We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Maso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Maso to your Saves list
Hotel Al Maso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Edoardo Modl, 7, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel great. Took a party of 46 there. Food was embarrassing no puddings sometimes a apple or a small I mean small bunch of grapes, same old meat every night pork or chicken all tasted the same . Worse than school meals..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
14
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here recently for a week in July as a member of a very large (90 +)party . Having read some of the reviews, the first thing I would say is, "Don't Panic!". This is a very comfortable, well run hotel with a lovely pool surrounded by vineyards and gorgeous views of the mountains. The room was in was in the new extension to the hote, and it was spacious, impeccably clean and well maintained. The air-conditioning was ace, and this was vital with night time temperatures in the mid thirties.
We were, however, on half board terms and this I wouldn't recommend. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby on the lake. Go find them and eat there. It's a holiday after all. Who eats at a hotel? It may have been down to the fact that we were such a large party, but the food at the hotel was on the sinister side of ordinary: bland packet soups, bought-in desserts and main courses redolent of school dinners. Breakfast was ersatz fruity drinks, tinned fruit- salad, pale pink meats, anemic cheeses, and characterless bread rolls. But the waiting staff, three hard-working girls, were efficient and cheerful and I couldn't praise them highly enough. All the staff were helpful and courteous. So go and enjoy the hotel, just leave your appetite at the front desk.

Room Tip: We were in the new extension and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

First of all I must say that it is my first and probably only review on TripAdvisor. The reason I am writing is to balance off the negative comments I read, particularly that from some maltese fellow. The hotel is run by a very pleasant old lady, who tried to please us as much as was possible. The dinner was nothing too special, but it was fresh, abundant and good - there was a daily choice from at least 2/3 items. The rooms are extremely clean and the people very helpful. Only thing which I really missed is probably free wifi access from hotel rooms. I must also note that the hotel was relatively empty since we travelled during the low season (Easter 2013).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Following a grueling coach journey to get there we were met by rude staff after a mix up with booking in arrangements. Food was worse than school dinners. the small portions were meted out by the owner ( so as to ensure that she maximized profit we assumed) Rooms were basic but fairly clean. Soiled and wet towels we had left in the shower tray for renewal were refold and placed back on the trowel rails wet for further use. Certainly would not go there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zlin, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

nice quiet hotel surrounded by wine yards and mountains. Pool is clean and big enough for swimming. Not crowded at all. You will always find the free sunbeds either under sun or in the shade. So pool is big plus for this hotel. You will enjoy it especially after return from your trip.
From hotel, you really walk no more than 20 minutes to the lake. Nice walk after dinner. If you prefer a walk by car :), you can park in the evening free in big gravel pakplace in Riva del Grade. They say it is paid 8:00-22:00 but we arrived usually at 20:30 after dinner and never paid anything in second week of August.
Rooms are cleaned daily, well isolated from next rooms sounds so you can sleep well. Bathroom was spacy as well as the room. Balcony was good size too. Air conditioner seemed to me a bit noisy. Mostly not a problem with parking next to hotel. You can explore Lago di Garda or go north to Dolomites. Madonna di Campiglio is only 60 km away and on the way you will pass beautifully green Lago di Tenno, where you can also swim. Just 10 km away.
We have ordered half board. Even if it is nothing you would do wow about, I think the dińner is worth of those 11 euros extra if you consider other options you get in Riva del Garda.
Breakfast - we were said the rich buffet is there but do not expect more than cheapest cheese, cheapest salami and ham. They do not spend also too much in bakery - you will recognize it also during breakfast. But you can have also various jams, nutella like cream, honey and cut fresh fruits. Also some mussli and white yogurt . So basicaly good standard for Italy.
Dinner - you have vegetable buffet to make your own salad. Usually salad leaves, tomatoes and carrot, plus some sour mixed vegetable salad. Then you choose from pasta or soup as primo
and usually veal or chicken or fish or prosciutto with mellons for secondo. always joined with potatoes and some green vegetables and desert - usually some small cheap stuff, which pretends to be sacher torta or tiramisu, but it is usualy cheaper version of originals made of less expensive ingredients. And it is still a desert and who does complain about some sweet ending... :)
Water and wine you are charged additionaly.
So food was quite repetitive without any positive surprise but always well prepared and taste was always acceptable. We never complained.
Wine is cheap and we had already been served better wines as table wine in Italy. So the restaurant is not a place you would like to stay in for rest of the night.
Staff is very nice and helpfull. You feel you are in family hotel and they treat you like you are the part of the family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

simple, relatively small hotel located on a quite location, not too far from city center ( about 15 min walk, or 3 min by car with enough parking in center)
swimmingpool and sun!
possible to have 2 kids with in same room
very friendly and service oriented staff!!
unfortunately no wifi in rooms
breakfast simple

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I booked this hotel at the last minute and was expecting the worst as everywhere else in Riva was booked out. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived, there were grapes growing all around the grounds. I had a lovely room, solid pine furniture, white linen, well stocked bathroom, spotlessly clean and really quiet! Went to Riva most days but was always glad to leave the tourist madness behind and walk or get a taxi the 1km back to the hotel. The staff were the best, from the two cleaning ladies to the young Italian barman, the two really friendly waitresses and the two receptionists, all ably overseen by Bianca, a real Italian Mama who doesn't miss a beat, amazing lady for her years, she was there day and night! It was clear they all have a great pride in their hotel and have worked there for years. I met lots of German tourists there, some Italians and some Scandinavian tourists - anyone I spoke to said they would be coming back. I enjoyed the food too, typical Italian menus! The hotel was booked out most nights I was there. This little hotel has a lot going for it in a quiet way - perhaps its charm lies in that it has stayed true to its roots, attracts families and older visitors, a great place for a single person to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Maso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Maso

Address: Via Edoardo Modl, 7, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Maso 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the vineyards, in a quiet area, the Hotel is a 1,5 km from downtown of Riva del Garda and from the fairground - Convention Center and it offers the chance to choose the holiday you wish. Choose between the several sports that the Lake and the territory offer to grownups and children, or just the sweet nothing in our wellness area. Our standard rooms are cozy and comfortable with all modern facility and particular attention to cleanliness. Ideal for anyone traveling for business or simply for those who want to relax with your family. The Hotel, environmentally sustainable, take advantage of renewable energy to reduce the environmental impact of tourism and makes ecology a value on which to realize the holidays of the present and the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Al Maso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Maso Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Maso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.