We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Cucina di Sofi

La Cucina di Sofi
Via Roma, 14, Ravello, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 restaurants in Ravello
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Shanghai, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Was looking for a casual light lunch so stopped by to try Sofi's. We had a sandwich and some kind of dough ball with eggplant and some cold rice. The sandwich was all dough and almost no filling, the eggplant dish was also mostly dough. The rice was average but was the only thing I could eat. Pretty disappointing. Maybe we ordered the wrong things.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provino m, Direttore at La Cucina di Sofi, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Customer,
I am very sorry of his dissatisfaction, the invitation to return as our guest
to better advise them what to eat, because his explanation is very confusing. Greetings Milo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    16
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sofi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just arrived in Ravello and was looking for some authentic Neapolitan food. How lucky was I to wander down the street running off the main Piazza and find "la Cucina Di Sofi" run by Ilaria and her husband. Can't miss it withe picture of Sophie Loren on the board! They have only opened their trattoria since April. Okay, no sea views but a little lane way, tables out front, watching locals and others walk past. Opposite is a high fence with a magnificent tree and birds were singing on this beautiful balmy night. I ordered a pizzaa Ravello with endives, black olives, cheese, anchovies on the best base! A nice half bottle of rose. Who needs fancy cutlery! Sometimes you just want good, honest well priced food especially given you are on the Amalfi! Ilaria tells me that they do fish wrapped in lemon leaves. I will be back to try that! Ilaria was lovely to talk to and made me feel so welcome. So well worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic take-away food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I ate at Sofi for lunch on my last day in Ravello. A friend and I shared several things on the menu: the fried pizza (amazing!); pepper stuffed with rice, capers and anchovy (my favorite of the 4); a filled pizza with egglplant, olives and mozzarella; and pizza-type food with artichoke and cheese. We shared some white wine, sat outside in the sunshine and enjoyed a really nice casual lunch for about 20 euros. Can't beat that!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a small cafe with a bench table indoors and 3 tables outside. Not flash but the home cooking is wonderful, local, freshly cooked and cheap! We had a slap up meal on paper plates; stuffed pepper, aubergine with tomatoes and cheese, fresh red pizza, potato & cheese croquettes and fresh black coffee for under 15 euros! The new team have been in 1 week. 2 brothers; one in the kitchen and one out front. You can buy soft drinks or beer/wine to wash down your meal if you wish. It was so good we went back to get take away for dinner!
Cooking runs in the family; grandfather was a professional chef at some of the top villas for very high profile people. Give it a try - they are a fantastic team.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina di Sofi also viewed

 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Cucina di Sofi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cucina di Sofi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.