We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Caruso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cheshire, england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Stayed for 25th wedding anniversary. Booked directly - was upgraded to a stunning , stunning junior suite - room101

Positives:
- superbly refurbished with state of the art services in a classic building
- wonderful gardens
- amazing pool setting - swim before breakfast when no-one is around - a quite magnificent experience; breathtaking views
- drink in the bar before dinner - the view and peach bellinis
- gym is good too
- easy to walk into ravello with its beautiful villas , gardens and square and atmosphere
- staff service and attitude. concierge very good - but ALL staff excellent
- outstanding breakfasts - food and setting

Not sures:
- lots of positive reviews on this site about the lunch and evening meals but we had a very average meal and so had others we spoke too around the pool. Very, very expensive for food and in my view poor value. Try the Cumpa Cosimo restaurant in Ravello for outstanding food and value
- value for money ? overall about 30%more expensive than the il san pietro in positano - this is very maginally better experience than the caruso and much better value

summary
- wonderful hotel and setting, but very, very expensive. Below par (for the cost) lunch and dinner

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    43
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
66
270
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

This was our second visit to the Caruso and our third to Ravello. This place just gets better - what a fabulous experience! Our room (205) was immaculate and spacious and had a huge terrace with pots of flowers, lemon trees, and what must be one of the most stunning views in Europe. We had our breakfast here each day which was always served on time and with immaculate service. In fact all the staff were friendly and professional.

One of our all-time favourite spots is the breathtakingly beautiful infinity pool where Thomas and his team excelled in making lunch time such an amazing experience. Thomas is so brilliant and he looked after us so well.

The food in the restaurant was outstanding and to watch Giovanni the restaurant manager orchestrate the team was wonderful to behold - he is a true professional! We also appreciated very much the benefit of Marianna's (sommelier) knowledge - she got it right every time!

Carlo the concierge deserves a special mention. He is very professional and polite and nothing was too much trouble. In fact we felt we were treated like old friends by every one of the staff.

We were surprised by Michael Winner's lukewarm at best review in the Sunday Times. In our opinion Hotel Caruso and Ravello are the real gems on the Amalfi Coast.

We hope to return before too long.

Fintys

  • Liked — Everything was clean and fresh and spacious.
  • Disliked — My holiday wasn't long enough.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

My husband and I made a last minute decision to stay at Hotel Caruso in Ravello while staying in Sorrento and I am so glad we did!

First of all, the front desk knew that we had just stayed at the new Four Seasons in Florence as the conciege told them! They gave us a gorgeous sea view room with a balony overlooking the sea. The room was spacious, comfy, beautifully decorated with a welcome platter of fruit. The bath was also large with a huge window that you could open to see the sea. Shower and towels were also wonderful.

The highlight is of course, the infinity pool that looks over the 4000 foot drop to the sea. Just absolutely breathtaking views.

We had lunch when we got there and the food and service was wonderful. We decided to have dinner at the hotel as well. After sitting by the pool all afternoon, we headed off to the hotel next door (Palazzo Sasso) for a cocktail and back to Caruso for dinner. You cant get a better view for dinner and the food was fabulous.

We had several hours to kill the next day so we took a walk to the nearby villas and gardens not to be missed.

The service was exceptional and everyone was so friendly and helpful. I definitely would like to return some day for a longer stay.

  • Liked — The pool and views
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Margarets
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

The Caruso is set in a wonderful position and the views over the Amalfi coast, (the hotel is 350m above sea level), are unique. Ravello itself is quieter and more laid back than the coastal Amalfi towns, so don't expect the same buzz that you get in Amalfi or Positano.
The hotel is very smart in a traditional sort of way - the gardens are exceptional, the staff professional and the rooms formal. The pool has to have one of the best infinity views in the world and the general atmosphere is fairly relaxed and friendly for such a smart set up.
There are some drawbacks however - The cost is pretty eye watering - and the food in the main restaurant could be better. The nicest meal we had was lunch by the pool - amazing pizza and the best tomoato and mozzarella salad I have ever had.
Would I return? The answer is yes - but I would need to refuel the credit cards first! Michael Winner reviewed the Caruso a few weeks before we left and I think much of what he said was correct...in essence this is an outstanding hotel but not without flaws.

  • Liked — beautiful fixtures and fittings
  • Disliked — tricky hotel lay out
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

We have just been to the Caruso...where we had a family wedding...What a pure delight to be met with a strawberry bellini (or fresh lemonade) and be shown the terrace. Reception check 'in and out' was excellent and Concerige, top draw!

Our room was stunning, lined in marble and serviced by the most careful of house keepers, who must have visited three times a day....

We thought the views were stunning, the peacefulness whilst in the infinity pool was bliss and the food poolside was excellent. (Clearily you wouldn't be here if you felt that the Pinot at 65Euros was not reasonable!!....but it was a very good year...not the wine but for us!! so we were happy to partake it the vino blanco.

A very professional poolside team and restaurant team were only surpassed by the evening restaurant staff, and the Head Chef turned out some exquisit food.

All was fab for the three days we were there and of course I take my hat off to the whole team....Micheal Winner was there, preparing his review....Open the Krug!! Now I know you deserve it!! Well done....

  • Liked — The experience of being in 'Probably one of the Best Hotels' in Italy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

We had a perfect stay in the early season, they were only a couple of other guests during our stay, service was impeccable and friendly, food at the restaurant was good and expensive, food at the pool,including pizza and pasta, almost best ever.
We stayed in a junior suite with a little garden in front, but the beautifull seaview was spoilt by 2 huge construction cranes from a Convention Center being built below the hotel, so if you are going in the near future it is well worth to check if the cranes are still there.
From the pool area you don't see the cranes and the spot is breathtaking, pool is gorgeous.(21m)
We had a dinner at the Palazzo Sasso next door who has 2 Michelin stars but I wouldn't rate it higher than the restaurant at Caruso.

  • Liked — Seaview rooms and Pool
  • Disliked — the spoilt view
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

We stayed one night here during our trip to The Amalfi Coast in a Junior Deluxe Suite. It was Suite Number 42 and it was absolutely amazing. The weather was terrible, freezing cold and pouring with rain but our day at the hotel made us forget all that. I even had a swim in the pool!

The staff and the concierge could not have been more helpful and friendly.

The rooms wer spacious, clean and full of wonderful amenities and the Bulgari toiletries were to die for.

Is the hotel expensive? God yes but worth every penny. I have stayed in expensive hotels before but this one felt exclusive - and that's a big difference.

  • Liked — The views from every room
  • Disliked — there was nothing to dislike
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the highest point of Ravello, this magnificent Orient-Express hotel is perched on a cliff top overlooking the spectacular Mediterranean and the Amalfi Coast. All the rooms and suites are very large and elegantly appointed with all comforts, most with balconies and private gardens. Swimming in the spectacular heated infinity swimming pool is like being suspended between sea and sky. Dining is a feast for the gourmets, at the hotel's restaurant, a gastronomic feast of regional flavours. Explore the splendours of the Coast with our complimentary boat excursions and shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.