We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels to your Saves list
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Confalonieri, 8, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Kidderminster
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Recently back from Riva Del Garda where we stayed for seven nights at this hotel, booked through Riviera Travel.Can only repeat what others have already said, every member of staff at this hotel is a credit to them, from reception on arrival through to restaurant, room staff and porters. The food is one of the best we have had in any hotel and for an hotel of this caliber the drinks are not overpriced.The complimentary Prosecco served with dinner was unexpected, but very much appreciated. Breakfast can be taken in the restaurant or on the roof alongside the pool. The roof swimming pool and bar were delightful and extremely well run with very good snacks. The views from there were fabulous. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for higher room if possible, which gives better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo T, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear MikeKidde,
thank you for your kind words and for appreciating the food, the pool and our friendliness. As you write you can enjoy the sky pool from breakfast, midday with lunch, the afternoon with the happy hour, to the night with live piano music and new events. From this summer we have a wide range of cold and hot plates, ice-cream sundae, sandwiches and toast. Glad you appreciated it.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards
Giuseppe Tonelli and Kristal Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    49
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
270
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Recently stayed for 7 nights as part of a Riviera Travel package. The fuss-free check-in set the tone for the entire stay. The reception staff are friendly, helpful and relaxed and within minutes we were in our room being shown the air conditioning and TV controls by a competent member of the concierge staff. The contemporary hotel design means that many of the 'traditional' room features are not there. For example there are no easy chairs, carpets or bedside cabinets. Instead there are high quality clear polycarbonate chairs, wooden floor boards and wardrobe shelves. All fixtures and fittings are functional and in keeping with a 4* hotel status. The black out curtains do a superb job and with the exceptionally comfortable beds and good internal soundproofing getting a sound nights sleep was no problem. The bathroom was spacious and again fitted out with high quality fittings. Complimentary bathroom products were of satisfactory quality and regularly refreshed. The water in Riva is exceptionally soft.
I completely agree with all previous reviews regarding the quality of the food. This is without doubt one of the hotel's strengths. A complimentary glass of Prosecco with dinner is a nice touch and not something found in the larger hotel chains. Breakfast has all the traditional continental ingredients. Our stay coincided with the Riva fire work display. The hotel provided free crepes after the event and although the roof top pool area was very busy, a hands-on management team ensured guests were very well looked after. This attention to detail runs right through the hotel. All in all hotel Kristal Palace is a great place to be and we would have jumped at the chance to stay a few more nights. The manager mingles freely with guests and is clearly keen to ensure everything is just right. With varying shift patterns and check-out times we found it was not possible to show our personal appreciation to certain staff members whom we found to be particularly helpful. Perhaps consideration could be given to providing a facility at reception to enable guests to do this. The complimentary gift at check-out was an unexpected surprise and again indicative of the personal touch. Well done Kristal Palace for making our stay relaxing and extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo T, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Scrumps,
We are glad that you enjoyed so much your holiday here in Riva del Garda. Especially happy to read that our Hotel is "a gem of a hotel" and you found all of our team to be friendly and welcoming. You had a positive experience of our “Live” Restaurant with open-plan kitchen and a Mediterranean and international flavour. We agree with you, it is one of the hotel's strengths: the passion and professionalism of our chefs make each dish special.
Design-aware customers will appreciate the attention bestowed on the choice of materials and furniture: the rooms and public areas are furnished with Bisazza mosaics, white marble from Carrara, “Louis Ghost” chairs by Kartell, walls clad with piquet fabric and many other contemporary furniture accessories.
Thank you for your review and for your advice, we will provide for it.
We hope to welcome you again.
Best regards
Giuseppe Tonelli and Kristal Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Hotel first class staff very helpfull and hard working hotel owner not afraid to do the work his staff are doing .food outstanding rooftop bar and pool stunning at night . Cannot find any fault with this hotel no wonder it's a four star hotel would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo T, Manager at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Diane K,
it's fantastic to read that it was your "best holiday ever". I'm very pleased about your praise, thank you very much, I just pay attention to the satisfaction of our guests.
You did appreciate our panoramic roof top swimming pool overlooking the Lake, which itself makes an exclusive spot for your romantic holiday.
We hope that upon your next visit to Lake Garda we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Kristal Palace Hotel.
Kind regards,
Giuseppe Tonelli and the Kristal Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked this hotel solely on reviews on Trip Advisor and I am so glad I did. We stayed there for our Silver Anniversary and it was a memorable stay. We had booked an Executive Room but was upgraded to a Suite and upon arrival had Prosecco and Fresh Fruit delivered to our room courtesy of the hotel. The room was fantastic and there was three balconies we could access from the room for our own private use. The rooms were outstanding, spotlessly clean and the towels were changed twice a day and bed was made down at night.

