We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More beautiful than I expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rufolo

Villa Rufolo
Piazza Duomo, Ravello, Italy
39 089 857 621
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Ravello
Type: Historic Sites, Castles
Attraction Details
Brea, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More beautiful than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I just took a chance on this place, wandering in off Ravello's main plaza after breakfast, and were pleasantly surprised. Everywhere we turned we found interesting points of view and fun juxtapositions of centuries-old buildings and modern sculptures. The colors of all the flowers on the grounds is gorgeous. We didn't see any of the summer concerts on that stage that juts out over the view 1500 feet down to the Mediterranean, but they must be something to behold. Our cameras were snapping the whole hour we were there. I don't quite understand the people who make their way all the way to Ravello and then say it's not worth 5 euros to go into this magical place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    222
    51
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We looked around the Rufolo one morning before lunch and it was very pretty and interesting and well worth the 5 Euros admission fee. I wish we could have seen a concert there- it is an amazing location.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Visit Villa Cimbrone instead!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

€5 entry - no where near as nice as Cimbrone. A few tress has some attractive metal scaffolding around them, the concert stage was all made of scaffolding with warped laminate flooring on top, the seats all multi coloured. Don't they have planning laws in Italy? There are far better older buildings in the world that are carved from stone, not concrete and rubble!
For the money and if you have time then go in....I was very disappointed

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Photo-worthy fine views and flowers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was skeptical after the severe disappointment of the Villa Cimbrone (gardens and hotel both), but Villa Rufolo delivers color, views, architecture and the delightful music stage. This is where you see the iconic view used on many Amalfi Coast brochures. It's for real and worth sitting in contemplation. Afternoon light best for a photo. 5€ or a nice senior discount at 3€ (most senior pricing in Italy is for EU residents only.) Rest rooms, good map; right off the square, left at the end of the walking underpass from the Sita bus stop or taxis.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“astonishing view of Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

exhibition about opera music, an open air concert area where you can enjoy opera or classical music performances during summer season against the breathtaking scenery of the Amalfi Coast.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Rufolo also viewed

 

Been to Villa Rufolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rufolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.