We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viewtiful - would definitely stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graal Hotel Ravello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Graal Hotel Ravello to your Saves list
Graal Hotel Ravello
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Repubblica 8, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
halifax
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Viewtiful - would definitely stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at the Graal for a week this October and will sum it up simply - beautiful location with stupendous views, value for money and great friendly service.

We had planned to visit the Amalfi Coast and had specifically wanted to stay in Ravello for this. Ravello is high up above the coast and as a result the views are absolutely amazing in all directions. We chose the Graal based on its location and access to these vistas from just about all private and public rooms , the relative cost to stay there, and the reviews of previous visitors. As another visitor has stated unless you have very deep pockets you have the same view here as at say other more expensive options in Ravello.

We stayed in Room 235. It appeared that the room had not long been redecorated - simply but pleasant, with what appeared to be a new bathroom with shower. The new paintwork was scuffed in places, but the overall cleanliness was great. The room was a decent size with a small separate dressing table area and a good sized private balcony which we spent many an hour appreciating the views. From there every single morning we had the most wonderful sunrises. We arrived late at night - and saved the very first morning to savour the morning sunrise across the mountains and coast.

Breakfast was typical of an Italian breakfast with cereals, fresh fruit, jams, bread, sweet cakes and eggs. All the staff that we encountered were friendly and welcoming. We also had a meal in the restaurant which was delicious, again affording the same wonderful views which you have from just about anywhere in the hotel.

There is a nice sized pool with sun loungers and the location and views afforded from here are fabulous.

As other reviewers have commented there is Wifi at the hotel but it is intermittent, and can depend on what part of the hotel or your room you are in as to whether you receive. Ours was generally ok, but whilst great reception in our bathroom not as great in the room!

The hotel is in a great location to get around both in Ravello and further around the Amalfi Coast. It is also a great place to start some fantastic walks around the area. A few minutes and you are in the Piazza Duomo in Ravello and just about 100 yards from the hotel is the bus stop at which you can take a bus down to Amalfi which is at this time of year about a 15 minute journey (probably a lot longer in busier times of the year when more traffic). Be careful when checking timetables, and make sure you are certain of the times of buses back particularly later in the evening. We also found that all the buses were earlier than stated - so don't arrive late for buses!

During the day Ravello was bustly with visitors who arrived on the coaches to visit the area and the Villas of Cimbrone and Ruffolo, but by early evening they had mostly left and the place was much quieter and very pleasant. As well as a good restaurant at the hotel, there are plentiful places to suit all budgets to eat in Ravello.

If we returned to Ravello would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    109
    31
    16
    19
See reviews for
33
159
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Graal for four nights in October 2013 while on a Southern Italy tour. Our room on the second floor had an absolutely amazing view of the coast. The room was small though very suitable for our stay and was nicely decorated. There was a sizable private balony that we enjoyed for the wonderful sunrises and views. The rooms and bathrooms have been totally renovated. Their restaurant Moro was very nice with a great menu. Our only problem was WiFi in the room. Elsewhere in the hotel is worked fine. This hotel is just a short walk to the city center and we will stay here again if ever in Ravello. I highly recommend Hotel Graal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Graal the last week of September after a week in Rome.
Train from Rome to Naples, then the Graal arranged convenient and personable car service to Ravello. Only very good things to say about Ravello; charming, and uncrowded. Spectacular location up on the cliffs. The Graal is perfectly situated for incredible, unobstructed views of the coast line. The hotel has fabulous views from every vantage point - rooms we saw all had nice balconies; basic, but comfortably furnished - some reminders of Danish modern from the l970's throughout the hotel. Desk service was okay, depending on which attendant was working - surprising minor language issues. Best points: pool - great view; very clean, plenty of loungers; irregular bar service, but available most of the day. Breakfast service was good, but relatively bland, with primarily sweet rolls, breads. Some special-order egg dishes available, but not necessarily advertised. We ate in the main restaurant one night - very good, and fairly reasonable, but small portions. Other good choices for dining around and near the square. Regular bus service available to surrounding areas about 100 yards from hotel door, but check schedules carefully for days of week.
Other observations: hotel has lots of steps; elevator service is available, but still some rooms require steps. Parts of the hotel could use some freshening up, but all public areas and rooms are clean and well-maintained. Would definitely consider returning to the Graal on a future trip.