The roof pool where breakfast was served was excellent and there was entertainment there at night. It was a very romantic setting.

There is car parking outside and within an underground garage.

I would highly recommend this hotel which is not cheap, however worth every penny spent.

On leaving the hotel we were presented with a bottle of Limoncello.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo T, Manager at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Dferguson,
thank you for your kind words. How wonderful to hear that you had a perfect holiday here, celebrating your Silver Anniversary. We are very glad to upgrade our guests, when it's possible, to make theirs stay more special. The Suite is a sophisticated room, equipped with every comfort, three balconies and a spacious bathroom with a whirlpool tub. For a romantic evening you recommend our sky pool terrace, adorned with lights and entertainment with live music and fresh drinks to sip in this pleasant company.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards
Giuseppe Tonelli and the Kristal Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I have just returned home by car after spending twelve nights at the Kristal Palace Hotel in Riva del Garda. This was our first time at both the hotel and resort and we were delighted by the overall excellent quality of the hotel and the spectacular scenery around the northern shores of Lake Garda.

The hotel staff were always kind and helpful, particularly in the restaurant and pool bar and also the maid service and reception. The room (404) was very well appointed, with a large comfortable bed and spacious bathroom.

Roger & Judith - Hertfordshire UK.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo T, Manager at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Roger S,
I am pleased that you found us outstanding on all levels. Our team is very pleased about your praise, sense of hospitality is a must here at the Kristal Palace.
Thank you for appreciating the Prestige room, wich is indeed well appointed and comfortable.
Everything has been designed to offer our guests the utmost comfort and the best possible service.
We hope to welcome you again,
with best regards
Giuseppe Tonelli and Kristal Palace Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a room on the 5th floor (510) the room was beautiful, but there was noise from the adjacent lift.

The food was truly exceptional and everyone should take the evening meal option when booking as you will not find better in the area. We stayed for 14 nights and the menu was never repeated, but was consistently a very high standard. The location is very good and the roof top pool and bar are great with beautiful views, but don't expect good views of the lake from your room. The hotel is located on a side street behind the main road, which means that it is not bothered by road noise. The walk into the old town takes about 15 minutes along the lake.

The staff were very good, always helpful and spoke excellent english. The bike hire was good and the car park always had spaces.

On the downside there were no tea making facilities in the room and as we were there for a wedding an iron would have been useful.

All in all an excellent hotel with excellent staff and food in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo T, Manager at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Graham W,
thank you for posting a kind review of your stay at the Kristal Palace Hotel. We are delighted to read that you experienced a warm greeting from our professional team, and enjoyed your stay in our beautifully appointed room. We take advice from you and we will insulate the rooms. Thank you for appreciating the food and reccomend to book half board, I have passed on your comments to the restaurant team. The “Live” Restaurant offers characteristic Mediterranean cuisine, placing importance on seasonal produce and the local specialties of the Lake Garda and Trentino region.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
With best regards
Giuseppe Tonelli and the Kristal Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Kristal Palace Hotel in May this year. We found it very welcoming our room was was great, the food was marvellous the rooftop pool was amazing with beautiful views. The staff were very friendly and helpful we would definitely stay at this hotel in the future. I left my mobile phone in our room and the staff kindly sent it on to me so I cannot thank them enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo T, Manager at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Mac S,
thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay. We are so pleased that you felt it was wonderful and that the staff were friendly. Glad to hear that the mobile phone is back.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.
Warm regards
Giuseppe Tonelli and Kristal Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels

Address: Via Confalonieri, 8, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#2 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.