We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Caruso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Third Night
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
State College, Pa.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

It's hard to imagine a more perfect (I know, bad grammar) location for a premium hotel experience. The infinity pool area is stunning, as are all the public spaces, so take the plunge and dig deep into your wallets because this is a signature resort but it does not fall into the budget-priced tier. The staff are very well-trained, friendly, and helpful. The views in every direction are breathtaking, and the small village of Ravello has a lively town square with shops and cafes. It's a great base for exploring the Amalfi Coast, with shuttles and boat access. Our room came with a rooftop terrace that was big enough for 20 people and had jaw-dropping views of both mountains and water. Breakfast is a feast, and the on-site Belvedere restaurant serves up classic and classy Italian fare. The hotel grounds are superbly maintained and bursting with color. We lost count of the number of times we said "Wow" during our stay. We're buying lottery tickets and planning a return visit...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Sirs,

I would like to thank you very much for taking your time to write this comment on tripadvisor. Now it’s on us to say “wow” – to your stunning words you found for the Caruso!

It really makes me very proud how much you appreciated the beauty of our hotel and its surroundings and that the quality of our service and food helped to make your stay unforgettable.

Hoping very much to welcoming you soon again with us.

Kind regards from wonderful Ravello,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    43
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
63
263
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mossley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was the first of three Belmond hotels we stayed at on our 'Grand Tour' of Italy, the others were the Belmond Hotel Villa San Michele in Florence and the Belmond Hotel Cipriani in Venice.

Transfer from Naples airport was included at the Hotel Caruso when booked on the 'Grand Tour'. The driver met us in arrivals, helped us to the car and was nicely chatty during the 1 hour 15 minute drive to the hotel.

The staff were very friendly on arrival and greeted us with freshly made lemonade, lemons being a specialty of the region.
Our room was ready for us and was very spacious with a balcony and two bathrooms!

Food at the pool bar overlooking the infinity pool was excellent, as was the service. The main restaurant had an open terrace where must people dined, pashminas provided for the ladies if required on chillier evenings. Food was very good but don't go in hungry!
A couple using a mobile phone on speaker were asked to desist by the staff for which we were very grateful.


The hotel is about a 30 minute drive from the coast and had a complimentary shuttle bus that ran to Amalfi every hour during the daytime.

A complimentary boat trip organised by the hotel was also included that took us from Amalfi to Postiano and (with free beer!) back.

We'd booked on the 'Amalfi by Night' tour with the very knowledgable guide Rupert Scarfe(see Facebook). This was a back-street walk in Amalfi in the evening that had a serious number of steps to climb up and down the back alleys, this was fairly arduous but included many stops, a must do!

We'd independently arranged a days tour with Guemar Travel(see TripAdvisor) who provided a car and driver/tour guide. We were picked up at 8:00am and driven along the Amalfi coast, stopping at Amalfi, Postiano, Sorento and Pompeii before returning at 4:00pm

On our last day the hotel provided a transfer back to Naples railstation.
WiFi worked fine in the hotel buildings but VPN did not work.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write this stunning review on Tripadvisor and for choosing the Belmond Hotel Caruso for your stay at the Amalfi Coast.

It makes me proud to hear that your time with us was such an enjoyable and memorable experience for you and that you appreciated our services and spectacular views.

As for the VPN please kindly note that due to security reasons our firewall blocks the access automatically. On request of our guests we can setup the connection.

We would be pleased to welcome you soon again at the Caruso or one of the other Belmond destinations.

Best regards from Ravello,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravello (Sa)
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had the most amazing time at the Caruso!! Ravello is a beautiful, charming town & the hotel is top notch. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful especially with our 1 year old daughter! Love!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Sirs,

In the name of the entire staff I would like to thank you for taking your time to write these kind words.

It makes me very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Caruso also thanks to our cordiality and professionalism and that you appreciated our special attention to your daughter.

We would be more than delighted to welcome you soon again with us.

Best wishes and many greetings from heavenly Ravello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This dreamy, historic palace that hangs in the azure skies above Ravello is uniquely special and rather splendid. Yes, the vertiginous views match the vertiginous prices, but when you are this close to God don't quibble - just pay St Peter at the gate.

Take a sojourn on the terrace and drink in the exquisite views. Stroll through the magnificent bar and into the wondrous gardens that cling by their roots to the edge of humanity. Even the gravity defying infinity pool has been sensitively added without detracting from the grandeur of this jewel of Ravello. Finally, staff were generous, hospitable & child friendly.

The food was as historic as the hotel. One for your bucket list.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sirs,

On behalf of my entire staff I would like to thank you for taking your time to share these beautiful words on Tripadvisor.

It fills me with joy to hear how much you appreciated the beauty of our unique place and that the quality of our services could make your stay even more enjoyable.

We would be more than happy to welcome you soon again at Belmond Hotel Caruso.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The service was professional and warm. The junior suite was spacious and well maintained. We enjoyed the dining room in the evening, but you must be prepared for the expense. If you prefer something more casual you could always visit the town square. The infinity pool and the grounds are truly spectacular. If price is not a worry for you it is a wonderful property to experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave your review on Tripadvisor.

It is a real pleasure to read that your stay at Belmond Hotel Caruso met your expectations and you enjoyed your time with us.

Needless to say that we would very happy to welcome you soon again with us.

Best wishes from beautiful Ravello,
Franco Girasoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Outstanding hotel in a magnificent setting. Peaceful and relaxing with easy and helpful access to sites on the Amalfi coast. The food was incredible ,best we had in Italy . The service was impeccable and warm. We plan on returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sirs,

First of all I would like to thank your for taking your precious time to share your impressions of the Belmond Caruso on Tripadvisor.

I’m more than delighted to read your stunning words about your stay with us and the great experience you made.

Me and my staff can’t wait to welcome you again as our guests!

Best wishes from Ravello,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The Caruso Hotel is a triumph. From the terraced garden festooned with lights in the evening to the cloud lifting over your private terrace in the morning, you leave hoping you have remembered every minute. We were celebrating the significant birthday of a friend and they dealt with the demands of our party quietly in every detail. The staff are trained in that most difficult of hospitality arts, the secret of being able to disappear and appear precisely when needed. The food is exquisite with ingredients freshly sourced from the neighbouring villages and breakfast tastes immeasurably finer with a across the coves of Amalfi. Little wonder that Wagner and so many other operatic maestros have been captivated by its scenic opulence.

Room Tip: The only problem was being woken around 7 on the Saturday by the rumbling of carts bringing provisio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your precious time to post such a splendid review on Tripadvisor.

We are truly delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at Belmond Hotel Caruso and pleased to hear that the quality of our service and food made a contribution to the success of your friend’s birthday party.

We feel sorry for the noises caused by the rumbling of carts which we unfortunately cannot influence as not belonging to the Caruso.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again with us.



Best wishes from the beautiful Amalfi Coast,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the highest point of Ravello, this magnificent Orient-Express hotel is perched on a cliff top overlooking the spectacular Mediterranean and the Amalfi Coast. All the rooms and suites are very large and elegantly appointed with all comforts, most with balconies and private gardens. Swimming in the spectacular heated infinity swimming pool is like being suspended between sea and sky. Dining is a feast for the gourmets, at the hotel's restaurant, a gastronomic feast of regional flavours. Explore the splendours of the Coast with our complimentary boat excursions and shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Belmond, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.