We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the reviews!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ristorante Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Ristorante Garden
Via Boccaccio, 4 | 84010, Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Better than the reviews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Sensational location and views. Under Anna's management the place is immaculate. The restaurant is a bit run of the mill but adequate. In Ravello this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    35
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
80
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

The hotel is in a great location It's a mum/pop motel in my opinion. All the rooms are the same - no upgrades available. The staff was ok and nice. However, I did not enjoy sharing my room with little bugs and ants. I can accept the fact the tv has no english channels, less than desirable ac unit and a unclean balcony. But, a CLEAN room with no bugs is a must for me.

I did dine at the restaurant for dinner and thought it was very good.

I checked out the next day and moved down to Hotel Graal the next day in a superior room - awesome but it did cost more :) I will thank the staff for letting me get out of the reservation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The hotel has about 10 rooms and these rooms are directly under the restaurant. The floor of restaurant is tile. When someone moves their chair, it makes the squiky noise and you can hear it in your room. I believe you can hear the noises from rooms #1 to 7 during breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We also had trouble with the safety box. We couldnt figure out how to use it by using the pin number so we had to ask her for the key which she was ok with it.

The AC system has no remote. It will only blow in the default direction. You cant rotate it.

One more thing the TV is about 13 inches with no english channel.

The location of the hotel was great. We took the bus from amalfi and it stops infront of the hotel (right before the tunnel). The bus ride was $2euro per person and takes about 30mins.

Dinner was good. The potatoes (kinda like seasoned potatoe wedges) was a side that came with my dishes. There wasnt much selection for breakfast. And the service for breakfast was horrible. The guy didnt even come to ask if we wanted coffee.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york state
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

The first thing that delighted us was that the bus to Ravello stops right at the entrance to the hotel. Really nice when you have bags and are tired. You walk down some steps by the restaurant that has rooms inside and out overlooking the wonderful Amalfi coast.
I think they have about 10 rooms, all with spectacular views of the coast. the rooms are very clean and comfortable. And reasonable considering each room has its own balcony that you can sit down at with a small table. The first morning we woke up to sun shining on our bed and a view of the coast right from the bed.
We have no idea of what some other people saw that made them think their room wasn't all that great. We had a choice of rooms and all were very nice. The bathroom had a great shower- you don't always get this in Italy- and robes and big, nice towels.
The people runnning the family hotel are very nice and helpful. They prepare items for breakfast that are very good. It is not an American breakfast- we don't look for that in Italy- but the breads and croissants are excellent. They will make toast with the bread you choose and they make excellent cappuccino or American coffee.
The staff, day or night, really care about your comfort. We needed something one night and the person on duty was at our door in minutes. And Anna was the perfect person to run a hotel. She is warm, smart and very helpful.
This hotel has everything going for it as far as we can see. We look forward to staying there again in the summer.
Ravello is small. So it is a nice short walk to get to the main part of the town. We stayed at this hotel for five days so we were really hoping it would be good. It surpassed all our expectations. We had had some concerns due to some reveiws. But we saw not the slightest evidence of whatever a few others saw.
One other thing- it rained at times and it didn't bother us at all because we simply got some fine food and wine and were very happy to sit on our balcony viewing the beautiful coast.
Highly recommeded from our experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

I have never before written a review on-line but I was so appalled at how my family and I were treated by the staff of the Garden hotel restaurant that I felt compelled to write this. I can forgive the numerous mistakes such as forgetting the wine, getting the starter wrong, serving my sister a cooked, but cold steak (twice, again after she had asked for it to be hot!) but to see the waiter storm off and in complete view usher expletives about us to his fellow staff members was shocking and very uncomfortable. He did not once attend to our table again that evening which was fine considering we did not have much of an apetite for desert after that. However, we very surprised to see a 15% service charge on the bill at the end of the night. When my sister approached the Manager to query the validity of this charge she was told in quite a nasty tone that she has too many problems and was making mistakes with her courses all night!!. How my sister could choose to get the wrong starter she asked for and sit patiently as we devoured our main courses while she waited (twice) for her cold steak to arrive, is beyond me. After paying the bill (including the service charge) we felt not only taken for granted but humiliated. The waiter cheerily grinned at us and the Manager then walked off in mid-conversation. People make mistakes, and they can correct them and that's perfectly fine, but as paying customers trying to enjoy the last evening of our holiday together, it is completely unprofessional to be treated in such a rude and disrespectful manner.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

We held our wedding reception at the Hotel Garden on 27th September 08, organised by Alessandra from the Book of Dreams.

We cannot say enough good things about the Hotel Garden. The staff were so friendly and professional and put us at ease the minute we met them.

The views from the Hotel are spectacular and provided a lovely back drop for some of our photos.

We had a small number at our wedding reception and the staff at the Hotel ensured that it was private and intimate. I had brought my own candles and jewels etc for the table, and i was really pleased at how nice it had been decorated and how beautiful the fresh flowers on table were, (these were provided at no extra cost).

We started out with canapes which were beautiful followed by a five course meal, and the food was outstanding. The wedding cake provided by the hotel was also to die for.

I would highly recommend the Hotel Garden in a heart beat and hope to return next year for some beautiful food and wine, for our wedding anniversary.

  • Liked — The food and the views
  • Disliked — I did not dislike anything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Very pleasant and helpful staff. Cozy, clean room, with fantastic view. Room is a bit small but large glass doors out to balcony gives impression of space. Some noise from dining area overhead, but not late. The only sound you might hear in the night is the bell from a small chapel down the hill ! Nice breakfast (fruits, homemade cakes, great coffee) with a smile and breathtaking views out to the sea and the coast. Very easy access - this is a plus in Ravello. Convenient bus to Amalfi (we hate buses but this was perfect). Take a boat from Amalfi port to secluded beach for lunch - look for small sign along port with phone number. We also enjoyed the hike down the steps and alleys to the beach of Minori - need to be fit.

The ristorante at the Garden is absolutely fantastic - make sure you reserve.

Given choice of hotels in this area, this is a great value - we have spent four weeks in the region in the last four years so we've had our mix of experiences.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ristorante Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Garden

Address: Via Boccaccio, 4 | 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Garden Hotel
Ristorante Garden Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ristorante Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.