We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Caruso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Total luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel, in a fantastic location and staffed by top quality staff.
We stayed for a week and still didn't get accustomed to the fabulous views from our room and most areas of the hotel. The gardens and infinity pool are great places to relax. The pool restaurant offers a wide menu of quality food.
The breakfast is served in the Belvedere restaurant. We had a half-board package which included breakfast, and accordingly we visited every day. There is an extensive buffet and also a wide a la carte breakfast menu: order the American breakfast and be surprised by the subsequent feast!
The Belvedere is also a very romantic location for dinner: the food is superb!
Our suite was beautifully decorated, fully-equipped and the toiletries were Bulgari and Penhaligans.
There are 50 rooms, but with wedding events and dining, the hotel seemed quite busy, despite being close to the end of the season and after the Ravello Festival. There was a huge annual firework display at Torello on 15th September, a tiny village immediately immediately below the hotel and this was a unexpected bonus.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, but as some other reviewers have noted, sometimes service can be quicker. Perhaps this is a cultural issue as most guests are on holiday rather than business and the staff do take time to interact with their guests.
Whilst expensive, this is a unique hotel in a timelessly beautiful setting: highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    43
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
62
261
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is truly a dream. Everything is beautiful, all of your needs are anticipated, I have absolutely no complaints. What a beautiful place in the world and an even more beautiful hotel. The restaurant is delicious, the bar (Tomasso) was top notch, the rooms were fabulous, clean and very comfortable. The turn down service unprecedented. The 9 levels of gardens in this hotel are breathtaking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Caruso for 5 nights from September 5th to 10th. We had stayed here last year so we knew what to expect and it did not disappoint. We were greeted like old friends at the reception and allocated a superb room with our own sitting area, sun deck and private garden and stunning views. The service during our stay was very friendly and attentive without being over the top.
There are two aspects to this hotel which stand out. The views from most areas are simply superb, particularly around the infinity pool, and the multi tiered gardens are beautiful. The hotel gardener speaks excellent English and will offer guests a guided tour of his pride and joy if you are interested. The location and ambience of this hotel are undoubtedly major selling points. The large footprint of the hotel means there is plenty of space around the pool even when the hotel is busy.
The breakfasts are excellent and the poolside restaurant is also very good indeed. We only ate once in the main restaurant because we would find it too rich to eat there every night but we found it to be very good. We had the set summer menu which at 84 Euros although not cheap was better value than the full A La Carte.
The hotel offers a free minibus service to Amalfi and Positano and also a complimentary boat trip along the Amalfi coast which is well worth doing.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to recommend it particularly to couples wanting a romantic break. It is undoubtedly pricey but no more than other top quality hotels we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite in the Gardens if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Staying here with my husband for 5 nights. Tonight is our last night.
As we travel extensively and always use 5 star luxury hotels, we expect 5star luxury service. That means no mistakes are allowed.
Staff are extremely friendly.
Things that we didnt appreciate were the following:
- tonight is he night of the big fireworks at ravello. The minute we found out about the fireworks, my husband booked a table at tye restaurant of the hotel requesting a nice table. We arrived at the restaurant tonight only to find out no table was available at the terrace. Our reservation was for 9pm. It is 9:50 and we are still waiting for a table!!! if the restaurant was fully booked and no noce table was available, we should have been notified!!!! Not made to wait at the piano bar for 50 minutes!!! Anyway, we saw the fireworks through the piano bar, but still this was disappointing for us....
- at 5 pm we walked into our room and our breakfast was still lying on our table!!! Well this should not be happening in 5 star L!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at the Hotel Caruso.

We deeply regret that your visit was not indicative of the level of standard and service you have come to expect.

On that night, because of the fireworks, all our guests asked for a table by the balcony where regrettably only a limited number are available.

Our Restaurant Manager did his best in order to make sure you were seated by the balcony, as you requested, in order for you to fully enjoy the show. Regrettably this took longer than expected and the table became available later than the time agreed.

Our staff, aware you were waiting, offered to you a table in our Bar with a very nice view. Nevertheless we are deeply sorry you were disappointed and you did not fully enjoy our service. Please accept our apologies for the frustration and annoyance caused by this issue.

Regarding the breakfast tray found in your Room at 5pm, after our investigation with the Room Service staff, it appears that when the waiter duly came to collect the tray he found the ‘do not disturb’ light still on your door.

Of course he did not want to take the liberty to disturb your privacy. Possibly this was the reason why we could not collect the breakfast tray on time as we always do as per our standards.

We really hope that your experience could not prevent your intention to visit us again in the future and I hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Well what can I say that hasn't already been said? stunning elegant I need to go back. My husband and i spent 10 days just relaxing, swimming in the infinity pool, sipping champagne and eating the best home made pizza cooked in an open clay oven over looking the most spectacular views. Then there was the shop selling the best clothes any girl would die for appeared out of nowhere amazing right in the middle of the hotel.
The staff are so first class and really went out of their way to help organize every special requirement.
You must trot down to the square and sit with the locals we were very fortunate to witness a wedding in the church which I might add is well worth a look.
We sailed to Capri on a private boat that was absolutely fantastic did some shopping more eating and drinking then sailed back phew cannot believe we did so much in one day.
This is a holiday without the children its very romantic and gives you back your va va voom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just spent the last 6 nights at Hotel Caruso in Ravello. This is simply the most beautiful hotel in the world. The service is impeccable, you're made to feel at home, with wonderful views and truly amazing food. It is faultless. This is our second visit and we will definitely be back. All the staff go out of their way to make your stay remarkable. Truly memorable!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a hotel, beyond best, you pay for it but its worth it. Go on off peak dates (non-concert season) for beyond best experience. Everyone at the hotel goes out of their way to help, and Ravello is one of the neatest italian villages. Must do's: hike down (not up) to Amalfi; spend a day in the kitchens and gardens of Mama Agata (book way early), spend a day in the Caruso pool overlooking the bay...dont take the kids, you wont forget.

Room Tip: Get a room with view or one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the highest point of Ravello, this magnificent Orient-Express hotel is perched on a cliff top overlooking the spectacular Mediterranean and the Amalfi Coast. All the rooms and suites are very large and elegantly appointed with all comforts, most with balconies and private gardens. Swimming in the spectacular heated infinity swimming pool is like being suspended between sea and sky. Dining is a feast for the gourmets, at the hotel's restaurant, a gastronomic feast of regional flavours. Explore the splendours of the Coast with our complimentary boat excursions and shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.