We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing fancy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Toro Hotel to your Saves list
Toro Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 16, 84100 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
miami
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nothing fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed at the Toro for 6 nights in July 2009. its not fancy be any means but our stay was nice. We traveled with our 4 year old daughter and she had her own bed in the room. Our room was #3 and we had a balcony that faced the front of the little hotel and a nice view of the mountains. The bathroom was tiny and had no vertialtion. Th eroom had no A/C but a small table fan. We were never in the room during the day but I am sure it was hot in there. Its a very quiet hotel in a great location, right off the main Piazza.

The staff was very friendly. My daughter would have her chocolate milk and they would bring us our cappucinos and breakfast to the room.

If yo want something luxurious, stay elsewhere, but for a base to explore Amalfi, it was good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    6
    9
    2
See reviews for
6
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

After staying in Nocelle with unbelievable sea views, we were a little disappointed to not have such views at Hotel Toro. Then we discovered Villa Cimbrone and Villa Ruffalo - WOW! Ravello is only 20-25 min bus ride from Amalfi. In low season, there were no concerts, but clean mountain air, charming church bells, and visits to Cimbrone and Ruffalo made the stay memorable. The hotel staff is very nice, and the morning coffee was the closest match to American style (more than half-an-ounce and still strong). One issue is that noise carries in the stone building - so light sleepers need to bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

I've just returned from a 4-night stay at the Hotel Toro.
The rooms were bigger than I expected which was nice and were very clean.
The breakfasts were Ok achoice of ham, cheese, bread and cereal, the coffee was delicious though.
The hotel is an ideal position only a few yards from the main sqaure.
I'm getting married in Ravello next October and will be recommending this hotel to my family and friends who are wanting to stay in a nice hotel for a few days.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The steps up to the reception - especially if you have a big heavy suitcase.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for a week to attend a wedding in Ravello. The location is absolutely perfect - just a few steps from the main square. It is advertised as a 3* hotel - absolutely NOT !!! With temperatures of 35 degrees and very high humidity, the air con in this hotel consisted of a fan in the corner of the room which was completely ineffective !!! We all nearly expired here. Breakfast was just okay - cold buffet of ham and chesse, croissants, etc. With the exception of Giovanni, the staff were unfriendly and even surly. The housekeeping staff, on the other hand, were great and very accommodating. There was a mini bar in the room - but no key for it !!!

The Toro Hotel was quite pricey for what is was - other guests stayed in a nearby B+B and had lovely accommodation - WITH air con. !!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No Air Con
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

We have just returned from a week in the hotel toro, unfortunately the hotel was very disappointing with no air conditioning in any of the rooms, which were extermely hot and airless. We were staying in hotel for a wedding in Ravello, and were very suprised that the hotel did not offer a better service the the bride and groom and their guests.
Many of the hotels staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful which again just added to the disappointment, with so many other hotels in the village offering much better service and cheaper rates we recommend the hotel toro as a last resort hotel only.

  • Liked — the rooms were kept clean
  • Disliked — unfriendly staff
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Hotel Toro is a lovely quaint italian hotel that is about a dozen steps from the main piazza in ravello. The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious, all seem to have beautiful views, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They have a lovely courtyard and garden which guests can enjoy - it's very italian and just gorgeous.

Breakfast was good, and hotel toro also arranged my transfer from ravello back to naples airport - which went smoothly and without a hitch, with the driver meeting me at my hotel at the staff's request so that I wouldn't have to carry my luggage to the meeting point (ravello main centre is closed off to traffic).

Recommend a fantastic little panini-coffee-wine bar right beside the church in the main piazza - you'll see straight away that the locals all support and frequent this tiny bar - and for good reason. Fantastic food, good value for money and the staff are a lot of fun and enjoy banter.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

We had a bad experience with this hotel regarding a transfer they setup for us. To make a long story short, they made us pay for a taxi ride twice. I told them I would not pay for the redundant ride, and they threatened to call the police. So, being in a foreign land, I decided it would be best to pay for the redundant ride, and avoid an Italian prison. If this had not happened to us, this hotel would have been great. It is in a great location, and the town is beautiful. Unless you are cool with small towns, and not doing much during the day, I would recommend a short stay in Ravello, and a longer stay in Amalfi. The only advice I can give, is to not book transfer through this hotel. There are plenty of cab drivers in Naples or other train stations that know how to get you to Ravello. They will have set rates to get you to Ravello. If they try to shoot you a crazy price, ask to see the price sheet.

  • Liked — The Location is Great
  • Disliked — The Staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toro Hotel

Address: Via Roma, 16, 84100 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Toro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Toro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toro Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.