We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marie M” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bonadies

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bonadies to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bonadies
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Fontana Moresca 5, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Marie M”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Breath-taking views. Location couldn't be better. My friend and I stayed at the Bonadies in September and were treated to fabulous hospitality and great service. This is a true family run hotel as is obvious from the friendly and personal service. Nothing was too much trouble for the helpful staff. Our room was at the front of the hotel and had a generous balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The dining room is light and airy and a really wide and varied selection of food is available for breakfast. The view from the balcony is mesmerising and one you will never tire of.
As well as a swimming pool with sunbeds, there is a choice of another two sun terraces.
The hotel is ideally situated, with access to a number of beautiful walks - of varying difficulty, from a saunter to the square for a glass of wine to a more demanding walk to the neighbouring villages. Our thanks to the staff for helping to make this a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    44
    21
    19
    10
See reviews for
37
105
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We holidayed here in Sept 2013 and it was our second stay. The views here are stunning with great access to walking trails to the coastal towns. They are always eager to help you and make you feel at home. Wonderful place to call home during our holiday.
We did day trips to all of the coastal areas from Capri to Salerno but couldn't say enough about how nice it was to return to Ravello. This village is soooo beautiful and quiet unlike the massive crowds that tend to be a plenty in the seas side towns. Buses run from this area approx. every 1/2 hour and its only a 15 min trip. We rented car but didn't seem to use it enough to make it worthwhile
Love from Canada to Ravello and Hotel Bonadies!
David and Angela.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are all good. There is a road on that side of the hotel but we bring a white n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Im a tour leader and I have stayed at Bonadies with my guests several times.
One can rate a hotel with stars..but how can you rate the real and true stars..the people that make Bonadies such a absolutely fantastisc place to stay.

I feel at home, my guests feel at home..we are treated as Family.
To my Ravello Family thank you so much for another great season and I am eager to return as soon as possible.
God bless You all.
Il portugese..Igor Paulo Sequeira de Gioncalves Mouro

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were a group of 20+ people in Ravello in September for 8 nights. The hotel is family owned and run, which is always important to me. Lovely balconies and terraces, clean rooms and a staff that will help you with anything. The dining room is lovely and a few can even eat outside on a balcony overlooking the amazing cliffs of the Amalfi coast. The wait staff are all part of the family.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are air conditioned, so if that is important to you, request it when you make your boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

View from hotel is stunning, looks along the Amalfi Coast towards the mainland. Great location in Ravello, away from the tourists but an easy walk to the centre andpublic transport. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very basic, mostly processed and only a little fresh fruit. Overall, the staff seem very tired, pleasant but don't go out of their way to engage with guests, e.g. we sat on balcony one evening with a glass of wine but no offers to refill. Not having a restaurant is a negative but then there are lots of very nice places nearby.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonadies, Manager at Hotel Bonadies, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear ShazzaNZ22
first of all I wish to thank you in name of Bonadies Staff & Family for taking the time of reviewing our property. We do appreciate our guests leaving comments, should this be positive or not. Our goal is to find always the best way to please our guests and make their stay comfortable but always with respect of the privacy.
You are correct about us being a bit tired! We did have a long season and hotter weather as usual and this makes, unfortunately, look everybody tired!
I' m sorry for you felt to be " abandoned" on our terrace; our is a friendly and informal hotel where guests are welcomed as part of a family, and the policy of our restaurant ( because we do have a 150 seats "à la carte restaurant" on the side of the breakfast room! ) and bar service is to let our clients be free to relax in any of the common area and wait for them to do another order if they wish.
I hope anyway that you enjoyed your stay in our house and hope to welcome you at Bonadies once again in the future,
Suita Carrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Bonadies is a very fine hotel and with nice clean rooms (we had one with seaview and aircon). The staff/family try to make your stay as pleasent as possible. The restaurant was fine, we had dinner and lunch a couple of times and it was good (considering the price). We will come back another year!

Room Tip: Sea view is fantastic (but more expensive ofcourse)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonadies, Manager at Hotel Bonadies, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Annelise
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write a review! WE do appreciate and wish to thank you for your kindness.
We do hope to welcome you again at Hotel Bonadies
Suita Carrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having vetted many hotels in person for a group of artists, this is really the only one where you can drive up to the front, big terraces and meeting areas, a decent pool, an ok-fair not fabulous dining experience all at a price moderate for Ravello. Friendly if not totally organized kitchen and restaurant service. Breakfast buffet sadly missing oatmeal. Processed meat and cheese for sandwiches not to most American taste. Endless coffee, which was a relief considering how hard and expensive it is to get enough to drink in Europe. The hotel building has excellent bones: note the Murano chandeliers, Venetian plaster and exceptional matched marble floors. Sadly in need of deleting bric-a-brac, old furniture and plastic stuff sitting around. Bathrooms were updated with poor choice and execution of ridiculously engineered all-in-one shower panels that invited slipping and flooded the floor. We just looked past this mess and delighted in the view. Sunrise every morning was a must for me, and the view down toward Minori was everything the Amalfi Coast should be. The view hides the touristy tacky crowds and souvenir stores; this area has been slightly seedy for decades, but we forgive tacky and the nasty beach stones because of the cliff views. Oh, if only we could in a kindly way suggest to the sweet hotel owners to get rid of the junk and turn their property into elegant spa style. With little effort they would then have perhaps the nicest property in Ravello at an international standard. Note they arranged personal car trip with the excellent Andrea Ruocco at decent pricing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonadies, Manager at Hotel Bonadies, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear SaraF742
thanks a lot for thaking the time to write a review, and thanks a lot for giving your advices, I do appreciate this.
We, the family and staff, will take care of your suggestions and I'm sure you will see a different ( in better ) Hotel Bonadies next time that you come to Ravello.
Best wishes
Suita Carrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bonadies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonadies

Address: Piazza Fontana Moresca 5, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ravello
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonadies 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1880 Hotel Bonadies has been providing wonderful hospitality in Ravello, one of the most panoramic spots of the Amalfi Coast. Enjoy comfortable rooms, a warm welcoming and good food. Hotel Bonadies offers an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi area, where you can enjoy the beautiful sea view. The establishment also offers Shiatsu and relaxing massages. All rooms are elegant and refined. Different types of rooms are available, and each with a different, yet amazing view of the sea or the mountains. The real treat while at Hotel Bonadies is the exquisite food. Many couples choose this hotel to get married in in style. All dishes are prepared only with the freshest ingredients and following traditional Mediterranean and regional recipes. Most ingredients and products come from the establishment's La Rotonda gardens, open for visits. During this visit you will be able to pick the precious Limoni Sfusati (a local variety of lemons) used in many of the hotel's menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Bonadies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonadies Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bonadies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.