We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Catena, 13, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Europa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
South of England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect place for holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

In late May 2011 we stayed at the Hotel Europa on Lake Garda as part of a Riviera Travel booking. On arrival we found the staff most courteous and helpful which continued throughout our week’s stay. Our room was located overlooking the lake, harbour and piazza and we found the extra cost (for the view) well worth it.
Our room was comfortable and a good standard, plenty of wardrobe space and a safe inside, which cost 1 euro per day if you wanted to make use of it (there’s a 10 euro deposit per week). The bathroom had a bathtub as well as shower (over the bath) and was kept spotless each day by the cleaning staff. Everything worked well and there were the usual complimentary toiletries provided.
Breakfast was informal where guests could choose where to sit and weren’t restricted to set tables like some hotels. A few mornings we ate in the first-floor conservatory adjoining the restaurant overlooking the piazza and lake, which was a lovely way to start the day. Breakfast was typical continental, with hams, cheese, yoghurts, croissants, cake, rolls, cereal and toast. Also available at no extra charge were fresh eggs which you could boil to your liking. When we stayed, the staff were very good at quickly replenishing the breakfast food items. There was no stern lady watching every move either (see some previous reviews!)
In the last few weeks the hotel has started to serve evening meals but as we ate out every evening we can’t comment on the quality of the hotel meals.
Would we stay here again? Most definitely – the hotel is perfectly situated for easy access to the town of Riva and regular ferry crossings to Malcesine and Limone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    64
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
24
89
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed here for our 30th Wedding Anniversary we booked through Riviera Travel.The Hotel was Lovely and clean throughout, room was adequate, with a good shower, and well lit bathroom, good wardrobe for hanging all your clothes in. We were overlooking the rooftop swimming pool, and the mountains. You can overlook the Lake but for an extra charge.The only downside was the Tv stations we would have liked to have watched a bit of tv after we had been out for our evening meal. There was only a news station, sport station, and we would have liked to have watched a general station. films etc.
The staff were very helpfull, and the Lady owner of the hotel was very kind.
breakfast although not a cooked, was more than adequate.
The dining room was also onto a conservatory overlooking the lake, absolutely beautifull, we wanted breakfast to last all day. The best positioned Hotel in Riva Del Garda.

Room Tip: Pay the extra if you want a Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is a very typical Best Westrn hotel. Clean and pleasant. The reception was helpful, the breakfast staff a miserable bunch. The location is amazing. I had a very small single room - nowhere to put the suitcase! The air conditioning was the noisiest I've ever come across - a constant whining noise, but a glass of wine before bed solved that problem! Not a great hotel - but good value and perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Nothing inspiring or even that noticeable as an entrance between shops opening up to hotel above but great location on front right by the ferries with restuarants just outside.
Has free car park just behind off main road.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We, three persons and a dog, arrived July 14 and the temperature was 38 degrees celsius. The day before our arrival we had sent a mail to the reception asking them for a room with a balcony since the dog had a tuff time in the heat. The receptionists (all of them) were the kindest and most serviceminded you could wish for - they had arranged for us a room with a balcony facing the lake/harbour!!! I think the room number was 110. What a relief and joy when we went into the room. That ment our dog could sleep outside, at the balcony. And it also ment we had a wonderful time in the evenings, sipping on a cold white wine and looking at the view. The room itself was clean and was big enough for the 3 of us. I also must mention the breakfast!!! It was a luxury to have your breakfast in the veranda overlooking the harbour, having as many cappucinos you´d like to. Mmmmm!

But most of all I recommend this hotel for the kind and serviceminded staff! I already mentioned the receptionists, but the guy serving breakfast was also very kind, helping you out with everything. We are VERY pleased with our stay in hotel Europs.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Located on the harbour front the Europa is an ideal place to base a stay on Lake Garda.
Malcesine was the preferred location but lack of available rooms meant Riva was the next best option.
It turn out to be the right decision - Malcesine is beautiful but with a vehicle Riva was the right place to stay.
Rooms are functional but not where you would want to (nor should) spend your time in such a beautiful location.
Pool area on the roof is a good areas to view the comings and goings in the harbour but you really shouldn't go to Riva to sunbathe.
Get out on the Lake, sit in a bar and watch the world go by, walk through the narrow streets of Malcesine and sit in a restaurant and watch the world go by some more.

The Europa is a perfectly acceptable hotel to stay in - it benefits from a secure car park a god send in Riva town centre - just don't try to follow the Michelin driving directions!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

We spent a very pleasant week in the Europa on B&B basis. The rooms were tidy,comfortable and clean if a little cramped , especially the bath room. The rooms are quite basic with no tea/coffee maker or fridge.
Some of us paid over £100 extra for a lake view . The view was of the harbour (not the lake) and was through a small window (no balcony). This option is not worth the high price.
The breakfast was quite good with a reasonable chioce. The main disappointment was the lack of healthy bread and fresh (rather than tinned) fruit.
One evening we suffered from very loud music from the basement bar. Be warned.
There are plenty of plus points too. The Europa is in the middle of town close to the ferries and plenty of excellent resturants such as the Nationale and Leon D'oro. Also there is free wireless internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Piazza Catena, 13, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Europa)
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel set in the historical town center facing the port; meeting facilities, terrace restaurant with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Europa Hotel Riva Del Garda
Best Western Hotel Europa
Best Western Riva Del Garda
Riva Del Garda Best Western
Hotel Europa Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.