We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location with breathtaking views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Da Salvatore

Save Saved
You added Hotel Da Salvatore to your Saves list
Hotel Da Salvatore
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Da Salvatore
Via della Repubblica 2u, Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb location with breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed her in september 2011 for a wedding , absolutely fab with a magnificent view, staff not that friendly but we didnt mind would definitely recommend this hotel . Restaurant really delicious !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed here because we were attending a friends wedding.
The hotel staff weren't very welcoming or friendly, but we hardly ever saw them which was fine.
The hotel only has 6 rooms, they're very clean, a good size and a nice balcony. The view is stunning, and the location is great, only a short 3min walk to the main square. It had a couple of good size wardrobes and a mini fridge! Only thing was the towels they provide are rough! But we took our own anyway.
It's very expensive in Ravello (10euro for an amaretto and coke!) so I brought miniatures with me and just bought cokes!! Some lovely restaurants and the bars in the square are brilliant.
Overall, we really enjoyed our time in Ravello and this was a lovely hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddenham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Everybody will say how beautiful, wonderful and magnificent the Amalfi coast is, however finding the right place to stay to explore and enjoy the coastline was difficult and I was recommended to stay here by a friend of the family.

My partner & I were looking for some quiet time away, and this proved to be truly magical. The restaurant was superb serving fresh, simple ingredients in local Italian dishes which exploded with flavour and even the homemade pastries were gorgeous - so much so that I brought some back to the friend that recommended we stay there.

You will not regret organising a trip to the area and as a small hotel, the level of service, attention and welcome is outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We were in Ravello for a wedding and stayed at Hotel Da Salvatore for 5 nights. It is definitely the view that sells this hotel, just amazing! The location is perfect too, as it’s very near to the centre of town. The hotel rooms were nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The terrace was a nice size, the perfect place to take in the views of the Amalfi coast.

On the negative side, the hotel is let down by staff and service. They weren’t very friendly or welcoming. Luckily I speak some Italian, as not much English was spoken. Breakfast was also very basic and sparse, don’t miss the fresh bread in the corner of the room (we didn’t realise it was there until day two). If you aren’t on a budget stay elsewhere (eg Giordano, Villa Maria)

It was suggested that the bride and groom have a pre-wedding pizza and drinks night at Da Salavatore but the fixed 1000 euro seemed steep for a few pizzas, even more so considering that we had all of their hotel rooms reserved. Due to the expense and the attitude of the staff, they decided against it. We all ate in the centre of Ravello and had a pre-wedding drinks party in the terrace bar of the restaurant next door – to the right of the hotel - they were very friendly and helpful.

Pizza in Da Salvatores is actually rather good. However, avoid the main restaurant. Four of us ate there and not one person was happy with their meal. Not great value for money.

Restaurants to recommend in Ravello – Vitorios, near the town square. Good menu and friendly staff, good English spoken. Villa Maria, good place to have lunch but avoid the pizzas –great salads and paninis. For a few drinks or a coffee, go to the small bar to the right of the church entrance, very friendly staff. The seating is opposite in the square.

If you need a wedding planner, Mario at Wagner Tours! The wedding that he organised at Villa Eva was fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Small Hotel/restaurent vith 6 rooms on a budget side. I was transfert here as Pallazzo della Marra overbook his place...

Price: In peak season, we pay 90 euros for 1 nignt with very very basic breakfast.
Location: right in the town (Athough Ravello is very small town)
Room: basic with confortable bed (firm), all the room have a small terrasse and sea view ( worth a million with the view of the "golfo di Salerno" and the little town near by, Minori)
Bathroom: shower only, clean
AC: working OK

I would go back again if I'm on tight budget...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Da Salvatore for 6 nights in late July/early August 2009 and had an amazing time. We were in Ravello for a wedding which the couple getting married had planned to coinside with the festival honouring the patron saint of Ravello (26-29th July) so there was a super buzz about the place. The view from the Da Salvatore was second to none in Ravello... absolutely breathtaking. The night before the wedding the couple held a "Pizza & Pasta Party" at the restaurant at Da Salvatore and this too was fantastic, the best Pizza I had during my entire stay in Italy
The location of the Da Salvatore is excellent just outside the main tunnel which you walk through to get onto the main square which is less than a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

For the price this is great value. The rooms are well furnished and the view from your balcony like other reviewers have mentioned is mind blowing. However, the noise from the restaurant above and the other rooms was just too much for it to be relaxing. Our ac went off one night (we had kept the balcony door closed because of the noise) and there was nothing that could be done about it as the 6 rooms they had were full and the person who could repair it could only be called the next day. All in all it was this place was just ok, we would definitely spend extra and stay elsewhere to avoid the noise factor.

Ravello , the town itself is gorgeous and a not to be missed. If you are not on a budget stay somewhere else and eat at the restaurant to get the great views. If you are on a budget get ear plugs along.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Da Salvatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Da Salvatore

Address: Via della Repubblica 2u, Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Da Salvatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Salvatore Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Da Salvatore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.