We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem, quiet, unpretentious, family run - loved my week there.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Maso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Maso to your Saves list
Hotel Al Maso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Edoardo Modl, 7, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little gem, quiet, unpretentious, family run - loved my week there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I booked this hotel at the last minute and was expecting the worst as everywhere else in Riva was booked out. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived, there were grapes growing all around the grounds. I had a lovely room, solid pine furniture, white linen, well stocked bathroom, spotlessly clean and really quiet! Went to Riva most days but was always glad to leave the tourist madness behind and walk or get a taxi the 1km back to the hotel. The staff were the best, from the two cleaning ladies to the young Italian barman, the two really friendly waitresses and the two receptionists, all ably overseen by Bianca, a real Italian Mama who doesn't miss a beat, amazing lady for her years, she was there day and night! It was clear they all have a great pride in their hotel and have worked there for years. I met lots of German tourists there, some Italians and some Scandinavian tourists - anyone I spoke to said they would be coming back. I enjoyed the food too, typical Italian menus! The hotel was booked out most nights I was there. This little hotel has a lot going for it in a quiet way - perhaps its charm lies in that it has stayed true to its roots, attracts families and older visitors, a great place for a single person to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
15
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

~The hotel was lovely and clean set in a vinyard in quiet surroundings, 20 mins walk to lake. The scenery from our veranda was breathtaking. Meals were OK, continental breakfast and basic dinners. Our room was lovely, well equipped and quiet. The Spa facilities were not available when we were there, however, both swimming pools were there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Do not consider this hotel, staff very ignorant, food disgusting, this hotel made us feel like 2nd class citzens, and meal times were like being back at school. Wouldn't give this food to our dog. (processed & reheated food was inedible)

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

don't stop at this hotel if you want good food & service 7 euros for a taxi to resort centre if you have walking problems it turns into an expensive holiday.

D.W 15 september

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

terrible service, told to go to bed at 11! not friendly and food was awful, all microwave proccessed. had to eat out every day! dont go! waste of our hard earned cash

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

on our arrival we were herded into the dining room we were made to sit at long tables we felt like we were at hogwarts the pasta and soup werent fit for a dog at breakfast we were told we could only have one egg a week
Tthe only good things about this hotel was the room and the pool.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Al Maso in October and i couldn't fault this hotel in any way. The staff were extreamly friendly especially the owner who was there each meal time to greet us.
Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Quiet location with just a short 20 minute walk to the main town- worth it to stay in a good hotel instead of the hustle and bustle of the town centre. Great value for money. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Maso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Maso

Address: Via Edoardo Modl, 7, 38066 Riva Del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Maso 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the vineyards, in a quiet area, the Hotel is a 1,5 km from downtown of Riva del Garda and from the fairground - Convention Center and it offers the chance to choose the holiday you wish. Choose between the several sports that the Lake and the territory offer to grownups and children, or just the sweet nothing in our wellness area. Our standard rooms are cozy and comfortable with all modern facility and particular attention to cleanliness. Ideal for anyone traveling for business or simply for those who want to relax with your family. The Hotel, environmentally sustainable, take advantage of renewable energy to reduce the environmental impact of tourism and makes ecology a value on which to realize the holidays of the present and the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Al Maso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Maso Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Maso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.