We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in love with this place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo della Marra

Save Saved
You added Palazzo della Marra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo della Marra
Via della Marra, n. 3, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Ravello B&B and Inns
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“in love with this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I went there for one of the Ravello festivals' shows. The hotel is located 1 to 3 minutes walking from where the concerts are being held in which is great! My room was a double room single use-the room is large enough and well equipped (unless you are planning to stay at the room all day and watch TV-the TV was quite small btw but i didnt even open it-There is so much to see in Ravello so I didnt even think about staying at the room..) My room was located at the first floor where there is a common kitchen and other 2 or 3 rooms-i dont know if there were any other guests there while i was staying. If you like the.. "village style", i would call it, than you have reached the right place-i was there for 2 days and that was heaven on earth for me, was very sad to leave! the hotel is also a few minutes walking from other touristic places around Ravello and the bus station is few steps from there (and NO you wont hear any of it at the rooms!!) The staff of the hotel is very welcoming and is willing to explain and help with whatever question you might have. In short- i only wish to be back there a.s.a.p!
They also have a great restaurant at the ground floor where you have breakfast (typical italian breakfast that is a hot drink and maffin or a croissant that was big enough to keep me not hungry untill lunch)
well if i had to say something bad about this place it would be that the toilets are a bit noisy and that at the end you cant stay there forever.... Surely will go back there one day!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    1
    6
    0
See reviews for
4
34
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Loved this B&B room was very clean and good value for money. This was the cheapest room we stayed at for our whole 2 week stay. We couldn't believe that breakfast was included and that you even had free wi-fi.We stayed for 2 night and decided to have an early start so would not stay for breakfast. When we told the owner he filled up a carrier bag with drinks and food to take with us.We had a motorbike touring holiday and the bike was parked across the road in a locked compound. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. We dined in the restaurant downstairs and received a 10% discount as we were staying in one of the rooms.The food was of an excellent standard and we were very sad to leave. When all the cruise ships and coach trips leave from the days visit the town is claimed back by the locals and peace decends lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

It's in the very center of Ravello. The house is from 13th century. It's a palazzo. And yes, a budget price. Can you ask for more? Loved it. Very good location if you are going to Villa Rufolo concerts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallastexas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Ravello is a charming town and perfect for hiking and enjoying the views of the Amalfi coast. The B&B has wifi in the restaurant and where breakfast is served. The Restaurant also has lunch and dinner, we did eat there one night and the food was very good. The location is perfect, just off the square, and everyone is very friendly. There is no A/C, but fans and a nice breeze makes it ok. The rooms are a good size and very comfortable. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

If you're looking for great value(Euro 80.00 per nght) which is hard to find in Ravello and you like honest family business, Palazzo della Marra is the place to stay.

My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights at New Year and had a wonderful and relaxing experience. At Palazzo della Marra you have the advantage of staying right in the centre of Ravello and you will be hosted and treated like people visiting friends. The owner Geraldo is a very nice guy and his mother really does everything within reason to make you extremely welcome and to maintain your room always tidy and comfortable. There is also a young lady part of the staff, who perfectly speaks English and has a great knowledge of local culture and history, so trust her recommendations to visit the Amalfi Coast.

On top of that we also reccomend to taste the cuisine of the Restaurant figi di papa, same property, same honest price, amazing food!
Many compliments to Geraldo and his team! We would absolutely return to Ravello and stay at Palazzo della Marra.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

I spent 3 nights with my husband in this lovely little B&B in Ravello and I'm glad I didn't care about previous bad reviews!
It is a family business and thefore everything is simple but clean and tidy as in one's own house, from bed linen and bath towels, to lovely window curtains. I would like to remind travellers that bed and breakfasts are not 5 stars hotels and Palazzo della Marra is absolutely good value. The location is perfect, a 12th-century palazzo right in the historical centre of the town, of course there are no elevators, it is an ancient building!!!
In the summer period you can enjoy a nice Italian breakfast outside or at the bar at the first floor. We also tried their restaurant Figli di Papa, food is very good, almost everything homemade, including the delicious cakes of mama maria, the owner's mother, a wonder woman, who takes personally care of house-keeping.
Last but not least, we stayed in the room "Antica", wich perfeclty matches the pictures on Palazzo della Marra website.
So, what else, try to believe!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

After much a long day driving from Sorrento to Ravello, we arrive at the BB just to learn that our room was given to another reservation despite confirmation. I was shock! But the owner arrange a room for us to a hotel/restaurent nearby at the same rate (Hotel Da Salvatore) and he promise to pay for the parking for us as our room would included the parking in the price (20 euros). But the next day, I did hear for the first time swearing in Italian when he see the parking bill... Hilarious!

We did ate at his restaurent... a little above average.No extra for the inconvenient... I would though... oh welll!

The offer is cheap 90 euros with breakfast and parking... but you might end up without reservation. Would I comeback... It's tempted, but I would say no. I would go for the Hotel Da Salvatore who have AC and a five star view, for the same price (parking is extra however)!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo della Marra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo della Marra

Address: Via della Marra, n. 3, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the homonymous palace,residence,in the xii th century,of one of most important noble families in Ravello, the B&B Palazzo della Marra ,is situated just a few meters from piazza duomo,next to the ancient city entrance doors. it offers double rooms,with view on piazza duomo and on gardens below. guest can also enjoy sunbathing or having breakfast in the quietness,on a lovely terrace at the top of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo della Marra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo della Marra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.