We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in Ravello - Great views, hospitality and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ristorante Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Ristorante Garden
Via Boccaccio, 4 | 84010, Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Long Valley, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing hotel in Ravello - Great views, hospitality and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our stay in Ravello and at Hotel Garden can only be described as amazing. The hotel has beautiful views, is in the best location with easy access to everything. The room had a small balcony with the most incredible view that you wake up to every morning. The rooms are spotless and well cared for by the staff. The restaurants are frequented by locals and tourists alike and many come to take advantage of the incredible views for picture taking. The food is fresh and representative of the region. Most important, this is a well-priced family run hotel. The staff treats its guests like family. Patrizia and Anna assisted us with many arrangements and excursions. My husband and I plan to return to Ravello and we look forward to staying at Hotel Garden again and again. I ordered flowers for Patrizia and Anna to thank them for all of their kindnesses, that is how warm and lovely they were to us as first time visitors to their hotel. A beautiful experience and great place to stay. Exceptional value, vistas, hospitality and service. Bravo!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    34
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
78
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, North Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed at the Garden during mid June 2013 as we were in Ravello for a Friends Wedding.

We flew into Naples and booked an airport transfer via the hotel from Naples to Ravello. When we initially inquired about this, we were shocked at the price of €100 one way. However upon doing some research, we found this was the normal, as the drive from Naples to Ravello is a little “twisty & turny” to say the least! The transfer was perfect, the driver greeted us in the arrivals hall with a sign and had a short walk to the car park. The car was immaculate and the journey was fun and we all had a sing song to the music, Frank Sinatra etc. I think the driver thought we were a little mad, but he even joined in! :)

We arrived at the Garden and were given a lovely welcome. Our room wasn’t ready, but they kindly re-jigged things for us to ensure we were able to check in straight away. We were taken to our room and shown the view – it is truly beautiful, the photographs don’t do it justice.

The room was basic, but comfortable and has everything you need. Nice large wardrobe, but could may be do with a few extra drawers. Bathrooms were fairly large with a lovely big and powerful shower.

The hotel is a two min walk into the main square of Ravello with numerous cafes and restaurants , it’s a lovely area to sit outside in the sunshine with a drink and people watch!

The breakfast at the hotel was lovely, a nice selection of breads, pastry’s and even some cakes! As well as meat, egg, cheese and also lots of fresh fruit. Plus you get to eat it overlooking the Amalfi Coast!

Aside from the wedding we had time to explore, so my husband suggested we walk down to Amalfi, we knew it was a fair trek, but we thought as it was down hill, we’d give it go. Took us about 1hrs 30mins to climb all the way down and I have to say sundress and flop flips were prob not the best clothes / footware choice – but hey ho, we did it. Some of the steps were huge (I felt like a Hobbit!) and some were really unstable, so we had to watch where we were stepping. I really don’t like lizards and they were EVERYWHERE on the trek down, so I thought I was really brave!

We opted not to walk back!!!!!!!!! We got the bus, which was cheap and ran frequently, took around 30mins from Amalfi to Ravello.

After the walk my legs were hurting SO much. Every time I walked down some steps, I hesitated and kept “ouching” – in fact it was so obvious who had done “the walk” as everyone was in the same pain. It was funny, looking at people in the same boat and saying “walked to Amalfi too did you” Laughing now, but honestly I was really was in pain and in need of a sports massage on my calves :)

Amalfi itself is just lovely, we explored a lot of the sea front and visited various beaches (and bars!). We had lunch in a lovely little square, just basic spaghetti and pizza, it was sooooo cheap and sooooo yummy! We also ate at a slightly more up market restaurant on the sea front, a little more expensive, but the view alone was worth it.

The Rehearsal Dinner for the wedding actually took place in The Garden hotel. The restaurant is Vegetarian and Vegan, and I have to say the food was delicious. The service was fab and really quick. Would highly recommend to eat here at least once.

