We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicest views. nicest people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Caruso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Huntington, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nicest views. nicest people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

My new husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon. We were disappointed there were no vacancies in Positano so we decided on Ravello, and hotel Caruso. What a twist of good fortune. Ravello is the perfect honeymoon destination on the Amalfi Coast. Quiet, serene and gorgeous! The views form the world renowned infinity pool are incredible. And the stone poolside restaurant had the best pizza we had in all of Italy. The entire staff is so friendly, you feel like you're on another (much sweeter) planet than ours. We had a heavenly dinner on the terrace. Two singers played their guitars and serenaded throughout dinner, which really set the mood for a fun, perfect night in Italy. By dessert, most of the tables joined in for "O solo mio." The rooms are clean, and a bit Old Europe instead of some of the more modern places we stayed. I recommend splurging for a terrace overlooking the Amalfi coast, or a garden suite. The perfect place for breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    42
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
62
255
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

First the bad points, my laptop didn't seem to pick up the wi fi.

The plus points

The Staff
All were very efficient, friendly, attentive and spoke very good English.

The Pool
The infinity pool is dramatic and the temperature perfect. It also serves excellent lunches and is staffed by the same great staff I alluded to above. The young lady who runs the area is enthusiastic and most helpful.

The piano bar
Great views over the bay and great service. Serves perhaps the best gin and Tonic in the world
The boat trip
Free of charge to hotel guests and a must for anyone staying at the hotel. A luxury Mercedes bus takes you to Amalfi where you are greeted by a most helpful young lady who brings the coastline to life as you travel from Amalfi to Positano.

The rooms
Ours was spacious and clean with a wonderful view from the balking over the bay. The bathroom was impressively large and elegant. The staff who serviced the room were most helpful and charming and kept the room in great shape tidying up after
The gardens
A joy to behold full of wonderful flowers and tended by a caring gardener.

The restaurant
We eat outside overlooking the bay which was wonderfully romantic and atmospheric. As expected the food and service were excellent.

Overall outstanding!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Upon my arrival to the Hotel Caruso it instantly took my breathe away - the architecture, the views, the accommodations and the impeccable service were the most exquisite I had ever experienced!! In addition, the ammenities were incredible as well - not to mention the ellaborate gourmet breakfast buffet, the outside patio restaurant by the pool with its incredible brick oven pizzas and salad bar, plus the world class restaurant all made for the most amazing vacation anyone could ever have!! To top it off, the people working in this hotel were the most gracious, friendly and overextending human beings I have ever encountered! The facilities throughout the hotel especially the infinity pool has to be the best in the world - everything was top notch! Hotel Caruso is the world's best kept secret!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Our wedding reception was held at Hotel Caruso, Ravello in June 2010.

We initially planned to have the wedding dinner in Caruso's garden followed by dancing around the infinity pool but unfortunately due to bad weather we had to resort to staying in the Wagner Room all night.

The Wagner Room is nice but it's a standard reception room so I would recommend having dinner outside in the garden, followed by cutting of the cake and dancing by the infinity pool (there's an extra cost to hire the pool area) as the views and atmosphere are fantastic and it would be a unique experience your guests will never forget.

The food at Hotel Caruso was excellent and all our guests commented on the excellent quality and presentation - the lamb was superb! Some guests even said it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding.

Tiziana, our event manager, was extremely accommodating with all our requests for the wedding evening and did whatever she could to make our wedding perfect, which was greatly appreciated.

I would definitely recommend Hotel Caruso as a wedding venue. Although it is extremely expensive, you won't be disappointed.

The only negative we experienced was that the table service was a bit slow during the wedding dinner. For a 5 star hotel I would expect 4 or 5 waiters coming out and serving a whole table at once rather than only serving 2 guests at a time and then another 2 guests a few mins later. It was frustrating to see that one table had finished their meal whilst other tables were still waiting to be served as it delayed the time we had left for dancing. We only had 7 tables so it shouldn't have taken that long to serve everyone. We did have a couple of guests comment on the slow service, but this was only a minor thing and I'm sure Hotel Caruso will have changed their service methods.

Despite the above negative re slow service, I would still definitely recommend Hotel Caruso as a wedding venue. It truly is a stunning venue with excellent food, and if you can afford to hire the swimming pool area then I would recommend that option as it is unique, romantic and breathtaking - definitely a wedding your guests will always remember.

