We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ceramiche Cosmolena di Margherita Di palma

Ceramiche Cosmolena di Margherita Di palma
Via della Marra 15/19, 84010 Ravello, Italy
089-857438
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Shopping in Ravello
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ceramiche Cosmollena di margherita Di PalmaLargest and best selection of hand painted ceramiche craft in Ravello Italy. Come and see the Largest selection and the best prices. We offer fast, safe shipping. Your ceramiche will be home before you!
Sulzbach, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been to Ravello 4 times and every time we go to Cosmolena, we have a complete dinner service which we bought from Margherita. The Quality is superb and we would recommend them to go and have a look, you will be amazed. She is also a very good sales woman....but fun.
Its also worth visiting next door as well because Margheritas brother Salvatore owns the restaurant and the food is also superb.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    5
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“The best source for majolica on the Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Margherita di Palma oversees one of the very best ceramics manufactures and shops on the entire Amalfi Coast, and I feel I must have been in them all. Forget the ones in Vietri sul Mare, which is supposedly celebrated for same but is chock full of the cheap and the ugly. Margherita's three shops in Ravello and one or two competitors in Positano have edited down the endless amount of stuff to what is truly worthwhile to browse and buy.

My partner and I first bought a set of her Mix-and-Match Ravello ware in 1993. (Can we help it if Rachel Ray and Oprah Winfrey had the good taste to imitate us subsequently?) We use it constantly; in and out of the dishwasher for nearly a decade without a single chip or problem of any kind. It is as sturdy as it is beautiful. On a recent return to Ravello we were delighted to find Margherita not only still there but in charge of an expanded enterprise and a restaurant. She assisted us in buying more pieces, all of which arrived safely and promptly as promised. I'm surprised to read of breakage issues in other reviews because the packing is truly extraordinary.

Margherita continues a tradition that has been in her family a long time and in which they take extraordinary pride. You cannot do better if you are in the market for ceramics than to patronize Ceramiche Cosmolena.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to purchase ceramics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

When we first visited Ravello, we ordered a complete set of dinnerware from Margherita, and actually designed some of the pieces ourselves, including some decorative pots which they manufactured and sent to us in perfect condition. Now, a few years later, we need to add a number of pieces to our original set and purchase some new things in a matching pattern. We contacted them by email, sent photos back and forth, and they made us all new pieces, hand painted like the originals, and sent them to us, again in perfect condition. They respond to requests and emails quickly, the shipping only took two days from Italy to Illinois, and we couldn't be happier with the products and the service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Amazing pieces!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My friends were looking for ceramics to purchase as souvenirs and we stumbled on this place. I loved their stuff so much I bought 2 things! There's absolutely stunning, ornately intricate and a bargain compared to many other area shops. This family run business is a true gem and I look forward to returning and buying more pieces for my future home!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Iron tile top table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

On our recent trip to Ravello we ventured into Ceramiche Cosmolena di Margherita where we were sourounded by some gorgeous pieces of ceramica.
We purchased two wrought iron side tables with two sets of Ravello view tiles. We had them shipped to england and the whole process we seamless. Really pleased with the items we purchased and the service of the employees who worked there who were extremeley polite.

Would recomemend a visit...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ceramiche Cosmolena di Margherita Di palma also viewed

 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ceramiche Cosmolena di Margherita Di palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceramiche Cosmolena di Margherita Di palma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.