We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enchanting spot just 50 yards off the town's main square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Figli di papa'

Figli di papa'
Via della Marra 7, 84010 Ravello, Italy
+39 (0)89 858302
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 restaurants in Ravello
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Brea, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An enchanting spot just 50 yards off the town's main square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were exploring around the main square on our first night in Ravello, but we were too hungry to explore too far. We came upon Figli di Papa and were very happy with it. The outdoor seating on a warm summer night was magical. The service was excellent and all the food was fresh and delicious. My mother-in-law said her seafood pasta plate was the best she'd had in her life. The desserts were fantastic, especially the tiramisu and the delizia de limon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    219
    141
    53
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly service, away from the crowds, food average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Title says it all.

Had a reasonably priced evening meal and liked it being off the main square / street. Food was fairly average.

Staff were friendly.

Set lunch menu looked good value but couldn't comment on this as ate in the evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food and setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We sat on the terrace here and had a nice meal. Nothing over the top, but the food was fresh and well made, and prices reasonable. The terrace is not on the water, but it is a nice quiet space. The service was very nice and friendly. This restaurant has free wi-fi, just as an FYI. It was a nice perk. Enjoy your meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had two dinners at this restaurant and they were both excellent. We sat out on the terrace downstairs amd the waiters were very friendly and the food was very simple and fresh. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Number 6, Really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

No sure how this place is rated as high as it is. Either the standards of the reviewers are low, or we ate here on an off night. As the other reviews have accurately stated, this place is quite affordable. Having said that, so is the Olive Garden. Although our service was good and the staff was friendly, the food was not good at all. It didn't taste bad, but it essentially lacked taste altogether.

The wine list is reminiscent of a TGI Fridays. Maybe I'm being a little harsh, but considering this is the number 6 restaurant on tripadvisor I feel like the harsh review is warranted. I honestly felt like I was robbed of a good Italian meal. It was most unfortunate because I really wanted to like the place because the service was good.

I would not recommend this place over others I ate at in Ravello.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Figli di papa' also viewed

Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Figli di papa'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Figli di papa', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.