We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, with great views and friendly attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 to your Saves list
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Viale Gioacchino d'Anna, 5, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
UK
1 review
“Lovely hotel, with great views and friendly attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This is a lovely hotel. We have just returned from 5 nights at the Hotel Parsifal in late May 2009. Antonio, his family and staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay, especially as we have a 10 month old baby. They provided excellent insight to the area - places to go and see etc, and kept a very clean and well maintained hotel. The hotel is only a 100 yards from the very expensive Hotel Carruso and Pallazo Sasso, but with the same views at a quarter of the cost! There are two areas to the Hotel. The old covent wing, and the new modern rooms. We stayed in the older wing with a nice side garden, whilst our in laws stayed in the new rooms with a lovely balcony.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    85
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
83
252
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. We liked our room, very comfortable, very clean. Big bathroom with dryer and everything necessary. I am confused at other posts saying no dryer, bad towels. That was not our experience. The food in the restaurant was good and it was helpful not have to go out and find a restaurant. The breakfast was especially well-covered with fresh and dried fruit, sweet rolls, yogurt, cereal,cold cuts and cheese (this is for the Germans), etc. One of the best things is that they took care of the car. We parked out front and they took it and parked it in a garage. (They got it out when we needed it.) The charge for this service was VERY reasonable and we were glad.

Downsides, the lounge is not updated and the WiFi only works in the lobby. The TV only had Italian stations (but it was a nice tv). The lighting in the room was not great but I have never had an Italian hotel room with good lighting.

The family that owns the hotel could not have been nicer or more helpful. They speak English well. I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

We enjoyed a long weekend in Ravello and booked the hotel on the basis of other reviews on this site. The location and views are difficult to beat but the this family run business has too many flaws to justify its rating or price. The common parts are tired. Some of the family would not be employed by a commerical hotelier. The grander hotels currently offer deals that give better value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

This was a mixd bag. We entered through a beautiful garden with a fountain and abundant flowers beds overlooking a jaw-dropping view. Classical architectural pieces were embedded in the cloister entryway wall. The reception room was attractive. The staff was just charming, attentive, knowledgeable —probably the nicest people we met in our two-week trip. The food was delicious. I especially recall a succulent fish stew of miniature squid.

Our room had the most spectacular view—see the Parsifal website—it is even better than it looks online. But it was a most uncomfortable room. Terribly small and we kept barking our shins wherever we moved. Space only for one suitcase—we had three—and we didn’t want to unpack into the drawers and wardrobe. We had trouble using the TV and WiFi was only available in the entry reception area. The bath was so tight that you jabbed yourself with odd, protruding knobs when using the toilet. The shower curtain hung from something that looked like a failed high school science project. The towels were like sandpaper. There was no built in (or elsewhere stored) hairdryer, but you could borrow one from the front desk. Let’s hope you asked for that before you lathered up with your Motel 6 tear-off packets of shampoo.

The lounge was 1950 dormitory style with no couches—four skimpy chairs and lots of student desks. The dining room, despite the wonderful view and exquisite food, was no feast for the eyes—acoustic tile ceiling with bare light bulbs. Not a bargain at $245 half-board.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rudy00009
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

Very nice small hotel The room had a wonderful view Teh staff spoke excellent english and was very helpful We would stay here again and highly reccomend the hotel to anyone The location was very quiet and easy to get to

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Although both the hotel and rooms are perched high atop a bluff and afford great views of ravello and the sea below, the room itself was disappointing. The room was very cramped and spartan. The decor and even the flooring in the room were worn out. The bathroom was especially drab -- a dirty make-shift tarp-like shower curtain was fitted to the extremely small shower pan. Notwithstanding the fact that the shower was so small that it was hardly usable, when used large amounts of water would spill out all over the bathroom. The hotel restaurant offered the same wonderful views as the room and hotel courtyard; the food, though, was just adequate.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

We can not say enough good things about our stay at the Hotel Parisfal. The view from our room was outstanding. Moreover, the staff was friendly and went out of their way to give us advice about things to see and on in the area. We might not have taken the time to walk one of the Villas in town with the best panoramic vista of the coast and surrounding area. We arrived by car and the staff even volunteered to help parallel park our car in a typically small parking spot.

We ate a delicous dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed our breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna, 5, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#1 Family Hotel in Ravello
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Business Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.