We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa San Michele

Save Saved
You added Villa San Michele to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa San Michele
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carusiello 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Ravello
Florianopolis, SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is an amazing place. The views are simply stunning.
The rooms aren't very modern, but they're comfortable and clean. The only noises that can take your sleep away are from other guests banging the doors of their rooms. Some people simply aren't very considerate to others.
The breakfast is simple, but very good. Fresh fruit. Great cappuccino. The dinner... well, that's the highlight of the hotel. There aren't many options, and they change the menu every night, but whatever they have to offer is amazingly delicious. Mind how much you can eat, and ask for half portions so you can have all the courses and even taste the gorgeous desserts.
The staff is very helpful and friendly. Poor guys took our very heavy luggage all the steps up and down.
And there are lots of steps in this hotel. Perfect to burn all those calories you got in the dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    67
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
63
279
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biot, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights, 2 adults and 2 kids, in spring. Room for 4 was large and quiet. This is a very charming place. Do not miss mamma's cooking, it is absolutely great: anti pasti, pasti and fish or meat, desert of course, all typical italian, better than what you will find in many restaurants!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I have recently returned from villa San Michele. It was our first visit to the Amalfi Coast. Difficult to find words to describe our emotions. The location of villa is perfect with nice view from the rooms. The rooms are without luxuries but quite comfortable. The food (we had half-board) was excellent.The owners are very hospitable and friendly. We highly recommend this hotel. You won't be disappointed. We will definitely come back here again. We had the best vacation ever!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our 2nd stay at Villa San Michelle in 5 years...It's a long way from Australia, but worth every minute of the 30 hour trip. Everything about this hotel and it's wonderful location is special. The owners who remembered us, the same room, the beautiful view, swimming from your own private "rocky" beach, the fresh home cooked dinners of fresh pasta and seafood. Everything as we remembered, a truly wonderful holiday. We will be back, though hopefully sooner this time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We recently stayed for 4 nights at this beautiful bed and breakfast on the waterfront below Ravello. It's location is truly stunning, being right on the water, and with amazing views down the coast towards Maiori. The service from this family run hotel was personal and friendly, and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The parking was straightforward, and we ate most nights in Atrani, which is a 10 min stroll away. We would definitely return.... and dreaming of it already! A slight word of warning would be that staying here involves a LOT of stair climbing, so beware.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view so don't stress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Recently returned from 10 thoroughly relaxing days at the Villa San Michele. We have been coming to the Amalfi Coast for over 30 years, we discovered this lovely small hotel 5 years ago, and would not consider staying anywhere else. This was our third time at the Villa San Michele and our best stay yet. The location is perfect, within an easy walk to Amalfi and nearby beaches but insulated from the tour buses and crowds by the sleepy fishing village of Atrani in between. The hotel is perched on the rocks below the coastal road (and across from the bus stop up to Ravello), with spectacular views from all the rooms and stairs to private decks below for sunbathing and taking a dip in the sea. The rooms are modest but spotless, comfortable and have all necessary amenities ... the only noise one hears are the soothing waves of the sea. But aside from its unparalleled location, what brings us back to the Villa San Michele repeatedly is the warm hospitality of owners Nicola and Rosa, and of their accommodating staff. Nicola is always available with helpful tips and arrangements to make the most of one's visit, while Rosa's kitchen delights the palate with delicate home-made recipes true to the local cuisine and always making the most of available fresh ingredients. Emiliano at the front desk and Antonio in the dining room are both the friendliest, most helpful people one could wish for in a hotel, at the ready to carry one's bags up and down the long flight of stairs to one's room. We miss the Villa San Michele already and cannot wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in March 2012, just before easter. A wonderful experience: a friendly, family run establishment; a comfortable, clean room with a big balcony just a few feet above the Mediterranean; and a unique property that cascades down the hillside. This hotel is a ten minute walk from Atrani and, if your legs are up to it, a 45 minute hike straight up to Ravello. The little shop across the street is a great place for inexpensive bread, cheese, meats and wine. Beware: there are a total of 148 steps down from the parking lot to the hotel rooms (and back up again).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#3 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.