We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa San Michele

Save Saved
You added Villa San Michele to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa San Michele
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carusiello 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Ravello
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Honeymoon Villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Equalling the magnificent beauty of the Amalfi Coast was the service, hospitality, warmth and kindness of the people at Villa San Michele (VSM). I could not have picked a more romantic place to take my wife on our honeymoon.

VSM is conveniently located below Ravello, my favorite town, and provided easy access to Atrani, Amalfi, Positano and Capri while maintaining serene ambiance.

Most importantly, the care and attentiveness of the owners and staff was off the charts.

I'd give 6 stars if I could and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    67
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
58
271
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Falls, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

During our travels to Italy, we stayed four nights at the Villa San Michele. This was certainly the high point of a wonderful vacation. The hotel is quaint, beautiful and well situated on the Amalfi coast. The staff was gracious and helpful. The room was lovely with a "postcard" view. The village of Atrani is a five minute walk and Amalfi less than fifteen while enjoying views along the way. Like us you may be pouring over choices of places to stay in this area hoping you make the right choice...Look no further! Mammato, Nicola and Antonio...Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful time at Villa San Michele. The room was simple but great and the balcony overlooking the see was stunning. The service was great (just like staying with the favorite side of your family...). Will be happy to return one day!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel recently. Is superb.
Great rooms with beautiful views of Amalfi coast. Highpoint is also wonderful owner and staff. Nicola is gracious and helpful owner. His wife, Mammato, is the chef and serves wonderful meals each evening. Waiter Antonio is wonderful and helpful also. Can't leave out Miliano, Pasquale, Anna, and Annmarie who all helped make our stay marvelous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The Villa San Michele is a touch of heaven on earth. We're almost reluctant to share this fantastic find.
We visited end of April beginning of May for a week. The weather was perfect but frankly even had it not been we would have felt we had won the lottery.
We read comments that mentioned the hotel's situation on a busy road which is true but this is Italy and not the M25 rush hr. In fact because the hotel is built into the cliff face you never feel or hear the road above so don't let this put you off. The hotel is well based for all the main points of interest. We walked to Almalfi most days ( 15 mins max and if you take the pedestrian tunnel half way along even quicker). From Almalfi you can get the boat to all the coastal towns, Capri and the Emerald Grotto.
We also took the 1,200 steps hike up to Ravello which is situated directly above the hotel. It was strenuous but worth the effort and the 2 famous gardens are a delight.
Through the hotel we took up the option of a visit to Pompeii and Vesuvius. There were other excursions on offer too but frankly we would have just been as happy to pass the days at the hotel itself. The views from the bedrooms were the stuff of dreams. Again we had read the rooms were basic but didn't find that to be the case. They were beautifully presented and had a Mediterranean feel. No there are no tubs but we didn't miss this although before we left we had been anxious over this point.
Swimming in the sea below the hotel was a joy if abit chilly but it was early in the season and we are hardy British! The water is stunning and we snorkelled around watching the fishes and looking up the cliffs to the beautiful lemon grove terraces.
None of this though does describe what makes this such a special place. This hotel has beating heart and it comes from Nicola, his wife and his staff who are perfecto! They couldn't do enough for us and accommodated all our needs during our stay. Frankly it was 5 star all the way but at 3 star prices.
I haven't mentioned the food yet... Suffice to say I returned home 5 lb heavier! Thats even with the so called light/continental breakfast. Each evening Nicola talks you through the menu options and it was all delicious as was the choice of wine Nicola selected for us.
I know visitors mention the steps but really this is a given since the hotel is built on a cliff face but we just found this improved our appetite and on arrival our cases were whisked down to our room by an extremely fit member of staff and carried up when we were ready to leave.
Nicola organized our transport from Naples and we experience a smooth transfer providing peace of mind.
We have never written a review for tripadvisor before but felt compelled to share the secret just make sure you leave enough space for our return trip as we'll def be back!
Thanks you to Nicola, his fabulous chef wife and our lovely waiter!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
京都
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hi,Amalfi and Ravello is little busy tourist place, However here is very quiet place,
only nature wave sound....all the room facing Ocean!
This is not big hotel, So stay People is mature and less member.
evening time is so Romantic////
Owner "Nicola" is do everything,( Family running Small hotel )
He knows how treat the his guest, This is Italian warm hospitality.
I strongly recommend small Luxury stay. Try it!

Room Tip: Do not worry, all room facing Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have only realised that the review we posted in October 2012 when we stayed here for 4 nights did not save onto the reviews page...my husband and I LOVED staying here. Our room, bathroom and balcony were small - but ohhhh - the view was huge! Our room literally hung over the sparkling Mediterranean Sea with such a breath taking view from sunrise to sunset. And to be able to leap straight into the beautiful ocean from the bathing platform and float around safely in the water was stunning. We were served a chilled Prosecco in the pretty garden before our wonderful meal. We booked a half board package with room, breakfast and dinner. This was great for us, as we would head out adventuring all day after breakfast and then return in the afternoon for a swim, aperitif and then a relaxing and often entertaining meal...Bliss! From here, we had pre booked Mama Agata's Cooking school (amazing experience and views from Ravello are incredible). We walked to all the local villages and took a boat trip (separate review) from Amalfi, and a bus to Positano - all very easy. We liked being out of the crazy tourist hub at night time, back at Villa San Michele. Our hosts looked after us brilliantly and arranged a private transfer from Naples train station and return which was well worth it for us. Next time will would like to book a bigger room and balcony and stay for longer- thankyou to all at Villa San Michele! Anna and Mark Dann

Room Tip: Ask for a large room and balcony over the ocean - half board was great! Not good for physically disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#3 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.