We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel - one off location - pricey!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Caruso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel - one off location - pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I very much enjoyed the luxury of this hotel. 1000ft above sea level upon a mountain. Best views and very pretty surroundings.

My review is mixed.
I was amazed by the gardens, the infinity pool, the food and also by the price!
The suites are quite special with great views from your balcony. Nice decor, clean modern yet in keeps with Italian style.
The food at the lunch buffet is so good. Fresh seafood and healthy food I did enjoy and endulge.
The staff round the pool are attentive and friendly.

However I was surprised by this hotel. I hope not to come accross rude but this is quite a romantic secluded special place, then you have very young children running around.
I wouldn't mind that if these particular kids were not such spolit brats!!

For the price per night you would spoil yourself to get away with your partner. We seemed to avoid the pool during the day because we couldn't relax and there was no peace and quiet.

I was also surprised our final bill was charged €600 euros extra for a dinner we never had. This took until I got home to realise and it was hard to resolve. The staff were not at their most helpful.
We got a refund back and no offer of an apology or anything. That's a lot of money!
Also the concierge was rude to us after we cancelled a trip before travelling, and this was not communicated. Not my fault but was angry at his attitude.

I used the spa services and had a massage but it was quite basic nothing special I would rave about.

It is lovely but it is also expensive.
The location is a taxi ride down the mountain to get to restaurants. We had a nice meal out but the food was average.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    43
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
64
265
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Mrs D is known to have high expectations when it comes to hotel service. The staff at the Caruso even impressed her, which is verging on miraculous! They are amazing, truly hospitable, this is what I call proper service!

Rooms are spacious with the most fantastic views... Cookery classes are a must, as is lazing by the beautiful pool and sipping bellinis before dining alfresco. The food is as magnificent as the view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbæk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were there in week 42/ 2012
And the hotel and staff live up to whats written on the homepage , and more. Everuthing is what it seems to be on the pics.Only irl.
Infinity pool amazing
Breakfast included, also wonderfull.
Can be recommended- for everyone who wants to get peace of mind, and wonderfull memories.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

As this is our Silver Wedding Anniversary year we decided to stay at the Hotel Caruso, although we were only staying in Ravello for one night - we visit every year but have never stayed at this hotel before. Yes it is a lot of money, but it is worth every penny and you will not regret it! We had a truly amazing magical experience. The staff are extremely professional, helpful and friendly. OUr room was simply amazing. The view IS stunning, but many hotels also offer this view, BUT you will not find rooms quite like these! Immaculate with everything you could wish for. The hotel infinity pool is wonderful AND heated - we went swimming even though it's the end of October! Very peaceful and quiet location. We will DEFINITELY be back. My husband says he will never stay anywhere else whenever we visit Ravello!

Room Tip: We were in Room 102, think it was a Deluxe room but not sure! It was an AMAZING room with a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Faultless service and stunning facilities including one of the most incredible views from a pool that you will find anywhere. We also had an incredible dinner here that remains one of my culinary highlights of Italy. Without a doubt, you get what you pay for... a lot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our family of 5 enjoyed a wonderful 3 nights in September at this magnificent Hotel. The highlights are the most delicious wood fired pizza beside the beautiful infinity pool, the gardens, the immaculate rooms and the service. We were greeted by name at breakfast and by the pool every day with truly genuine smiles. We also recommend the free boat cruise along the Amalfi Coast. The skipper stopped so we could jump off and have a swim, which our teenage children loved. A great hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Infact. It is the perfect reason to go to Ravello.

Room Tip: We had interconnecting suites which was perfect with the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Luxury at its best. The location is peaceful, elegant and refined. Front desk Service up to its reputation as one of the best hotels in the world. The decor is clearly old-world style but impeccably updated to include every amenity. The location is perfect for day trips or local city walks. Concierge will happily arrange tours, taxis, reservations or whatever you require- even free boat shuttles to nearby Capri!

There is a Jazz bar with live music for after dinner drinks- in a lovely drawing room setting. Breakfast on the veranda overlooking the sea is memorable. Dont miss the pool side dining- not only for the sea & mountain views (and celebrity watching), but also the well prepared food and especially friendly,welcoming service.

The Caruso is a must for anyone venturing to the Amalfi coast. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the highest point of Ravello, this magnificent Orient-Express hotel is perched on a cliff top overlooking the spectacular Mediterranean and the Amalfi Coast. All the rooms and suites are very large and elegantly appointed with all comforts, most with balconies and private gardens. Swimming in the spectacular heated infinity swimming pool is like being suspended between sea and sky. Dining is a feast for the gourmets, at the hotel's restaurant, a gastronomic feast of regional flavours. Explore the splendours of the Coast with our complimentary boat excursions and shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Belmond, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.