We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rufolo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rufolo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rufolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Francesco, 1, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were on our honeymoon and found the staff exceptionally friendly, like a family run hotel without being intrusive. We were given a choice of two rooms when we arrived. The restaurant is gorgeous and affords a stunning balcony of the amphitheatre to listen to the music during the summer. The pool area is nicely laid out and the location of the hotel is absolutely perfect, not right on the square but just a very short walk away. Ravello is a beautiful escape. I can't wait to go back!

The star rating in Italy is different to what I'm familiar with. This is not Hotel Ruffolo's fault. But a four star is not cheap. It's more likely based on the location and service, than spacious rooms. You get used to this and we appreciated the good qualities of the hotel. Again the breakfast is not what I would expect from a four star elsewhere. It was self service and items were replenished but not constantly. There was some scrambled egg and sausages as well as pastries, ham, cheese etc. But only one coffee dispenser and a toaster which took 2 slices at a time so you had to queue sometimes for your breakfast.

However overall we absolutely loved this hotel and Ravello. It is a peaceful, relaxed and friendly place. The rooms were cleaned daily and were spotless. I will most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were advised that there was going to be a wedding one evening but it would finish early. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    40
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
64
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good hotel. the rooms are simple but large and have all you may need. The view on the rufolo villa were brilliant. Try to ask a room with a balcony. Most rooms have a small balcony where you cna fit two chairs, then if you upgrade you get the rooms on the 3rd floor with large balconies. Unfortunately, we got on this side the only room it seems that had no balcony at all (room 105). Still, the view was lovely.

The staff was very frienly without being overwhelming. Very hepful.

The breakfast offered various options. Not the best breakfast ever but enough to find something you are ahppy with. The restaurant on top has a fantastic terrace and beautiful view. the food was also good and good value.

It is located right in the centre of ravello, which is brilliant. very calm.
We had rented a car, which turned out to be this super long car and were worried with the access but even if th small road to access the hotel is a bit tricky it is totally doable. The staff will help you turn it around and park it in their front car park.

Pool was nice.

Caroline

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have a view on the Rufolo villa but definitly ask for it. Room 105 only one th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights last June while on a Two week trip through Italy and this place was by far the worst place we stayed at. I will say that our room was big and ample and had a fantastic view of the Amalfi coast however everything else was sub par. I should also mention that this was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed at and we stayed at some very expensive hotels throughout our visit. On my first day here on my way to the pool I fell down the stairs as they were uneven and because the walls were lined with coral rock I ended up scraping the skin off most of my right forearm and hurting my Knee pretty bad. When I went into the hotel bleeding from my arm the staff was not very reactive to the situation I asked for a first aid kit and they brought out wah looked like an old box full of crumpled gauze and bandages they did not have anything that could help me. I went to the bathroom to clean my arm with water and soon was joined by some of the restaurant staff who helped me but the only thing they could find to disinfect the wounds was rubbing alcohol. Althoug I knew how much it was going to hurt I had no option but to use it as there was nothing else to sterilize the wound and I was afraid of infection. As you can imagine piuring alcohol into an open flesh would was excrusiatingly painful and still they could not produce a proper bandage so my partner had to take use his t-sirt to cover my wound until we could get to a pharmacy. The staff was pretty much oblivious to the whole thing and their attitude was did not reflect what I though was the urgency of the matter. Despite this I was determined to enjoy my time, after all it was a once in a lifetime trip for me and I did not want to have it ruined so we continued with our tours and sightseeing allbeit pain and all. No one ever inquired on how I was doing or provided any apologies throughout our stay. On top of that the service was really poor and the breakfast that was included with our stay was horrible, the bread was moldy and when we pointed out to the staff (when they bottered to show up) they just blew us off and did not even replace the rest of the bread just took our away. This place is not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, Belgium
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A very nice hotel in the center of Ravello. You can walk and visit Ravello on foot and enjoy its beauty. A good restaurant with a nice view.
Pay attention if you are coming by car: you have to pass through a very narrow street before entering the parking of the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay attention if you are arriving by car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent 4 days at this fabulous hotel. We decided on a deluxe room which was spacious and well furnished with a spectacular view over the Amalfi coast.
The swimming pool and terrace were delightful and the staff very helpful. We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant but breakfast was served buffet-style on the terrace and was very good. The hotel was spotless and I would recommend Hotel Rufolo for those wanting a relaxing break, in easy reach of Amalfi, in the most beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the deluxe room - we were shown superior sea view rooms without a balcony - and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Returning two years after our last visit, we worried that things might have changed and that the hotel may not meet expectations arising from our wonderful memories. No need, it was still everything we loved - views to die for, clean, spacious rooms, well appointed and comfortable, friendly service, and scrumptious food, from the breakfast, served on the terrace with that magnificent view, to the delicious seasonal foods served in the restaurant at dinner, and still that charming silver service that makes us feel indulged.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the sea - Ravello is all about that iconic vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is located in the center of Ravello next to the famous Villa Rufolo (we could see it from our balcony). The room that we had was very spacious, airy, and had a small balcony overlooking the Villa Rufolo and the coastline. The views from our balcony were simply spectacular. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom had a separate bath and a shower. Wi-fi was complimentary, and it was working fine in the lobby as well as in our room. The breakfast buffet, on the other hand, wasn't as good (limited selection and the quality) as I experienced in other hotels, just OK - definitely don't use their automatic coffee/cappuccino machine as it makes horrible substance that doesn't deserve to be called coffee. Instead, ask one of the waiters to make coffee/cappuccino for you - it's free, and the quality is what you expect in Italy.
The other thing besides spectacular views that made me pick this hotel was their free parking. The only thing with parking to keep in mind is not to have a big car. I was driving Lancia Thema, which is the exact copy of Chrysler 300, and it could barely fit in the tunnel while getting to the hotel - I had to close side mirrors as I was afraid they were going to knock all the ceramics from the tunnel walls, and they I'd have to pay for them. Take a look at my pictures so you can see how wide that tunnel is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rufolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rufolo

Address: Via S. Francesco, 1, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rufolo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with a commanding view of the sea the Hotel Rufolo, surrounded by the green of pine trees of the near Villa Rufolo and several towers and belfries, is just in the historic centre of Ravello, a charming ,quiet and unspoiled town, perched high above the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hotel Rufolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufolo Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rufolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.