We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa San Michele

Save Saved
You added Villa San Michele to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa San Michele
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carusiello 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Ravello
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa San Michelle for 6 nights to attend a wedding in Amalfi. The 275 steps from the street down through the restaurant, garden terrace, rooms and finally to the sea are a built-in stair master, which is helpful when eating as much as we did! The views are amazing, the restaurant is fabulous and the staff (family owned and operated) were very kind and helpful. Our room had a private terrace, mini-bar, tv and complimentary wireless. The bathroom was small and the shower was really small, but the water pressure was great. The gardens are absolutely beautiful, operated by the Nicola's father. Nicola and Emiliano are wonderful! Location is a 20-minute walk into Amalfi and there is a little bodega conveniently located across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    67
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
59
275
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thoiry, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Villa San Michele is like a dream. It has a magical quality that takes you over very quickly and made it very very hard to leave. The hotel is small and very familial which adds to the charm, nothing is too much trouble for Nicola and his team. This is not a hotel where you are invisible and the staff are impersonal, instead, everyone was so friendly and made you feel welcome and as if part of their family. All the guests staying there during our stay (6-15 September) got on really well too and it was a great atmosphere.
The location of the hotel is just sublime, standing alone on the rocks overlooking the sea. Terraced gardens lead down to a lovely platform for swimming and sunbathing so you feel like you have the sea all to yourself. The gardens are lit up at night which adds to the romance and magic of the place and there are seats on another terraced level all candle lit by night from where you can have an apero or simply look down to the sea below.
We were unsure of the half board as we usually like to explore a local village by night and eat there however, the food was wonderful (cooked by Rosa) and varied, and it made a nice change in fact to simply wander up to the restaurant in the evening and chat with the other guests. To change a bit we ate lunch in the restaurant and wandered down to nearby Atrani to eat in the square.
The Villa San Michele is really really special. We have stayed in many lovely places throughout Italy, but this felt really different and unique. It has a simplicity which is refreshing and completely charming.
The rooms could do with an update that is true, but this does not take away from the wonderful atmosphere, food, company, and location of this really special place.
Hello to the lovely Denis and Jose, two lovely people whom we met on this trip :)

