We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extraordinary quality and design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ceramiche "by Pascal" Shop

Ceramiche "by Pascal" Shop
Via San Giovanni del Toro 27/29, 84010 Ravello, Italy
0898586242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Shopping in Ravello
Type: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the best Italian ceramics, made and painted by hand, tableware, plates, jars, ceramic fountains, lava stone tables, realized by great artisans. We ship our artistic ceramics all over the world, enter and discover our large selection.For more than 30 years, our experience in designing and crafting ceramic art has brought us accolades from numerous Italian and foreign clientele. Many famous people such as Jessica Biel, Jessica Parker, Oprah Winfrey, Julia Roberts, Richie Sambora, Denise Richards, Bruce Springsteen, Giscard d’Estaing, Gore Vidal and Johnny Carinos, to name a few, have purchased our beautiful ceramic artwork. Favourable media reviews first appeared in April 2004 in the prestigious magazine “Town and Country” and later in other publications such as Travel & Leisure, Let’s Go Italy, Fodor’s, Orient Express Magazine, Michelin Guide and Vanity Fair...The Earth, the Water, the Fire and, above all, the Human Hand, are the four simple elements that characterize this ancient art. The shaping of the pieces are made with techniques of “tornio” by the expert hands of the “foggiatore” who, with a handful of clay, magically create the ceramic artwork. Owner and artist, Pasquale Sorrentino, designs unique pieces for our exclusive line “by Pascal” .Every product in our catalogue is a 100% handmade piece of exceptional art personalized for each of our clients. We often work directly with our clients to create customized ceramic pieces exclusively for them or to add to their existing collection.For many years we have been shipping our ceramics all over the world using DHL, UPS, Mail Boxes and FEDEX... Our goal has always been the creation and distribution of artwork inspired by the great Italian tradition of ceramics, and particularly the beauty and uniqueness of the Amalfi Coast, offering outstanding products and services to our clients, and providing a lifetime of memories.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“extraordinary quality and design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have had many different Deruta mugs from different factories over the years and each chipped in a relatively short time. On a trip a couple years ago, we stopped at Pascal Ceramiche d'Arte Ravello and eventually ordered eight mugs by email after returning to the US. We had particular colors in mind and also wanted something a bit less fussy that the traditional designs. With help from Madalina, the manager, and Pascal's talents as a designer, the mugs were exactly what we wanted (designs and comments were traded via pictures and samples sent by email). I didn't want to review the work immediately because I was anxious to see if the glaze held up to hard daily use. After more than a year and a half (since October 2011), no chipping and we still love the beauty and clean lines of Pacal's design. Definitely a must if you are in the Ravello area (not a bad place to spend time) and want to see the best of the ceramic stores (there are a lot of them), but if you can't get there, you should have no fear ordering from them using the internet and being in touch with them directly about what you want.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    2
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The most beautiful designs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I have bought 2 sets of dishes here. One this year and another 3 yrs ago. Pasquale works with you to get the design you want and his patterns and colors are the best. He is very honest and prices are fair and I have found not everyone is. His stuff ships in a few months because its all hand painted and he will make new pieces for you to add to a set. Come and see his beautiful things.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have visited this shop on many occasions and have bought my most beautiful ceramics from Pascal and Madalina. There are many gorgeous ceramics to choose from on the Amalfi coast, but Pascal's are the best by far. His patterns and the quality of his work are superior to the others. His pricing is reasonable and stays consistent, where at some other shops in Ravello the prices change all the time, depending who you speak with and what you may look like you can afford. Pascal made a custom sized table for me 2 years ago and it was delivered on time and in perfect condition, and it defines the room! I am so happy with all I have bought from Pascal. I returned this year to buy place settings. I will be buying from them for years to come. All the staff and family are easy to talk to and very accommodating. When I returned this year it was like seeing family again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A piece of Ravello”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were married in Ravello almost two years ago in an amazing intimate ceremony. Part of our connection with Ravello came from interaction with Madalina and Pascal. The are ceramic shops around but none of them have these two people we now call friend. We had purchased fountains and urns to bring a part of Ravello home with us. Madalina wrote about 3 months after the purchase and said one piece had broken and it would be a bit longer. A couple months later we received our items in perfect condition. We noticed something else in the packaging, cookies!! Who sends cookies with a shipment of ceramics? They did!! They are not just great merchants selling a great product, they are amazing people who care and are the epitome of what you hope to find in the charming little town. We have since been back and bought pieces hoping eventually to create a whole new dining experience a few pieces at a time. I recommend the shop and them to anyone looking for the highest quality artful designs anywhere in Italy!!

John and Jennifer from Indianapolis

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superior ceramics made and sold by honest shopkeeper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stumbled upon Pascal's inviting shop at the end of the charming alley and immediately felt that our quest for the perfect ceramic souvenirs had ended. The shop is full of beautiful patterns and Pascal will easily accommodate personal requests.We were so captivated with the colorful designs and quality of the ceramics that we splurged on place settings for 12. Pascal speaks English fluently and conducting our business was easy and pleasant. Our order arrived on time, as promised and in perfect condition. Whether your order is small or large, this shopkeeper treats all visitors with the utmost hospitality.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ceramiche "by Pascal" Shop also viewed

 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ceramiche "by Pascal" Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceramiche "by Pascal" Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.