Room Tip: Most or all rooms have balconies, although some have more space. Pool level seemed to be a good ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a lovely relaxing holiday at the Graal Hotel in gorgeous Ravello. The Hotel is family run and feels a happy welcoming place and we were really pleased to discover that we had been upgraded to a junior suite, complete with private terrace where we could gaze at the most gorgeous view of the Amalfi coast, the views were stunning from just about everywhere in the hotel. The room was spotless, comfortable, serviced several times a day and very quiet. The location of the Graal is ideal right near bus stops for trips to other villages, we liked the open air tourist bus it was a lovely way of seeing the scenery which is simply fantastic. Breakfast was served between 7.30 and 10 am and in the main was a help yourself cold buffet, lots of choice and good quality, we were also able to order a choice of cooked egg dishes. The town of Ravello is really attractive, lots of stuff to see & do, we did lots of walking and really explored the area. The Graal Hotel's restaurant is extremely good, delicious well cooked food attentive staff and very good value, although we ate in several other places we couldn't find anywhere as good. There are some seriously posh looking Hotels in Ravello with restaurants open to non residents but we are not super rich and were very happy staying at the Graal and definitely hope to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

... well maybe you can if you pay three times the price to stay at the Caruso (same view, just higher up), but for those of us still counting the pennies, this hotel is a real treat.

It's a family run hotel, albeit quite a big one, and the staff are welcoming and helpful if not super attentive (they could probably use a few more.) It's a bit dated in a typical mediterranean way (trading off location...) but our room at least was clean and comfortable with a decent-sized bathroom and a lovely balcony to take in the vista. It's not the lap of luxury but you've probably figured that out from the price already.

The main shortcoming we noticed was at breakfast, where the staff seemed constantly overwhelmed despite the hotel only being about half full. Breakfast ends early (10am) which means if you get there at 9.50 like people on holiday tend to do, it's hard to get your order in before they close the kitchen!

On the upside the location is great (very convenient being right near the bus stop for trips to Amalfi etc.), there is a very good restaurant with aspirations of fine dining and a decent wine list, and the pool is nice and big with lots of sunbeds. Oh, and did I mention the view?

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view, but even on the lower level it's pretty spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Graal Hotel was a great value in Ravello. The view from the common areas, the bar, the pool and nearly all the rooms is stunning. The rooms were clean and although simply furnished, were comfortable. The bathrooms were modern and the towels large. They go out of their way to make wifi available in as many locations as possible, which isn't the easiest thing to do given the design of the hotel. But they have multiple routers on each floor and try very hard to give coverage. The staff is very friendly and competent. The breakfast is good, with friendly servers, a good selection of cereal, yogurt, breads, meat/cheese, pastries, and they will make you eggs to order. The breakfast room has that same amazing view. Our dinners at the Graal's restaurant were very good.

We would stay here again if visiting Ravello, which is a cute town, with nice shops good hotel restaurants, lovely villas to visit, and a good starting point for hikes in the area or bus rides to the other coastal towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window as well as a balcony door, or one with a double size sliding balcony do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Unless you are a millionaire, this is the best bet for Ravello. And a fantastic restaurant with attentive and charming staff. View amazing from large restaurant terrace and most of the rooms, some of which have their own terrace. So go for a drink in one of the unbelieveably posh palace hotels and stay, swim and eat here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#15 of 22 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fraulo
Hotel Villa Fraulo
#12 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bonadies
Hotel Bonadies
#11 of 22 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo
Hotel Palumbo
#14 of 22 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graal Hotel Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graal Hotel Ravello

Address: Via della Repubblica 8, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ravello
#11 Family Hotel in Ravello
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graal Hotel Ravello 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Graal Hotel Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravello Graal Hotel
Hotel Graal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graal Hotel Ravello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.