We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rufolo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rufolo to your Saves list
Hotel Rufolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Francesco, 1, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at Hotel Rufolo & I highly recommend it. The location is superb, the service friendly & efficient. Very clean rooms. The restaurant & food was excellent. We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    44
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
79
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our suite was lovely with an amazing view. We were thrilled to be able to hear some of the concerts from the Music Festival from our balcony. Glorious! We had good service during our visit. We spent our last evening at the hotel restaurant which was good, and we were the only ones there. Finding the hotel from a GPS was a bit tricky. Thank goodness for friendly people who guided us to where we needed to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lovely location, prompt service, beautiful sea views (with roofs along the way) from some of the rooms.
(Only reason I have stated Spa as Average is that the person managing it was not available and thus we could not use it)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were on our honeymoon and found the staff exceptionally friendly, like a family run hotel without being intrusive. We were given a choice of two rooms when we arrived. The restaurant is gorgeous and affords a stunning balcony of the amphitheatre to listen to the music during the summer. The pool area is nicely laid out and the location of the hotel is absolutely perfect, not right on the square but just a very short walk away. Ravello is a beautiful escape. I can't wait to go back!

The star rating in Italy is different to what I'm familiar with. This is not Hotel Ruffolo's fault. But a four star is not cheap. It's more likely based on the location and service, than spacious rooms. You get used to this and we appreciated the good qualities of the hotel. Again the breakfast is not what I would expect from a four star elsewhere. It was self service and items were replenished but not constantly. There was some scrambled egg and sausages as well as pastries, ham, cheese etc. But only one coffee dispenser and a toaster which took 2 slices at a time so you had to queue sometimes for your breakfast.

However overall we absolutely loved this hotel and Ravello. It is a peaceful, relaxed and friendly place. The rooms were cleaned daily and were spotless. I will most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were advised that there was going to be a wedding one evening but it would finish early. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good hotel. the rooms are simple but large and have all you may need. The view on the rufolo villa were brilliant. Try to ask a room with a balcony. Most rooms have a small balcony where you cna fit two chairs, then if you upgrade you get the rooms on the 3rd floor with large balconies. Unfortunately, we got on this side the only room it seems that had no balcony at all (room 105). Still, the view was lovely.

The staff was very frienly without being overwhelming. Very hepful.

The breakfast offered various options. Not the best breakfast ever but enough to find something you are ahppy with. The restaurant on top has a fantastic terrace and beautiful view. the food was also good and good value.

It is located right in the centre of ravello, which is brilliant. very calm.
We had rented a car, which turned out to be this super long car and were worried with the access but even if th small road to access the hotel is a bit tricky it is totally doable. The staff will help you turn it around and park it in their front car park.

Pool was nice.

Caroline

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have a view on the Rufolo villa but definitly ask for it. Room 105 only one th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights last June while on a Two week trip through Italy and this place was by far the worst place we stayed at. I will say that our room was big and ample and had a fantastic view of the Amalfi coast however everything else was sub par. I should also mention that this was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed at and we stayed at some very expensive hotels throughout our visit. On my first day here on my way to the pool I fell down the stairs as they were uneven and because the walls were lined with coral rock I ended up scraping the skin off most of my right forearm and hurting my Knee pretty bad. When I went into the hotel bleeding from my arm the staff was not very reactive to the situation I asked for a first aid kit and they brought out wah looked like an old box full of crumpled gauze and bandages they did not have anything that could help me. I went to the bathroom to clean my arm with water and soon was joined by some of the restaurant staff who helped me but the only thing they could find to disinfect the wounds was rubbing alcohol. Althoug I knew how much it was going to hurt I had no option but to use it as there was nothing else to sterilize the wound and I was afraid of infection. As you can imagine piuring alcohol into an open flesh would was excrusiatingly painful and still they could not produce a proper bandage so my partner had to take use his t-sirt to cover my wound until we could get to a pharmacy. The staff was pretty much oblivious to the whole thing and their attitude was did not reflect what I though was the urgency of the matter. Despite this I was determined to enjoy my time, after all it was a once in a lifetime trip for me and I did not want to have it ruined so we continued with our tours and sightseeing allbeit pain and all. No one ever inquired on how I was doing or provided any apologies throughout our stay. On top of that the service was really poor and the breakfast that was included with our stay was horrible, the bread was moldy and when we pointed out to the staff (when they bottered to show up) they just blew us off and did not even replace the rest of the bread just took our away. This place is not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, Belgium
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A very nice hotel in the center of Ravello. You can walk and visit Ravello on foot and enjoy its beauty. A good restaurant with a nice view.
Pay attention if you are coming by car: you have to pass through a very narrow street before entering the parking of the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay attention if you are arriving by car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Rufolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rufolo

Address: Via S. Francesco, 1, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rufolo 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with a commanding view of the sea the Hotel Rufolo, surrounded by the green of pine trees of the near Villa Rufolo and several towers and belfries, is just in the historic centre of Ravello, a charming ,quiet and unspoiled town, perched high above the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Rufolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufolo Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rufolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.