We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Caruso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A delight again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have just spent a ten days holiday at The Caruso. It was the fourth time there and I found again a great standard, even better than before. Any detail is taken care of. The staff was friendly and efficient, able to solve any eventual problem of your stay. The Midsummer party has been highly enjoyable, with a special live musical entertainment after dinner. The hotel’s gardens hold their charm, beautiful colours and scents. The view from the pool must be seen. This is a place where you can spend joyful time, among sunshine and beauty, where the staff make you feel like at home. Our cocker spaniel enjoyed the place as well, pampered behind description. We will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    43
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
64
265
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

One of the most beautiful places in the world! Our family of four stayed recently for 3 nights. The hotel rooms are all different and can be very spacious with amazing views. The breakfast buffet is wonderful and so was the room service. The service at the restaurants and pool area was excellent. The gardens around the hotel are the most beautiful I have ever seen. The garden has lemon, orange, lavender, grapes and olives the aroma and beauty are unforgettable! Speaking of unforgettable....the infinity pool is amazing. We took the hotel complimentary boat trip our first morning and the family enjoyed seeing the coast by boat. Wear your bathing suit if you want to jump in the beautiful water and cool off. The hotel arranged for us to do a private boat trip with Captain Patrizion with Amalfi Mare (amalfimare@gmail.com). This was the highlight of our trip. We saw the Amalfi coast and got to swim at many wonderful locations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Caruso is located in the beautiful cliff top town of Ravello with many rooms having breathtaking views out over the Amalfi Coast. It provides understated luxury with comfortable spacious rooms, delicious food in a number of different restaurants, a relaxing spa and a stunning infinity pool perched high above the sea. The effect of these facilities is magnified by the friendliness and sheer professionalism of the staff, who were to a man and woman absolutely excellent. A minor problem with our room booking (not the hotel's fault) was resolved with minimal fuss. All staff made us all (six) feel completely relaxed. A special mention must be made of Francesco the concierge and his team who arranged a number of outings as well as transfers, all of which went completely smoothly, but I cannot think of a staff member who did not play his or her part. The staff are really the jewel in the crown at this hotel. All I can say is Bravo! We would love to return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Amazing, amazing, amazing!! Words cannot describe the location and the impeccable service at this hotel! The hotel has spectacular views and the infinity pool is a jewel. The service is top-notch and we had the most relaxing stay thanks to the staff at this hotel. Housekeeping was excellent.
Lunch at the pool is delicious - the pizza is fresh and tasty. Highly recommend.
Hotel Caruso is worth every penny - we cannot wait to return!!

Room Tip: Our room was facing the hotel entrance which was noisy around 6AM due to deliveries. Would make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is our first time staying at an Orient Express property and for hotel snobs, we were really impressed. Check in was efficient and was given a tour of the entire property which was a nice touch. The gardens are beautiful. While our room was not a suite, we felt it was large and met our needs perfectly. We received a great rate from platinum concierge which included breakfast and a spa credit, so I suggest checking with them before you book directly. Besides the wonderful breakfast, the hotel provides complimentary transportation into Positano and Amalfi along with a complimentary boat ride daily along the Amalfi Coast. We did the boat ride twice and enjoyed it each time. The hotel does not advertise the boat ride so you need to inquire on the times. Lunch at the pool was excellent and as expected expensive. We had the antipasto buffet that was fresh and light and my husband had the pizza. It was nice to spend half a day at the hotel as it is very relaxing and scenery is spectacular. The town of Ravello is charming and did not feel as touristy as Sorrento. We cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First ravello and surroundings are stunning. The hotel is up to a good level very classic and traditional but not outdated. It fits the environment but i prefer a slightly more modern touch. Finally a top hotel with friendly staff good service and no arrogance. Internet included (and working). I prfer the jr suite over the suite. The suite does not have great views and a borring bedroom.

Room Tip: As always check the room to see if you like it. Ie 31 and 41 are both jr suites but one is larger wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel Caruso is a beautiful hotel in beautiful Ravello, Italy. We stayed in a junior suite with a terrace and sea view. The room was nice, terrace small and dark. Management told us on check in that they would show us other rooms the following day but they never did. Food in restaurant was mediocre. We had the meal plan and this did not include the casual poolside restaurant. We ate lunch twice in restaurant- both times I was given the incorrect menu item. My husband's dinner appetizer had an ant crawling in it one night. When these issues are brought to the staffs' attention, the inital reaction is that we were wrong, then it would be handled but never apologized for.Breakfast was good. Housekeeping was excellent.
Concierge made us restaurant reservations that did not exist when we arrived at restaurant. Shuttle never arrived to pick us up in Amalfi- when I called I was told that I wasn't in the right spot!
A drink at the hotel bar is 28 euros.
Our room was over 1700
euros/day. Just not worth it for the level of service they provided. If you are going take least expensive room and do not take half board option. The times we dined outside hotel in small local restaurants were much more enjoyable.
The pool and lounge areas were beautiful .,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the highest point of Ravello, this magnificent Orient-Express hotel is perched on a cliff top overlooking the spectacular Mediterranean and the Amalfi Coast. All the rooms and suites are very large and elegantly appointed with all comforts, most with balconies and private gardens. Swimming in the spectacular heated infinity swimming pool is like being suspended between sea and sky. Dining is a feast for the gourmets, at the hotel's restaurant, a gastronomic feast of regional flavours. Explore the splendours of the Coast with our complimentary boat excursions and shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Belmond, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.