varied. Right next to the ferry stops so ideal if you want a trip to other towns around the lake (which we did).
Asked for tea and coffee making facility and was provided with 2 cups and a kettle which had to be plugged in a socket in the bathroom. No tea or coffee provided, but quickly solved this at the local shop. Good aircon which could be regulated inside the room (other reviewers said otherwise).
All in all a great little hotel. Paid extra for a lake view which we thought well worthwhile.

Room Tip: pay extra for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just returned from a week at this smashing hotel. Although it's a Best Western hotel it's more like a small family run hotel. The rooms are a little small but that's no problem. The aircon works a treat but you need to ask reception to turn it off at night if it's a bit too cold for you. The hotel itself is very clean and well looked after. And the location on the harbourside is exceptional.

The staff are very helpful and nothings too much trouble for them. My wife had some problems with the hair drier in our room but that was rectified within 5 minutes of reporting it.

We stayed on a half board basis and the breakfast buffet is good. However, the evening meals are even better. They are 4 courses with an antipasta buffet first course which is lovely. Its so good that if you are a little late eating some of the most popular dishes may have run out. You need to preorder your 2nd course and main meal the previous evening which is unusual but it worked out fine for us.

All in all a very good hotel in a lovely setting in Riva. Consequently I would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel with a lake view are a little more expensive but seeing as we sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Piazza Catena, 13, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Europa)
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel set in the historical town center facing the port; meeting facilities, terrace restaurant with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Europa Hotel Riva Del Garda
Best Western Hotel Europa
Best Western Riva Del Garda
Riva Del Garda Best Western
Hotel Europa Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.