We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ristorante Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Ristorante Garden
Via Boccaccio, 4 | 84010, Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Value choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a walking holiday. This is a basic hotel, offering excellent value in a superb location. Built on the side of a cliff, I had an amazing view from my balcony. Room was small and with simple furnishings, but clean and tidy. You would stay here because it's economical, friendly and family run.

The food in the restaurant is good Italian cooking. As this is primarily a restaurant (with rooms) the restaurant was busy every evening, but excellent service nonetheless. Good buffet breakfast. The bar and restaurant all have the most amazing views of the Amalfi coastline.

Location is perfect for touring Ravello. Plus it's located right at the only bus stop in town, so it's easy to pop into Amalfi (€1 for the bus).

  • Liked — View and location
  • Disliked — It's basic
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    32
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
75
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

This hotel is perfectly located on a cliff edge with the most amazing view you could imagine of the coast. It has a lovely outdoor wooden bar with tables and chairs to take in the view. The restaurant was wonderful and the view certainly helps.
The rooms are average, with private balconies looking at the coastline.... and it was extremely reasonable priced to stay here for five nights.
The hotel is walking distance to the square where the main shops and restaurants are based.
***Positives: Clean room, views, location, friendly staff
***Negatives: majority of rooms are just under the main reception and restaurant, hence from early in the morning the noise is bad. You can hear metal chairs and tables being moved on the tiled floor above. We had to buy ear plugs because of this.

It is worth a visit for a clean room with a view, reasonably priced with friendly staff.

  • Liked — views, location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — noise in bedrooms from reception/restaurant overhead
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Albergo Ristorante Garden for three nights in July. Ana was fantastic. The view from our balcony was simply breathtaking. Also, the location of this "hotel," if you are visiting Ravello, cannot be beat. It is steps away from the heart of this delightful and indescribably charming village, including Cumpa Cosimo restaurant, which canNOT be missed if visiting the area. So that was spectacular. The staff is friendly (when they are around): we even sat and watched one of the final matches of the soccer world cup with them, and the restaurant serves delicious food. The ravioli in lemon sauce, spectacular, as was a filet of beef with arugula dish.

Now, this is a restaurant that happens to rent out a few rooms during the summer months. It is really, absolutely, not a hotel in any true sense, and potential guests should know this. The towels are just slightly larger cloth dish towels, which I had not seen in Europe in years. The room and bathroom were definitely on the musty side. Breakfast was the smallest we saw in all of the five medium-priced hotels we stayed in in Italy on this particular trip. And as a fellow reviewer said, the coffee was very sad, and it was the only poor-tasting coffee I had in all of Italy. Also, the staff is very rarely present/available for guest needs. They really are running a restaurant in the evenings, period, and tend to forget that there is a "hotel" component to their business. So that was disappointing.

Ravello is a breathtaking town, and the location of this "hotel," again, would be very difficult to beat. So for the money, it was alright and we didn't have many bones to pick during our actual stay. However, we were certainly not impressed either. They mean well, but are just not actively invested in making this a worthwhile hotel.

Also, please do not rely on the Sita bus system for moving around the Amalfi coast (Amalfi, Sorrento, etc.); it was totally unreliable and a significant problem when planning day trips from Ravello. Perhaps day trips from Ravello was a mistake in our planning ... only go to Ravello if you intend to spend your time there, THERE, and it is certainly worth it! :) Just a warning re: Sita buses. Happy travels ... !

  • Liked — Location, view
  • Disliked — Overall lack of cleanliness and non-attentive staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Just do research before going!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Garden at the end of June this year and thought it was great. The location is just moments away from the centre of town and with the most FANTASTIC views! The staff were very friendly especially Anna who replied to our emails. We specifically asked for a good room when we wrote to the hotel making our reservation and requested a balcony so we were not disappointed. The little balcony had a table and 2 chairs and the most breathtaking view - worth 5*! The room itself had air con (essential as it was very hot and humid), a separate hallway and spacious bathroom.

My only comment was that the furniture in the bedroom was fairly basic and tired looking but not an issue given the excellent value for money and the bed was very comfortable. Also the buffet breakfast was fairly basic but sufficient - not the sumptuous affair you get in some hotels. It was more than we got with some other hotels on the Amalfi so maybe its just typical of the area.

The highlight of the hotel was the restaurant where we had the most fantastic lunch. The quality and presentation of the food was memorable with dishes such as ravioli filled with prawns in a rich lemon sauce - delicious! We would definitely stay there again if we were to return to Ravello and would recommend it for friends and family if they are looking for simple but quality accomodation in the heart of Ravello.

  • Liked — Fantastic views and restaurant
  • Disliked — Slightly tired furniture
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a good room with a balcony
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

We held our Wedding Reception at The Hotel Ristorante Garden at the begining of September and we couldn't have picked a better venue. Right from the start they were helpful and friendly and did exactly what we requested. The food at the reception was some of the best food we have ever had and the service was fantastic. They made our Wedding Reception so special and I would recommend anyone to stay here or hold their reception here or even just have a meal here!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

Beware : this is not a place for people who expect perfect romantic experience. (which is what Ravello is for, right?) It is an ok but expensive place for backpackers who are tired of sleeping in a tent, and who don't care if the hotel is actually dirtier than their own tent, as long as the view from the patio is fantastic, as is from the room (though it seems it ain't always the case, according to another review. Plus, the view is the same from the road...)

If you don't care for dirty carpets who have never seen a vacuum cleaner, for floors that show hairy traces of former people in the room, for dead leaves covering the patio all day long, for smelly and abandoned bushes from your personal balcony, then go ahead!
The hotel taker is friendly, but just does not share the cleanliness criteria that regular tourists have when they pay 110 EUR a night. Even after asking to reclean the room when entering it, years-old dust kept lying under the bed. (Jackie-O's, maybe?)

The breakfast "croissants" or "cornettos" are to be avoided, (not fresh is way too polite) as is the coffee, which is unbelievable in Italy. For that price, and without a pool, it is really not the best value around.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2006

I was very pleased to find such a simple and wonderfull hotel at the same time. Walk out of the hotel for ice cream at the piazza with the merry go round and the church was beautifull. The staff very friendly ( thank you cristina), the restaurant with great food and wine ( thank for the wine list! ) It seems like a entire family is working there. You can see the stage for the Ravelo Festival from the terrace and it is so near that in 3 minutes you are sitting to listen to great music.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ristorante Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Garden

Address: Via Boccaccio, 4 | 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Garden Hotel
Ristorante Garden Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ristorante Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.