We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Scarpariello

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Villa Scarpariello
Save Saved
You added Villa Scarpariello to your Saves list
Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Ravello B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Scarpariello. The location and views can't be beat. The sea is litterally at your doorstep. It is in a muxh quieter location than Positano or Amafi, but is within easy access of restaurants if you are willing to stroll. The staff was great--really really friendly and accomodating. Dominic is a true gem...he and Paul both can offer super recommendations on things to do, places to see and eat. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are adaquate--ours was very large, with ample hot water, a fridge, all the basic ammenities. The bed was not the most comfortable, the linens ok, the furniture so-so--this is not a five star luxury hotel but that is reflected in the price. But we felt more than comfortable and honestly didnt spend that much time indoors. The grounds are lovely and you can choose to swim in the pool or the sea. The breakfast was basic but tasty. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. And to those complaining about all the stairs...its the Amalfi Coast. What did you expect?? You'll leave with a better tush than when you arrived.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    24
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
80
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I spent a few days here as part of our honeymoon. The main attraction being its location and stunning views, which did not disappoint in the least. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the breakfast terrace was quite lovely, always with stunning views. The breakfast itself was adequate, and the staff were very obliging to accommodate special requests. However, this is not a place for weak knees or other physical impairments. There are many steps - we counted 75 just to go to breakfast. The rooms were adequate, but rather shabby with mismatched décor. We enjoyed our stay here overall, but also felt that, notwithstanding the location, it was overpriced for what was offered.

Room Tip: sea view, of course, but with least amount of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Gorgeous views and a beautiful oasis of calm in the bustling area of the Amalfi Coast. Step inside the front gate and you are confronted with fig and lemon trees and old Italian statues. Our apartment was very clean and well equipped with a small balcony right over the sea. All staff were very friendly and helpful when needed but otherwise nicely unobtrusive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The tower, built in the 1500's, stands tall above the beautiful rooms and suites of the villa. Breath taking views of the sea and coast line. You are surrounded by ancient statues and pieces from the past. It is walking distant to the small village of Minori or a hike up the mountain to central town of Ravello. You have to see it and experience it to understand it. You will be following in the foot steps of kings, queens and presidents.

Room Tip: go there hungry, it is surrounded by some of the smallest villages for restaurants with fancy and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Wow what a great place to stay on the Amalfi Coast! It is small and perched right on the Med. It is not a hotel in the strictest sense. We love this place and would (will) stay here again. However because of its location and layout this hotel is not for everyone. Also some of the hotel's policies of "nickel and diming" guests made it a less than perfect stay. We stayed here for seven nights in late August.

Location---we loved the location. Others may not like the location. The Villa is situated half way between Atrani and Minori so it is "close" to a lot of great places to see, dine and drink. Atrani and Minori are about a 1 kilometer walk, but the road is narrow and heavily travelled. We are walkers and enjoyed the walk to the towns and most nights would the take a taxi back. Minori was our favorite town. If you aren't walkers you'll need a taxi which can be a bit pricey. Our first night night we met Maurizio "the taxi driver" in Minori. Maurizio gave us his card and helped us with our transportation needs for the entire week. He also has a Facebook page.

Layout---The hotel is on a the site of an old watchtower built on side if a steep mountain. As is the case all over the Amalfi Coast, you will encounter many many steps. For example it was the equivalent of six flights of stairs from our our apartment (Ambrogio) down to the pool/sea. You will be taking old uneven stairs no matter where you go in the hotel. There are no elevators here. We didn't mind it but this is not the place for folks with mobility issues.

Magnificent views abound. There are countless spaces to explore and find quiet places to enjoy the experiences. There is a pool area and a platform to dive into and take a swim in the mediterranean.

Overall the service by the hotel staff was great. We especially enjoyed Dominick who arranged for pizza and pasta delivery on two separate evenings.

We stayed in the Ambrogio apartment. It has great views and nice sitting areas. It is located in the uppermost part of the hotel. It is two rooms with a connecting bathroom. That is it. We enjoyed it and it met our needs, but there is no kitchen or microwave. We didnt need it, but it is not an "apartment" from a US point of view. It is a two bedroom hotel room. Also there is only one cleaning per week. The rooms were old and spacious. The furnishings were just fine. The bathroom was spacious. Be warned this isn't the Ritz Carlton and don't expect it. Its a hotel in Italy that is in buildings hundreds of years old. That's part of the charm of this place.

Detractors- Internet isn't great but was okay. For those of renting apartments for the week you will only get one room cleaning. Additionally while the daily breakfast is free for those in hotel rooms, those in the apartment rentals must pay 8 Euro for a breakfast that was not worth the price (a pastry and cup of coffee and OJ). What was most annoying is that extra towels are 3 euros each. I also wish they had food service and a small bar but worked around that with the help of Dominick. The hotel site is upfront about these issues on their website in their room descriptions so we knew coming here. But it's still annoying.

Even with the detractors this place is worth the stay. The views alone sell this place. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laval
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I first stayed at the sister property Villa San Michele in 2008 and wrote a great review. Naturally, when returning to Ravello, I called them and they were all booked but they suggested their sister property, Villa Scarpariello. After viewing pictures and reading reviews, we booked. Here is where the heart comes in...I unfortunately got sick and had to cancel our reservation not too long before our arrival date. When Emiliano answered the phone he told me that everything would be taken care of and not to worry, there was no charge. He then told me to take care of myself, get better and he would see me next year! In the depressed state I was in, this act of kindness and understanding made my day. I have stayed at the Villa San Michele and can only say wonderful things about it. I have never stayed at the Villa Scarpariello and can only say good things about it...go figure!!!! Thank you Emiliano!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a beautiful old norman castle that has the most incredible setting.
We were very well looked after by Dominique and Paulo.
It is great value for what is essentially a bed and breakfast hotel (with basic rooms) - but this suited us.
Ignore any complaints about the stairs, they carry all your luggage for you and the minimal exercise keeps the guests young and fit. It really is not an issue.
We loved the access to the sea and the feeling that the hotel was a private villa.
Would highly recommend this as a launch pad to experience the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Scarpariello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scarpariello

Address: Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ravello
Also Known As:
Villa Scarpariello Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Scarpariello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;