Regarding the other wedding services we used:

Wedding Planner: Anna Sorrentino - she was absolutely fantastic and I would highly recommend her services! She promptly answers your queries and gives very helpful advice. She is also very patient and knows how to calm a very stressed bride! ;)


Photographer: Massimo Amendola from Ae5 in Amalfi (www.Ae5.it). The package we chose was a CD only, which Massimo gave to us within 2 days. We were happy with his services but I did have to touch up some of his photos (mainly cropping) which I wouldn't expect to need to do for a professional photographer. I would still recommend Massimo though. He is a lovely guy who speaks English very well.


Florist: Francesca from Fiori d'Arancio. She doesn't have a website nor speak English (I used "google translate" to communicate with her). I would definitely recommend Francesca. She is MUCH cheaper than La Violetta in Amalfi and Armando from Malafronte in Ravello and we were very happy with the flowers she provided. She has a tiny shop in Ravello just past the church called Santa Maria di Gradillo. We had not heard of her and happened to stumble upon her shop when walking past.


Hairdresser: Gerardo Serretiello from totalhairdesign.com. I would recommend his services. In my opinion, he is a bit too expensive but he is apparently the best in Ravello and the only hairdresser I came across. I was very happy with the way he did my hair.


Makeup: Giselle (referred to me by Gerardo). Giselle was lovely and did my makeup exactly as I wanted. I would recommend her.


Music: Booked through Marco Cantarella - (http://www.weddingmusic.it/about_us.html). I would recommend Marco's services.

We booked a harp & violin for the church service (excellent and very romantic), followed by a Neopolitan Duo with guitar and mandolin to walk/dance around the streets of Ravello (lots of fun but perhaps more due to my Italian background). For dinner, we played our i-pod to save on costs and because we weren't sure what type of music an Italian DJ would choose to play. Our guests said the i-pod was a great idea as we played the songs we and our guests liked.


Car Transfers for our guests - booked with Giovanni Fortunato of Ravello Taxi Service - (http://www.ravellotaxiservice.it/vehicles.aspx). Giovanni was fantastic and such a lovely and friendly man. All our guests loved him. He speaks English very well. His prices were the most reasonable of all the taxi services I enquired with.

I'm happy to be contacted to answer any queries from potential brides considering having their wedding in Ravello as I know what it felt like when I was trying to organise our wedding and how difficult it was trying to find advice from people who had actually gotten married in Ravello.

I wish all you brides the best of luck!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

The views of the coastline from this hotel can only be described as stunning. We upgraded to a junior suite and the view from our room was equally wonderful. GOOD POINTS: - superb breakfast on the balcony included in room rate; infinity pool with great service from Yolanda (beds, towels, drinks etc.), lovely pool side restaurant open til 4pm for late lunches (we had lunch here every day). Shuttle to Amalfi is very convenient, Complimentary boat trip was fun (don't forget to bring your swimming costume because they don't tell you there's an opportunity to swim to shore if you want to) NOTSO GOOD POINTS: - extremely expensive but what do you expect? We were disappointed with our meals at the Belvedere restaurant and thought the lunches were better. OVERALL - a great place for a special holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I had the fantastic pleasure to organise a wedding ceremony followed by a reception at this fab venue last July. All the staff, starting from Tiziana, were absolutely helpful and professional. It was easy for me to concentrate on details knowing that I could count on such a great staff. Even when unfortunately we had some rain in the middle of the seated dinner, all the staff pull together securing a dry new setting up in few minutes ! The venue is wonderful and both the Wagner Terrace and the Belvedere are gorgeous location for your event. The food is absolutely amazing, combining the local tradition with more sophisticated note. My clients were very happy with the event that was a huge success among all the guests. I would definitely recommend this Hotel as a special setting for your wedding ceremony.
I hope to be back soon with another couple !
Grazie Tiziana !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010 via mobile

The Service in this Hotel is amazing. The rooms and the pool area are fantastic to relax and enjoy. To recommend is especially the Bellini Bar with the Best Bellinis in the World !! A place wonderful for Honeymoon!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the highest point of Ravello, this magnificent Orient-Express hotel is perched on a cliff top overlooking the spectacular Mediterranean and the Amalfi Coast. All the rooms and suites are very large and elegantly appointed with all comforts, most with balconies and private gardens. Swimming in the spectacular heated infinity swimming pool is like being suspended between sea and sky. Dining is a feast for the gourmets, at the hotel's restaurant, a gastronomic feast of regional flavours. Explore the splendours of the Coast with our complimentary boat excursions and shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;