We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Choice Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Viale Gioacchino d'Anna, 5, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Ravello
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Choice Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel Parsifal is a boutique hotel located a short walk from the center of the town of Ravello. The exterior is inconspicuous except for a splendid entry door with a view stretching over the Amalfi Coast, out into the Bay of Salerno, that attracts photographers.

The property is well-maintained and the atmosphere is authentically local. It presents an informal, cloistered, residential feeling made all the more comfortable and inviting by its proprietors, brothers Antonio, Luciano, and Leonardo.

Our room, #29, was a comfortable, generous space, tastefully furnished and decorated. It included a sitting area, bedroom and wonderful bathroom. The views are classic and sunrises are memorable. We enjoyed ample breakfasts and satisfying evening meals.

We are pleased to be able to confirm that our experience at Hotel Parsifal was at least as wonderful as the vast majority of those who preceded us indicated. When we return to Ravello, we will look no further for accommodations.

Room Tip: Room 29 offers classic views and a private terrace. It is situated above a highway. When the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    80
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
82
236
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The view from the hotel and from our room was just stunning, looking out from on high over the coast and the sea.The hotel itself is beautiful and was a former convent, and has comfortable outside sitting areas to enjoy the view and the sun. The room was reasonably spacious. The owner, who was behind the desk, was welcoming and helpful and seemed genuinely appreciative for our business. There was quite a bit of vehicle noise from the road below the hotel, so we had to close the windows and turn on the air conditioning to sleep, even though it was cool outside. The only other thing which kept our stay from being an excellent experience was that the breakfast was disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had stopped in Ravello about ten years ago when on a Med cruise. We said we wanted to come back and stay here. When I began planning a family trip to Italy (this was our third stop of our four region trip), Ravello was a must. In searching for hotels in this charming hilltop town, I chose Hotel Parsifal for one primary reason - the terrific compliments the owners of the hotel consistently receive in on-line reviews.

We travel Europe for business so we know that rooms can be small, amenities may not be up to what the hotel chains or really high end boutique hotels offer, but that's not why we came to Italy. We came to experience the people; the culture; the environment. Antonio and his brothers gave us the perfect place to stay. Great food, great company, satisfactory accommodations and a taste of Italy we love. We can't wait to return. We arrived as strangers and left as friends. Grazie!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The location is great and the staff is so friendly and helpful. However, the hotel needs a little care itself. The fridge, bidet, and heated towel bar did not work in our room, and the towels and robes felt like sandpaper.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed in remodeled room and it was really, really nice with a superior view. The setting was beautiful, the room was clean...and the tv channel selection for that rainy day was really nice. The brothers were very helpful. We would definitely stay here again. By the way, the steak I had there for dinner was so darn good. I would suggest spending 10,000€ to provide some better ambience in the indoor dining room...to include appropriate romantic music. Just a helpful suggestion.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had one night in this gorgeous little hotel. Ravello is so beautiful and staying in this old convent really made it. The service was great and the surroundings amazing.

There is a little bar at the back, which looks over the valley and was such a great end to our evening. They had book swap areas and it had an incredibly friendly feel without losing any professionalism or invading privacy. They managed to get the balance perfectly.

The man on reception when we arrived was lovely and told us where he felt we should go while we were in Ravello and he was right. The staff here made our stay really.

Breakfast was great, fresh and plentiful with loads of choice. It was possibly the best breakfast I had all holiday.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but I think we made a mistake there. I just wish we had booked for longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My stellar opinion of The Parsifal was re-confirmed, once again, on a recent third visit in as many years. Obviously, you don't come back to a hotel, over and over, unless there is something special about it. This place has that magic. There are hundreds of glowing reviews written here (my two previous among them) so I think it might be a good time to get closer to the nuts-and-bolts of what keeps people coming back. (Tip: Book early. They enjoy 97% occupancy during the high season.) First and foremost, there's Antonio. One of my fellow guests, who has returned here a dozen times, suggested that there should be a statue of him in the beautiful courtyard of this former convent built in 1288. San Antonio has to be the best host in Ravello. He was born to do this job and he sets the high standard to be found in a multitude of hospitality touches. This family hotel offer you authentic local atmosphere, incredibly attentive service, magnificent views, and one of the best restaurants in Ravello. Just imagine that the chef has a Michelin Star and enjoy all the dough you're saving in the dining room. The flavor is just as good This may be a 3-Star hotel but the view from your window or balcony is the same as the three 5-Star establishments just down the road. Yes, you'll be getting tile and fieldstone surroundings, instead of marble, and your towels will be less fluffy, but I'll trade that for a staff of real people instead of polished, uniformed puppets. The service here is always as good or better than the posh venues and the pricing is incredible. The Parsifal is simply the best $$$ deal in town. The 5-Stars up the street will cost you at least 5x as much per night! In the four years I've been following The Parsifal, they've never slipped lower than 4th out of the 20 to 22 hotels in this town. Two of those are always the world classers, The Caruso (by Orient Express), and The Avino (formerly, The Sasso, which started out life with the Virgin Group), the third isn't even in Ravello proper and they solicit TA reviews for consideration (something Antonio could never conscience). I'll close by telling you that on one memorable morn in June, 2012, The Parsifal finally awoke to find itself Trip Advisor's #1 Hotel in Ravello. When a 3-Star establishment can blow past a couple of the best 5-Star resort hotels in Europe, you know you're staying at the right place, even if you are saving a small fortune.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna, 5, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ravello
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.