We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than meets the eye” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sotto Broletto

Sotto Broletto
Vicolo Broletto, 1n, 42100 Reggio Emilia, Italy
0522 45 22 76
Improve this listing
Ranked #326 of 390 Restaurants in Reggio Emilia
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Keene, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“More than meets the eye”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

One of the challenges for some travelers in Italy is to find a restaurant that opens earlier than the typical 7:30 or 8:00 pm. We wandered the streets of Reggio Emilia hoping to find a bite to eat at 6:00 after a long day on the train. Sotto Broletto was perfect. While from the outside, it may look like it only has pizza and the décor is simple, the restaurant has a full menu with all courses including a primi course of homemade ravioli with chard filling – fabulous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    12
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good central restaurant for basics”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Nice little busy spot for people watching whilst you eat, with good basics. Avoid the more complicated mains which we found to be of average quality, but the pasta and pizza dishes were very good. Service was friendly and efficient enough, but you do pay a little extra for the location. I would have awarded the place more than the Average score for 3 stars, but the Very Good score would be a little generous - a score of Good fits well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza in Reggio Emilia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Located just off the main piazza, Piazza Prampolini, this is a perfect stop for lunch or dinner while visiting Reggio Emilia. You can eat inside or out front under a nice arcade. The menu includes a wide variety of pizzas, tasty calzone, pastas, entrees, salads and more. The service is friendly and attentive and the food is consistently fresh and good. They make their own bread, which is excellent, and has a perfect crust. For dessert, we tried their tiramisu—one of the best we've had so far in Italy. There are also other desserts worth trying. We've eaten here a half dozen times now and we've never been disappointed.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Nothing fancy, but excellent food at a fair price. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribbean
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“A popular spot in center of town with great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is exactly how I picture a family run pizza restaurant in Italy! On arriving first night in Reggio Emilia we were tired and not wanting anything fancy. In wandering around the main square we found this restuarant in a side ally leading to another square. Looked simple so we took a table inside as the outdoor seating was more hectic. Typical set-up with the small tables and bright lights! We started with pumpkin filled raviolli which blew us away! Then we had two of the best thin crust pizzas ever! A liter of house wine was the local speciality - a Lambrusco style - fizzy red but was ok once you got past the first taste. We went back a couple of days later and sat outside and enjoyed the people watching as Wednesday's are festival nights during the summer. There were films in one square and dancing displays in another. A great spot and very popular with the local trade.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Broletto also viewed

Reggio Emilia, Province of Reggio Emilia
Reggio Emilia, Province of Reggio Emilia
 
Reggio Emilia, Province of Reggio Emilia
Reggio Emilia, Province of Reggio Emilia
 

Been to Sotto Broletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sotto Broletto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.