We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly disappointed other than the view this place is terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rufolo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rufolo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rufolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Francesco, 1, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Highly disappointed other than the view this place is terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights last June while on a Two week trip through Italy and this place was by far the worst place we stayed at. I will say that our room was big and ample and had a fantastic view of the Amalfi coast however everything else was sub par. I should also mention that this was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed at and we stayed at some very expensive hotels throughout our visit. On my first day here on my way to the pool I fell down the stairs as they were uneven and because the walls were lined with coral rock I ended up scraping the skin off most of my right forearm and hurting my Knee pretty bad. When I went into the hotel bleeding from my arm the staff was not very reactive to the situation I asked for a first aid kit and they brought out wah looked like an old box full of crumpled gauze and bandages they did not have anything that could help me. I went to the bathroom to clean my arm with water and soon was joined by some of the restaurant staff who helped me but the only thing they could find to disinfect the wounds was rubbing alcohol. Althoug I knew how much it was going to hurt I had no option but to use it as there was nothing else to sterilize the wound and I was afraid of infection. As you can imagine piuring alcohol into an open flesh would was excrusiatingly painful and still they could not produce a proper bandage so my partner had to take use his t-sirt to cover my wound until we could get to a pharmacy. The staff was pretty much oblivious to the whole thing and their attitude was did not reflect what I though was the urgency of the matter. Despite this I was determined to enjoy my time, after all it was a once in a lifetime trip for me and I did not want to have it ruined so we continued with our tours and sightseeing allbeit pain and all. No one ever inquired on how I was doing or provided any apologies throughout our stay. On top of that the service was really poor and the breakfast that was included with our stay was horrible, the bread was moldy and when we pointed out to the staff (when they bottered to show up) they just blew us off and did not even replace the rest of the bread just took our away. This place is not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    41
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
64
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halle, Belgium
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A very nice hotel in the center of Ravello. You can walk and visit Ravello on foot and enjoy its beauty. A good restaurant with a nice view.
Pay attention if you are coming by car: you have to pass through a very narrow street before entering the parking of the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay attention if you are arriving by car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent 4 days at this fabulous hotel. We decided on a deluxe room which was spacious and well furnished with a spectacular view over the Amalfi coast.
The swimming pool and terrace were delightful and the staff very helpful. We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant but breakfast was served buffet-style on the terrace and was very good. The hotel was spotless and I would recommend Hotel Rufolo for those wanting a relaxing break, in easy reach of Amalfi, in the most beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the deluxe room - we were shown superior sea view rooms without a balcony - and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Returning two years after our last visit, we worried that things might have changed and that the hotel may not meet expectations arising from our wonderful memories. No need, it was still everything we loved - views to die for, clean, spacious rooms, well appointed and comfortable, friendly service, and scrumptious food, from the breakfast, served on the terrace with that magnificent view, to the delicious seasonal foods served in the restaurant at dinner, and still that charming silver service that makes us feel indulged.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the sea - Ravello is all about that iconic vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is located in the center of Ravello next to the famous Villa Rufolo (we could see it from our balcony). The room that we had was very spacious, airy, and had a small balcony overlooking the Villa Rufolo and the coastline. The views from our balcony were simply spectacular. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom had a separate bath and a shower. Wi-fi was complimentary, and it was working fine in the lobby as well as in our room. The breakfast buffet, on the other hand, wasn't as good (limited selection and the quality) as I experienced in other hotels, just OK - definitely don't use their automatic coffee/cappuccino machine as it makes horrible substance that doesn't deserve to be called coffee. Instead, ask one of the waiters to make coffee/cappuccino for you - it's free, and the quality is what you expect in Italy.
The other thing besides spectacular views that made me pick this hotel was their free parking. The only thing with parking to keep in mind is not to have a big car. I was driving Lancia Thema, which is the exact copy of Chrysler 300, and it could barely fit in the tunnel while getting to the hotel - I had to close side mirrors as I was afraid they were going to knock all the ceramics from the tunnel walls, and they I'd have to pay for them. Take a look at my pictures so you can see how wide that tunnel is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Overall we were very happy with this hotel. Unlike another reviewer we had excellent service from the staff on the front desk, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was a large (superior?) double with a small but pretty balcony overlooking the beautiful coastline and the gardens of the Villa Rufolo next door. It was a quiet location yet only a few minutes walk from the Piazza Duomo, the centre of Ravello. On the down side, we felt the breakfast was poor, not much variety and the one hot dish was actually cold. For what we consider to be a fairly expensive hotel, this was disappointing and ought to be better. We tried the restaurant one evening, enjoyed the food and the service was good, however the ambience was a little lacking. Marvellous view though. The swimming pool looked inviting, although the weather was too cold for us to try it, however it is overlooked by the gardens of the Villa Rufolo next door, and your sunbathing could be a little public!

Room Tip: Some rooms have been refurbished, some have not. Our refurbished room was on the first floor with lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Hotel Rufolo has beautiful views looking down the Amalfi coast. We stayed here on a hiking trip. The rooms are nice although vary significantly in size and location. The linens, towels and amenities are not of top quality. The breakfast and restaurant are just okay. The bar and the bartender were very nice.

The true downside was the front desk service. Several of the people acted as if we were interfering when we wanted to ask a question or get a key. You got different answers to requests depending on who was at the front desk.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floors have only a partial view because of the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rufolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rufolo

Address: Via S. Francesco, 1, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rufolo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with a commanding view of the sea the Hotel Rufolo, surrounded by the green of pine trees of the near Villa Rufolo and several towers and belfries, is just in the historic centre of Ravello, a charming ,quiet and unspoiled town, perched high above the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hotel Rufolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufolo Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rufolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.