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Last spring while sitting in a restaurant in Asheville, NC, we met a couple that were originally from Italy. We told them that we were going to Italy in September for our delayed honeymoon. We were getting married a few weeks after meeting them. They gave us all sorts of great advice,
but none of it was better then telling us about the Villa San Michele. When we got back to our house I went on line and checked on it and decided to book it right away. All of the contacts with Nicola and Emiliano, were handled perfectly. We were a little concerned about doing half board,
however we felt we could always just skip the dinners if we wanted to be someplace else that evening.
They arranged for pickup at the Naples Train station. We had taken the high speed train from Rome where we had spent the first five nights of our trip. When we arrived the driver was waiting on us and we drove the 80-90 minutes to the Hotel. The drive itself is an experience, which if you go anywhere on the Amalfi Coast, you will learn to hold your breath. For both the unbelievable scenery and the tight curvy roads.
When we arrived our room was ready and we were warmly greeted. They carried our bags down, about 160 steps to our room through beautiful gardens and looking out over the sea.
The room is a good size. The furnishings are older and the room is plain, HOWEVER, the views are spectacular and the setting is extremely romantic!!
It was another 100 plus steps to get down to the sea and sunning decks. You must be able to negotiate steps to enjoy this hotel.
After checking in we walked to Atrani, and Amalfi. Walking is an experience as well. Single file on the seaside only. The road is narrow and curvy with nothing but "down" on the seaside.
It's a beautiful walk to both and we walked all of the time.
We went up (100+ steps) to the Restaurant for Dinner just before 8. What a wonderful surprise. The meal far exceeded our expectations and we had a lot of interaction with other guests as well. Dinner which was a full three courses was superb. In fact we ate dinner there all five nights and each and every one was great. They give you two choices on Pasta, and two for the Main Plate and dessert. Wine is included. We typically ordered both choices and shared. We did not have one dish that we did not love. After dinner we and many of the guests would take wine down to the lower balcony and continue on with the socializing.
Breakfast in the morning consisted of breads, yogurt, juice and cereal was available. More then enough to get you started. Nicola was there to make your coffee, espresso or ?? personally for you.
Each day we did a day trip. We took Ferries from Amalfi to Capri one day, and Positano another day. We went to Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius on another day. We also rented a boat
and took it up and down the coast, stopping to swim and also to eat lunch at a restaurant only reachable by boat.
This is a great small Hotel! It made for a perfect vacation. We stayed in Rome, Paris and here.
This was my favorite part of the trip. You will be made to feel like family and have the experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Get one with a Balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is not a hotel but a home. I guess this is why so many people keep coming back year after year and we are also tempted to do so. Perfect location, right on the sea with a fantastic atmosphere. We loved the private access to the sea (I loved wifi on the deck!!!), the easy access/walks to lovely Atrani, the beautiful Castiglione beach, the steps to Ravello (our sport for the holiday) and the coastal walk to Amalfi. The staff is not staff ... it is a family and in fact a very lovely one. And so are the clients! Fantastic food cooked beautifully by Rosa (Nicola's wife). Of course the hotel has many steps so it is not for people with walking difficulties but this adds to its quirkiness and beauty. One can enjoy the gardens and views of the sea which are lit up by night by candle light. One tiny thing which would make the hotel absolutely perfect is to update the rooms (in particular the bathroom) but this didn't prevent us to very much enjoy our stay. Fond memories!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A fantastic wee place, hidden down rather alot of steps! Beautiful views from our room (113) of the sea and over towards Maiori. 1km walk from Amalfi but it was no problem for us to walk although public transport stops outside the Villa. The food was really good and we loved Nicola and his staff , all very friendly and even let us have breakfast 15 mins early when we were booked onto trips to Pompeii and Capri. Breakfast consisted of freshly squeezed orange juice (which i really miss!), rolls and croissants with butters/jams and yoghurts, tea or coffee - it was plenty for us. Dinner was fresh pasta with either seafood or vegetarian sauce, fish or meat main and then finally a delicious homemade cake. Couldnt fault the food.
As it was our honeymoon they had fresh flowers in our room and a bottle of prosecco for us for the first night's dinner.
It is a bit of a jaunt, climbing all the steps in the morning but the staff helped us with our case at the beginning and end of the holiday. We had to be at Naples Airport at 10am and there is a bus into Naples at 0625 from right outside San Michele's door - it is worth knowing this as the bus cost 4 EUR per person (plus another 4 EUR from Naples to the airport) and a taxi 110 EUR.

we love showing people our video of walking down all the steps through the beautiful terraces of flowers and the stunning views.

We took the bus up to Ravello and walked down - it is a bit hard-going on the knees as some of the steps are big! Ravello is a lovely place and worth going to see the Villa Ruffelo. Also take a sea trip to see the coast line from the sea as it is difficult to get it into perspective on land.

Hope to return - best wishes to Nicola and his family and staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It would be difficult to exaggerate the appeal of this family-run hotel built into the cliffs between Amalfi and Ravello. It combines simplicity with absolute pleasure. No request is too difficult for the owners and staff. We stayed a week and after a day felt like part of the family, from Nicola showing our 2-year old the permanent nativity scene while we were having dinner, to the grandparents insisting on time with Daniel every time we passed through reception, to Emiliano carting our luggage up and down the vertiginous steps. The recommendations for local restaurants and arrangements for things like a motorboat to Capri for the day were all spot-on. The rooms are simple, but comfortable - with nothing but a balcony and a couple of deck chairs between you and the sea far below, you don't need a lot of interior design. The food is wonderful, with a true sense of its place. Amalfi itself and its beach is a 10 minute walk away and busses serving the coast road (much easier than our rented car) stop right outside the hotel. We would easily return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is built right on the cliff of the Amalfi coast, below the town of Ravello. The reception area is one staircase down from street level and the rooms are all about 150 steps further down to sea level. The view from the room is nothing but sea and sailboats. The hotel has a small sea diving area at the very bottom of the property where the transparent clear water ranges from turquoise to navy blue. Service is great and a scrumptious and copious breakfast is included. Absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.