There is also a roof terrace bar, again with the view as a perfect back drop. The bar staff were always lovely and helpful and always on hand to top up the nibbles (just don’t leave them unattended or the birds will help themselves)

The Wedding took place in Villa Cimbrone, which is about a 30mins climb up yet more steps from the main square in Ravello. The grounds of the villa are STUNNING! We didn’t have to pay as wedding guests, but it is well worth the entry cost and climb up! Make sure you take a camera. Not to be missed photo opportunities. The food at the wedding was to die for, truly amazing, as was the service. So if you want a posh meal and or are in Ravello for special occasion, treat yourselves, you won’t be disappointed.

I have a feeling we’ll be back at The Garden as some point…. :)

Room Tip: Car parking is a nightmare in Ravello. Taxis & Buses will take you anywhere you need to go and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Anna, Patrizia and Marco, thank you very much for another wonderful stay in your hotel. This is my third time (5th for my husband) staying in the Garden hotel. We discovered this gem 10 years ago, coming for a conference. Since then this is our hotel when in Ravello. The rooms are bigger than many standard rooms in 5 star hotels and very clean. The air conditioner is working very well (in Napoli we had problems with the AC in a 4 star hotel). The rooms have adequately large
private bathrooms and have been renovated recently. And the most important for me is the amazing view of Amalfi coast. All rooms have private balconies and direct view over the spectacular Amalfi Coast. The hotel is centrally located, next to the Villa Rufolo, (we were able even to see the suspended stage built for the Ravello Festival and hear some music). The addition of an elevator is a big improvement, and the owners are building a swimming pool, which will be open soon. The food is very good, including a full buffet breakfast. We ate lunch and dinner several times too. The staff is very polite and helpful. My husband and I highly recommend this hotel when visiting the beautiful Ravello.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thank you Patrizia for two lovely visits this year to your hotel. The setting is fabulous, the rooms are impeccable, but it is the you the owners, and the other people who work here that make this such a warm, inviting place to stay. We appreciated the leisurely breakfasts and dinners with a drop dead view of Mediterranean! The pictures of you and John and Caroline and Jackie Kennedy are priceless! We loved the stories and the news articles you had hanging in the reception area. We very much hope to return next year to your charming hotel and Ravello.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are looking for a small, friendly, clean hotel in an ideal location with stunning views overlooking the Amalfi coast then look no further, this is it!!!

The Garden hotel is a well run family hotel that clearly prides itself on offering a good personal service and you are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The staff are all polite & very helpful in dealing with any requests whether it be directions around Ravello and surrounding areas or just asking for extra cappuccinos at the excellent buffet breakfast.

The hotel has a roof terrace snack bar and a restaurant where you can dine inside or out weather permitting. The owner also informed us that it will be adding a swimming pool later this summer which will further complement the excellent facilities already in place. The rooms are clean & spacious with tv, fridge, air-con, tea making facilities, hair dryer, constant hot water & even an ironing board!

Although the weather could have been better I would like to thank the owners for making our 4-day stay such a comfortable & pleasant experience. My wife and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anybody visiting Ravello.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

First of all, this is a hotel, not a B&B! For a year I searched thru opinions and satellite photos trying to get the perfect hotel in Ravello that would not break my bank account and would give me the fantastic panorama the city offers from my own room….and I founded here!
We liked that our rooms were clean, the beds and pillows were very good and comfortable and the view from our terrace was mesmerizing. By day, all we could hear from our rooms were the birds and the church bells, at night the view was also spectacular of the illuminated town down below, the clear-million stars sky and soft air coming from the sea….just heaven! I have only but good words on the service. Anna, one of the hotel hostess was very attentive and pleasant.
Also, the restaurant in the hotel offers incredible delightful dishes that leaves you wanting more, all served at a table on the edge of the mountain. (if you are afraid of heights, don't come here)
The breakfast buffet was well served & kept. All in all, on our next Ravello vacation, we'll be here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea and the town of Minori
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our party of 4 stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013. The owners couldn't be nicer and more accommodating. The rooms aren't huge, but decent sized for a European B&B. The restaurant is nice, but a little pricey compared to other options in Ravello. Everything was very clean, and our room was cleaned daily. The location and views cannot be beat. There was a bit of construction going on during our stay which interrupted sleep in the morning. All in all, it was a great vacation.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ristorante Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Garden

Address: Via Boccaccio, 4 | 84010, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Garden Hotel
Ristorante Garden Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ristorante Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.