We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Caruso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
atlanta, ga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Can not imagine a more relaxing place on earth! Hotel Caruso delivered in every way. Beautiful grounds, pool, room and outstanding service. Everything and every one was a pleasure. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share this fantastic comment.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and really

hope to welcome you back soon to Belmond Hotel Caruso.

Best regards from Ravello,

Franco Girasoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    43
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
62
261
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

There are a few magnificent hotels on the Amalfi coast, and my husband and I just spent 6 nights at the Hotel Caruso and are so glad we chose to stay there. Our room was clean and spacious with a lovely bathroom, and the setting of the hotel is truly spectacular. The food was delicious, offering both complex preparations and simple and fresh preparations. We loved being in a quiet place with the busier towns of Amalfi and Positano within reach when we felt like being there. Best of all are the people who work at the Caruso. Concierges Mauritzio and Gennaro make every wish come true. Marco and Roberta at the pool made me feel like we were staying with family (in a good way!). Yolanda, Tommaso, the gentlemen at the Belvedere and the other restaurant made our experience extra special. Even the drivers employed by the hotel were fabulous. One of the most welcoming experiences I've ever had, worth the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing comment on Tripadvisor!

We are so delighted to learn how much you enjoyed to be pampered by our unique staff and that your stay at the Belmond Hotel Caruso was an unforgettable experience.

We really hope to welcome you soon again at beautiful Ravello!

Best wishes

Franco Girasoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This is the most special hotel I have ever stayed at. Firstly, the room was enormous with beautiful high ceilings. The grounds are amazing with many layers including lemon trees and herb gardens. There can't be anywhere else in Europe with such a view. The infinity pool is glorious. It goes without saying that everything is ludicrously expensive but its all worth it. I can recommend the pool restaurant where the food is excellent. I have reviewed the main restaurant separately. The staff in the hotel are completely amazing. If you go to the pool restaurant or hotel bar you will without doubt meet Dani the high energy head waiter. By the time you leave he will be like a brother. Also you will see the excellent guest relations manager called Yolanda who is constantly walking around ensuring all is well. The most impressive thing is that apart from the first check in at no point did anyone ask our room number and every member of staff greated you by name. The Avino is the only place that comes close. Its probably more slick but does not have the same charm. I have never been so sad to leave anywhere.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Sirs,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

I am so proud to read all your amazing words you found for the Belmond Hotel Caruso and its unique staff and I am so delighted to learn that there was nothing we could have done better.

Me and my staff really hope to have you soon again as our guests at the Belmond Hotel Caruso.

Best wishes

Franco Girasoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Having stayed at many wonderful hotels throughout the world, we consider that his hotel, with its impeccable service, unbelievable views and fantastic infinity pool (at just the right temperature) make it, in our view, second to none. The service was impeccable but unobtrusive, the attention to detail amazing and the food absolutely mouth-watering. Everything about the hotel far surpassed our expectations and it is certainly a hotel to which we will return.

We travelled to Ravello with our daughter (14) and one gripe we had was that we could not accommodate her in our room (even in a suite) and were forced to book two rooms for the three of us which made the cost significantly more. Other hotels do not seem to have this policy. Having travelled to other hotels and restaurants in the region, the other comment we would make is that the wine list seemed to be overly inflated (the same wine costing half the price in restaurants in Positano, for example) which, when the price for staying at the hotel is not cheap, seems a little over the top. That said, it did not detract from a fabulous stay and one we are eager to repeat.

Room Tip: We opted for a view of the mountains which was cheaper than a sea view but every bit as good (you se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your stunning words on Tripadvisor.

We could not be more proud to hear how that your stay at the Belmond Hotel Caruso even surpassed your expectations and that you found it an unbelievable experience.

Me and my staff would love to get soon again the possibility to pamper you!

Best greetings from Ravello,

Franco Girasoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We just returned from a long weekend at the Hotel Caruso for a friends wedding. Having stayed ay some of the finest hotels in the world, i think this hotel is pretty much up there with some of the best. It is very understated in virtually everything but everything comes together perfectly. The staff are attentive without being over attentive, the views are excellent, food is great, the rooms are large and tastefully decorated. Whilst this is not a modern hotel, it isn't overly stuffy but perfectly refined. There is nothing on the outside to suggest that this is a special hotel but step through the doors and walk inside and it becomes obvious.

The infinity pool is quite something but it isn't as big as the pictures would suggest but what a view from the pool. The wedding party was faultless. Ravello is a charming town away from the hustle and bustle of Amalfi and the jewel of Ravello is the Caruso. My only gripes about the hotel was that the curtains in the room were a throwback to another time as is the TV but i really am being critical. If you come to the Amalfi coast then there is only one place to stay at and thats the Caruso.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Sirs,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

I am more than delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Belmond Hotel Caruso especially since you are used to stay in the finest hotels in the world and I am happy to learn that you appreciated not only our views but also our attentive service and our food.

