We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable - For All The Right Reasons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Caruso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable - For All The Right Reasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Beautiful views and an idyllic setting make this a great "place to be". The gardens are immaculate, interesting to explore and great to look at. The pool and adjacent lawns and pool bar/restaurant make it easy to spend relaxing days here. The rooms are classic and excellently maintained, with generous bathrooms and several with private terraces.

The staff is always warm, professional and knowledgeable.

You can easily spend the days here and exploring the small town of Ravello, but venturing to nearby Amalfi, and from there taking the ferry to Positano are definitely worthwhile diversions.

Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    43
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
68
305
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Partridge Green
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Caruso , located a very short walk from the village centre of Ravello, is a top end and very professionally run hotel. The service ethos is clearly second nature to all its staff, and is delivered with a sense of genuine warmth, with any mild hiccups dealt with immediately - service and service recovery were great. The facilities were very good, including pool, good eating (especially at the pool restaurant) and gym. The complimentary shuttle transport to Amalfi and Positano was efficient and timely. Ravello itself was a perfect destination for us, with choice of places to eat , good local shopping, and especially with the music festival in full swing,

Room Tip: We had a garden room, which was discrete and quiet. AC was efficient and quiet. Housekeeping was exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Caruso from the 24th - 25th of June. On the 24th, it was our 20th wedding anniversary. On checking in, we were surprised with a nice bottle of sparkling wine and a selection of wonderful fruits. Furthermore, we were upgraded to a garden suite with beautiful views of the Amalfi Coast. Overall, our stay was excellent and the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We will definitely be coming back next year

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 35
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is our third summer spending time at the Hotel Caruso in Ravello and it has become our favourite and most special place to go. We now make a stop here at the end of each Europeean vacation in the summer. You can't beat the magic here with the gorgeous panoramic views, the amazing infinity pool, the food in all of their restaurants, the pizza class with Leo for our son, the boat ride from Amalfi to Positano, the very relaxing and pleasant atmosphere and the kind and oustanding hard working staff in every department and the genuine and welcoming management team. There is no better place for us. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and the housekeeping staff is top and does an excellent job. We enjoyed a garden tour this time with Tano who is extremely knowledgeable, interesting and kind and we found the tour a worthwhile thing to do. The hotel is walking distance to the Duomo Square which we also like very much. Thank you once again Franco, Tiziana and Iolanda for the warm welcome and making another stay so memorable. Many thanks also to Guisy, Antonella, Flavia, Luigi, J.J., Lucia, Roberta, Leo, Gulia, Daniel, Giovanni, Mario, Luigi and the housekeeping staff for going the extra mile all the time and making our holiday stress free and so much fun. We look forward to seeing all of you in the near future. Ciao.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIRLING
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our return to the Caruso did not disappoint. They have something very special here, high up amongst the hills with the most stunning views - the location is one of the best in Italy. Bedrooms are very comfortable but even at the same grade, seem to vary considerably in size. balcony etc. The gardens are glorious with a beautiful walk to the insane infinity pool and the wonderful restaurant for lunch. Having stayed before we always have lunch in the hotel and eat out in the evening. We previously found the restaurant for dinner a little too stuffy for our liking. Our last day was spoiled with the arrival of children, running around the pool garden, making (as children do) lots of noise. We wonder if the hotel policy for children has altered as we have not experienced this before. Ravello is such a pretty little town, perfect for a wonder in the evening. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Right from our arrival at the Caruso we knew we were in a special hotel. Yes, it is a little formal and some of the staff didn't seem to be completely at ease but the rest of the staff were fantastic and we had great fun with them. They entered into the spirit of things helping with our Italian lessons. The staff up at the pool restaurant were brilliant and great fun.
Our room was absolutely beautiful and had the the most fantastic terrace which was like our own private garden with the most spectacular garden.
Ravello is the most beautiful little village where you feel as if you could have died and gone to heaven - definitely on our repeat list

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe sea view - make sure you ask for a garden terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a very charming Hotel that, thanks to the decor, feels oddly like a modern bed and breakfast. The views from our patio balcony were nothing short of breathtaking. And that's where we had our daily included breakfast…a highlight of our trip to Italy.

Make sure you take the boat tour to see the Amalfi coastline, but bring your swimsuit. On hot days and calm water, they give you a chance to swim!

The actual hotel layout is confusing and the food is expensive. The food at the Belvedere is average, the poolside pizza was better. But your money is better spent in town, even with the tourist traps.

Note, the hotel has a lot of families, so the infinity pool is filled with kids at playtime. Not very romantic.

But we'd go back. The service was warm and attentive. And that view from our room was that good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoGirasoli, Manager at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were happy to hear that despite some hiccups, which I have investigated seriously, you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope to have you back in a not too distant future.

As to your comment about the hotel layout being a little confusing, please consider that the building was built in the 11th century as a palace by a patrician Roman family. When the Orient-Express group bought and restored the property, they were asked to keep the layout as faithful as possible to the original. This is the reason why you cannot consider the hotel as a single block building, but instead you have to consider it more as a Villa on different levels with gardens to explore and a lot of charming character.

Regarding your remarks towards our restaurant, we are always respectful of personal tastes but kindly note the food pricing at the restaurant reflects the quality of our dishes and ingredients. Our Sommelier has matched these dishes to a carefully crafted and varied wine list featuring wines from all over Italy to give diners a truly fine-dining experience. I must also stress that we are the only hotel which provides an hourly shuttle service to and from the centre of Amalfi to the Belvedere Restaurant.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments, we encourage all guests to do this so we can constantly improve the service we offer and continue to be one of the best hotels on the Amalfi coast. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Caruso soon,

regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the highest point of Ravello, this magnificent Orient-Express hotel is perched on a cliff top overlooking the spectacular Mediterranean and the Amalfi Coast. All the rooms and suites are very large and elegantly appointed with all comforts, most with balconies and private gardens. Swimming in the spectacular heated infinity swimming pool is like being suspended between sea and sky. Dining is a feast for the gourmets, at the hotel's restaurant, a gastronomic feast of regional flavours. Explore the splendours of the Coast with our complimentary boat excursions and shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.