We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese Extravaganza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Picchio Allegro

Il Picchio Allegro
Via Criano, 18, 02100 Rieti, Italy
+39 0746 271826
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 116 Restaurants in Rieti
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Brew Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Gaeta, Italy
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cheese Extravaganza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I had a great dinner here. They have a large selection beer and plenty of great pizzas. All the ingredients were fresh. Don't go looking for pasta because they don't serve any, the do offer polenta which is very good. The bread is also very good. They specialize in scamorza cheese pots. The restaurant does require you to drive out of town a bit. Is a good stop for Harley rides.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    61
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take a Meal at Picchio allegro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I taked a meal at Picchio allegro one february night. It took a very good pizza, one of the best pizza in my life!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Out of town delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Firstly if you are using your sat-nav to find this restaurant do have patience. Once you have found Via Criano keeps driving and the restaurant does eventually appear on your left. I am tempted to give 5 stars based on the location. This really seems like the middle of nowhere – in the nicest way. Opposite (when we visited) a beautiful field of sunflowers in bloom with a vista of plains and hills all around.
Onto the food. This place is all about pizza and delivers one of the tastiest I have ever tried. Yes there are other options which I am sure are fine but stay with their “expertise”. The nice surprise was a wide selection of artisan beers from the region. Many locals seemed to sharing a bottle in place of wine. There is a beer menu which the owner will be happy to talk you through. You can have wine if you want of course!
Despite the far out location this place is very popular with the locals and if you are visiting on a Friday or Saturday evening it would be wise to book.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Pizza in Rieti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the best pizza in Rieti. I have been visiting Il Picchio Allegro for years now, and was never disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Picchio Allegro also viewed

Rieti, Province of Rieti
Rieti, Province of Rieti
 
Rieti, Province of Rieti
 

Been to Il Picchio Allegro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Picchio Allegro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.