We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I've Stayed At” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Caruso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
MONTREAL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Hotel I've Stayed At”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Recently returned from my first visit to Ravello. So glad I stayed at the Caruso. The hotel is perfectly situated, with tremendous views of the sea below. We had a very large room, complete with our own private yard, easily 600 sq. feet, complete with table, chairs, and 2 loungers. The infinity pool is amazing, allowing you to enjoy the most incredible unobstructed view of miles of the Amalfi Coast. We enjoyed a fantastic meal at the hotel's main restaurant that should not be missed. The service was impeccable, especially Gennaro, who was able to contact an art gallery on our behalf once we had returned home. Yes it's quite expensive to stay here, but they treat you like royalty and you feel that your money has been well-spent and that the hotel staff and management appreciates all their guests.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    43
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
62
261
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

If you’re considering a stay at this fabulous hotel then you must already know about the pleasures Ravello offers among the Amalfi coast’s towns. It is peaceful, utterly beautiful, graced with a serious summer music festival and is so high in the sky that even its side streets have postcard-perfect views. The Caruso takes this to a high pitch, at a high price, and surrounds you with the most tasteful and convincing renovation I have ever seen among high-end hotels. Among its many pleasures is the pool scene, where you really could spend the rest of your life sipping Bellinis while swallows play aerial tag not three meters from your drink; the experience is timeless, relaxing and utterly romantic. The breakfast buffet is sybaritic and provides enough pleasure (and calories) to last through dinner if not the whole week. In fact, any meal eaten on one of the hotel’s dining terraces becomes a sublime experience. That having been said, my wife and I found the dining and wait-staff the least hospitable among very well trained service professionals. For example, they seated three American couples at closely-spaced, adjacent tables at dinner even though every other table was empty. I know we eat early as a nation but this doesn’t mean we want to hear each others’ conversation! This also occurred at breakfast. Further, and in keeping with other comments on this site, I found the hotel’s food fussy and not especially enjoyable. One dish on the tasting menu, rabbit meatballs, was inedible. We actually had our most memorable night eating in a family-owned, local place called Campo Cosmo, recommended by the concierge. We met two other couples, attended a Pink Martini concert, and were invited for drinks at the Hotel Palumbo, which shares the same scenic street with Caruso and Pallazo Avino (Sasso). We feel that either of these properties would provide a similar experience minus Caruso’s inimitable pool. Finally, as for which room to choose, I have attached a floor plan or two to give you an idea of what’s available. Most appear to be “Deluxe Doubles” which, in our case, number 37, was ample if simply furnished with a delightful terrace. Be warned that if you splurge for a larger room or suite with grassy terrace (my dachshund would have loved it) you may be disappointed by a lack of privacy as the rooms are set back and overlook each other; see the pics for a look at what I mean. All told however this is one of the best of the best and provides a seamless, memorable gateway to Ravello and the Sorentine peninsula should you want to get coastal. PS—we loved hiking on Capri but were shut out of Mama Agata’s. Book early if you really want to go.

Room Tip: See the attached floor plans to give you an idea of the rooms' relative size. Suites with grassy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, MI
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Caruso for three days. After touring Amalfi and Ravello, coming back to the gardens and pool at the Caruso provided the perfect afternoon in July. The pool view is one of the best I have seen. The service was freindly, the rooms were great and the view from the breakfast area was wonderful. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex, england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent three nights here with a group of friends. Hotel staff were faultless, nothing was too much trouble and everything done with a smile. Can't pick anyone out individually as all staff were fantastic. Room spotless, lovely bathroom toiletries. Ravello town centre just down the road and great atmosphere there. Hired a boat from Amalfi to Positano and beyond, great day out. Belvedere restaurant delightful, food exquisite and views amazing. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a very expensive hotel. However, at least it is worth it. The breakfast is outstanding --food and service. The staff is super. Ravello is very pleasant , not touristy. You will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel worth the drive. Spectacular views, wonderful food, beautiful pool, wood burning pizzas by the pool. Very romantic in the beautiful, musical town of Ravello. Perfect honeymoon or adult vacation.

Room Tip: Anything facing the sea but room 105 is incredible!!! Beautiful patio facing entire coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Caruso in summer 2011 during our Amalfi trip. Ravello and hotel Caruso was the highlight of our trip! The infinity pool overseeing the coast is breathtaking!! The rooms are perfect and the staff is extremely kind and helpful. The restaurant has a nice view and the bar serves the best bellini you can have!
We stayed there during the music festival in august, enjoyed the lovely pool during the day and the concerts in the evening. Hope to go back very soon!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the highest point of Ravello, this magnificent Orient-Express hotel is perched on a cliff top overlooking the spectacular Mediterranean and the Amalfi Coast. All the rooms and suites are very large and elegantly appointed with all comforts, most with balconies and private gardens. Swimming in the spectacular heated infinity swimming pool is like being suspended between sea and sky. Dining is a feast for the gourmets, at the hotel's restaurant, a gastronomic feast of regional flavours. Explore the splendours of the Coast with our complimentary boat excursions and shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.