We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat the view...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graal Hotel Ravello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Graal Hotel Ravello to your Saves list
Graal Hotel Ravello
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Repubblica 8, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You can't beat the view...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

... well maybe you can if you pay three times the price to stay at the Caruso (same view, just higher up), but for those of us still counting the pennies, this hotel is a real treat.

It's a family run hotel, albeit quite a big one, and the staff are welcoming and helpful if not super attentive (they could probably use a few more.) It's a bit dated in a typical mediterranean way (trading off location...) but our room at least was clean and comfortable with a decent-sized bathroom and a lovely balcony to take in the vista. It's not the lap of luxury but you've probably figured that out from the price already.

The main shortcoming we noticed was at breakfast, where the staff seemed constantly overwhelmed despite the hotel only being about half full. Breakfast ends early (10am) which means if you get there at 9.50 like people on holiday tend to do, it's hard to get your order in before they close the kitchen!

On the upside the location is great (very convenient being right near the bus stop for trips to Amalfi etc.), there is a very good restaurant with aspirations of fine dining and a decent wine list, and the pool is nice and big with lots of sunbeds. Oh, and did I mention the view?

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view, but even on the lower level it's pretty spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    98
    27
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
136
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Graal Hotel was a great value in Ravello. The view from the common areas, the bar, the pool and nearly all the rooms is stunning. The rooms were clean and although simply furnished, were comfortable. The bathrooms were modern and the towels large. They go out of their way to make wifi available in as many locations as possible, which isn't the easiest thing to do given the design of the hotel. But they have multiple routers on each floor and try very hard to give coverage. The staff is very friendly and competent. The breakfast is good, with friendly servers, a good selection of cereal, yogurt, breads, meat/cheese, pastries, and they will make you eggs to order. The breakfast room has that same amazing view. Our dinners at the Graal's restaurant were very good.

We would stay here again if visiting Ravello, which is a cute town, with nice shops good hotel restaurants, lovely villas to visit, and a good starting point for hikes in the area or bus rides to the other coastal towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window as well as a balcony door, or one with a double size sliding balcony do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Unless you are a millionaire, this is the best bet for Ravello. And a fantastic restaurant with attentive and charming staff. View amazing from large restaurant terrace and most of the rooms, some of which have their own terrace. So go for a drink in one of the unbelieveably posh palace hotels and stay, swim and eat here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here with another couple and as mentioned the views from our rooms were magnificent. The rooms were clean and more than adequate. We stayed in room 221 and our friends next door, so were able to enjoy the wonderful views from our balcony while having dinner and bottle of wine (all purchased in the village). The pool area was lovely, unfortunately it did close at 6 which we didn't realize and were looking forward to a swim after a very warm day sightseeing. Staff were really friendly though and breakfast was more than adequate for what we needed. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east Midlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon.....the view from the hotel in my opinion is one of the best in Ravello! It overlooks the mountains, the sea and towns below. The room was basic, but with a view like that for the price we were not bothered at all. Very clean rooms and the cleaning supervisor knocked on the door a couple of times during our stay to ask if we were happy with the cleaning.
The staff are very friendly and attentive.
Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice of cereal, cold meats, cheeses, bread, pastries, fruit and drinks. And a fantastic view.
The pool area was lovely, again with "the view"!

Ravello itself is a beautiful place. Cute little shops, churches,streets and alleyways. We visited a few places on the Amalfi coast during our stay, but we can honestly say we picked the best place.
The walks down to other places are good. But the walk back up is not for the unfit! Especially in the heat. We did it, but that's because we exercise, but it was tough in the heat, in the steep parts.

We really would recommend hotel Graal and Ravello.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Pool area is great, with a view to die for! We stayed in room 229, it has a big balcony, stunning view, good bed and a nice bathroom. Yes it's not 5* but its clean, in a great location, close to the square. The staff are friendly and helpful. One word of warning....driving here is not advised if you are nervous....tiny roads, hairpin bends and large coaches don't mix well

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We started our honeymoon in Ravello and chose Hotel Graal based on price and reviews. First of all, the views from this hotel are breathtaking. Our balcony (Room 323) looked out over the cliffs and ocean below. The room itself was small and plain, but clean. The pool area is really lovely, with shaded areas for relaxing and lounge chairs set up for sunning and taking in the views. The location is ideal, just a few hundred yards from the town square and within walking distance of all the restaurants and shops. You will not get all the bells and whistles that come along with staying at a place like Hotel Caruso or Palazzo Avino, but it is a great value for the price. Our only two complaints would be (1) for some reason, the pool closes at 6:00 every afternoon, which in our mind was the best time to be sipping wine and watching the sun set, and (2) our bed was hard as a rock, which made getting a good night sleep a bit difficult.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Graal Hotel Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graal Hotel Ravello

Address: Via della Repubblica 8, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ravello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graal Hotel Ravello 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Graal Hotel Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravello Graal Hotel
Hotel Graal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graal Hotel Ravello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.