We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel with Gorgeous View!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Da Salvatore

Hotel Da Salvatore
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Da Salvatore to your Saves list
Hotel Da Salvatore
Via della Repubblica 2u, Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel with Gorgeous View!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Small Hotel/restaurent vith 6 rooms on a budget side. I was transfert here as Pallazzo della Marra overbook his place...

Price: In peak season, we pay 90 euros for 1 nignt with very very basic breakfast.
Location: right in the town (Athough Ravello is very small town)
Room: basic with confortable bed (firm), all the room have a small terrasse and sea view ( worth a million with the view of the "golfo di Salerno" and the little town near by, Minori)
Bathroom: shower only, clean
AC: working OK

I would go back again if I'm on tight budget...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Da Salvatore for 6 nights in late July/early August 2009 and had an amazing time. We were in Ravello for a wedding which the couple getting married had planned to coinside with the festival honouring the patron saint of Ravello (26-29th July) so there was a super buzz about the place. The view from the Da Salvatore was second to none in Ravello... absolutely breathtaking. The night before the wedding the couple held a "Pizza & Pasta Party" at the restaurant at Da Salvatore and this too was fantastic, the best Pizza I had during my entire stay in Italy
The location of the Da Salvatore is excellent just outside the main tunnel which you walk through to get onto the main square which is less than a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

For the price this is great value. The rooms are well furnished and the view from your balcony like other reviewers have mentioned is mind blowing. However, the noise from the restaurant above and the other rooms was just too much for it to be relaxing. Our ac went off one night (we had kept the balcony door closed because of the noise) and there was nothing that could be done about it as the 6 rooms they had were full and the person who could repair it could only be called the next day. All in all it was this place was just ok, we would definitely spend extra and stay elsewhere to avoid the noise factor.

Ravello , the town itself is gorgeous and a not to be missed. If you are not on a budget stay somewhere else and eat at the restaurant to get the great views. If you are on a budget get ear plugs along.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We were a little scared of staying at this hotel and in Ravello. This was our first time in a B&B and we thought Ravello was a little "out of the way". As soon as we got there all our fears dissapeared.

The hotel, is nice, small (6 rooms only), very clean, comfortable, great bathrooms, very good location and the view....WOW. Just amazing! We woke up really early every day just to see the sunrise.

We also had lunch one day there and the food is really good. Breakfast is very basic, but they make a really good Capuccino!

This is a great value for the money. And by the way Ravello....AMAZING, we can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — View and Location
  • Disliked — No Internet available for Guests.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

Arriving in Ravello after a difficult journey late and tired we fell into our room at the Tratore without appreciating the location, the facilities or the large bathroom. We appreciated the large comfortable bed and crisp sheets.

The next morning we had breakfast with a view over the sea that is breathtaking. Coffee was perfect and the fresh pastries a delight, but the view surpassed everything. (Even the loquacious mynah bird)

However the real treat was the food in the restaurant, exquisite and beautifully presented. Local produce including local wine complemented by great service whilst watching the lights below us come on as the sky darkened.

It was very hard to leave such an idyllic spot. For travellers it is right by the bus stop from Amalfi from where you can catch the ferry to Naples.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Leaving it!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

I was in Ravello for two nights for a friend's wedding and stayed in this hotel, which was just off the main town square. The rooms were hidden below a restaurant along a dark corridor. They were clean, basic, and large, with fabulous and unique tiled floor. The private balcony had a great view of the coast and some of the villages below. During the day I could hear bell chimes from the church down the cliff. Very charming. Perhaps I woke up too early, no one seemed to be serving or having breakfast although the food was there. The choices were limited but the yoghurt was great! Best of all, all the other guests were paying at least twice as much elsewhere in town for less convenient places. This is easily one of the best values in Ravello.

  • Liked — Location, view, room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2004

Just spent several nights here (May 04) and was very pleased. Good-sized rooms have been renovated, so they're modern and comfy. Modern bathroom and fridge in room. Private balconies with table and chairs offer incredible views of the bay. Great location in wonderful city. Well worth several days' visit. The 6 rooms are below the restaurant, which is the main attraction. Doubles were 90 euros, and one person staying as a single in the same room was 75 euros. You may get a discount for paying cash, too (check). Accommodating inn-keeper, Pino Calce. Restaurant is good, too. Say hello to the mynah bird, Benito!

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Da Salvatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Da Salvatore

Address: Via della Repubblica 2u, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Da Salvatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Salvatore Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Da Salvatore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.