You will be pleased to hear that we are planning to update the television sets in all rooms in the close future.

Hopefully we have soon again the possibility to welcome you as our guests.

Best regards from Ravello

Franco Girasoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at Hotel Caruso last week and it was the highlight of our honeymoon. At check in, we were upgraded to a beautiful suite (Room #63) and received a lovely rose petal turndown service. The hotel offers gorgeous views at every turn. Our patio was spacious and overlooked the coast, the infinity pool is the best in Europe, and the garden grounds are perfect for an afternoon stroll. I am from NYC and assure you the pool is nothing like being on someone’s roof in NYC; I agree with the other reviewer who finds this incomprehensible. We have travelled extensively and Hotel Caruso is our new favorite.

Food & Drink: The poolside restaurant is fantastic. Many thanks to the waiter who recommended the lobster and spaghetti - the pizzas were great but I couldn’t help but order that lobster and spaghetti dish twice! The Bellini is also the best I have ever had. Many thanks to the bartender who recommended that too. I had one at Harry’s Bar Venice and one at Hotel Danieli in Venice before coming to Hotel Caruso and they were both put to shame. We had dinner one night at the Belvedere Restaurant which was also fantastic. The setting, service, and food were perfect. My only complaint is a local bottle of white wine started at 70 euro. Breakfast was included and top-notch, the best of our five stops in Italy. Other poolside/bar drinks were all delicious and well-made.

Concierge was helpful and friendly. The shuttle service offered by the hotel is a nice perk, we only used it once as we mostly stayed in Ravello but it was nice to have the option.

Minor Cons: Signing for food and drink was confusing. I wish someone confirmed for us at check-in that we did not need to sign along the way, just give our room number and get the bill at checkout. We assumed this was correct, but on our second and third day we received bills that just required our signature and room number. This was especially confusing since one bartender had served us before and knew we were guests at the hotel. We weren’t sure if we should be waiting for bills after this happened. Poolside, I wish the service had been more attentive. We would have ordered more water and another cocktail but the server was nowhere to be found every day. We were both engrossed in our books and enjoying the pool and view, so we did not want to track someone down. Last, the wine list is great but very high. I would have ordered a bottle for room service or poolside if it had not been so expensive. Compared to restaurants in the town of Ravello, and other five star properties, it was much higher at Hotel Caruso.

Overall this is an amazing hotel with a priceless view. We cannot wait to return in the years to come!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to share this stunning comment.

I really feel honoured to read your words full of praise for us and I am so pleased that we were able to make your honeymoon special as it has to be.

Thank you also for your suggestion regarding our white wine selection and the checks to sign for food and drinks. I discussed them already with the relevant departments. Please apologise for any inconvenience.

Hoping to having you soon again at the Belmond Hotel Caruso and wishing you all the best for your married life.

Kind regards

Franco Girasoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Where to begin when you find heaven on earth!
From the moment we arrived the front desk made us feel totally at home and pampered
I had forgotten my cholesterol medication and within an hour Maurizio had it arrive at our room. So for me I could relax and know that nothing was going to be a problem. Yolanda showed us around the property with such enthusiasm and charm that we knew our vacation was to be very special!!!!
Giovanni was our host at breakfast and at dinner and he was fantastic at both. He remembered what we liked and along with Alfonso made every meal flawless service.
Every part of the hotel is perfect and every service person is there to make sure you are well taken care of! It is a vacation that will make you sorry to leave and anxious to return
We thank the Hotel Caruso for pampering us with such ease. It is truly a hotel that takes the guest seriously

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sirs,

On behalf of the entire staff I would like to thank you for your amazing words.

It makes me so happy to hear that you felt so pampered and at home at the Belmond Hotel Caruso and that you appreciated the efforts of every single staff member.

I hope you will give us soon again the opportunity to make you feel like in heaven on earth!

Best wishes,

Franco Girasoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the highest point of Ravello, this magnificent Orient-Express hotel is perched on a cliff top overlooking the spectacular Mediterranean and the Amalfi Coast. All the rooms and suites are very large and elegantly appointed with all comforts, most with balconies and private gardens. Swimming in the spectacular heated infinity swimming pool is like being suspended between sea and sky. Dining is a feast for the gourmets, at the hotel's restaurant, a gastronomic feast of regional flavours. Explore the splendours of the Coast with our complimentary boat excursions and shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.