We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How A Luxury Hotel should be................” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Caruso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“How A Luxury Hotel should be................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

As others have said the journey from Naples to Ravello is through the mountains and takes around an hour, the drivers both ways were excellent and helped with luggage and talked with us about the surrounding area.

The Caruso is set up on a street about a five minute walk from the centre of Ravello, which is a charming yet very small village. The Hotel Sasso is next door to the Caruso but I have to say does not look as appealing, yet I'm sure is a good Hotel too.

Our room overlooked the fabulous white rose trimmed gardens with an amazing view. Again our son was well catered for with a lovely single bed added in the room, children's slippers and dressing gown. The room was spacious and had all the amenities expected from a luxury Hotel, the bathroom toiletries were wonderful and never scrimped on!

We spent most days of our week break by the Hotel pool which was simply breath taking, we found that you could enjoy the sun in the morning, a fantastic lunch by the pool restaurant and then retire with a rossini and watch the birds dancing around the pool!

The food is without exception amazing, I think we tried most dishes but can highly recommend the tuna and any of the seafood pasta dishes we ate were amazing. The evening restaurant is set out on the terrace which again is beautiful, the second restaurant, I believe called the Belvedere Restaurant was not open during the time we stayed due to the weather being a little unpredictable at night but this did not effect our enjoyment in anyway.

The hotel has a free shutle bus to Amalfi and Positano, we visited Amalfi which we found very crowded and a little too touristy for us and soon escaped back to the calm of the Caruso. There is also a free boat trip from Amalfi to Positano and back which takes around two hours, we did this and found that we were the only three on the boat, the captain spoke perfect english and was very informative about all the sights along the coast; it was a great experience.

Finally, what make a good Hotel GREAT is the staff, I simply cannot praise each and every member of staff we encountered highly enough, from Marco and Yolanda at the pool to Tomasmo (a true gentleman and fantastic restaurant manager), Julia, Gabriella and more at the gorgeous pool restaurant, Giovanni the Restaurant Manager, Giovanni the restaurant waiter, the great lady sommelier, Nicola our breakfast man!, the housekeepers and of course not forgetting the exceptional Giovanni the Bar man who not only knows just what you want when you sit down but makes the BEST B52 cocktails in the world.......... thank you.

This is one Hotel that you have to visit in your life time, we are already planning our return!

Room Tip: Book a suite with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    43
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
62
261
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

One of the reasons we chose Hotel Caruso for a short break was the many very good reviews on Trip Advisor, which we tend to use to make our final selection from a choice of hotels in any region.

In many respects these reviews were spot on, in that the Hotel is beautifully located, the rooms are exceptional and the staff all extremely friendly, efficient and helpful.

The transfer from the airport was a good way to start the break, through wonderful scenery and the driver pointed out a number of the sites.

Ravello was all we expected it to be, a charming small town with tiny winding roads and great views. The staff made us very welcome and the short guided tour around the hotel helped us to get our bearings immediately and also see the stupendous view from the pool area. The bottle of Prosecco and bowl of strawberries that we returned to find after lunch on our arrival day was also a very pleasant surprise.

The room, a deluxe junior suite, was outstanding, plenty of room and a view that must be one of the best that we have ever had from a hotel room. It was very comfortable and luxurious.

We ate at the poolside restaurant a couple of times, had a snack in the bar, room service and had dinner in the restaurant. The food was very good, although as a number of reviewers have mentioned, quite expensive, but we did feel it was worth it. Breakfast had plenty of choice.

We spent some time lazing in the pool area and enjoying the views from the warm pool. Iolanda is perhaps the happiest person we have ever met working at a hotel, always smiling and extremely helpful. I suppose working in such a beautiful environment helps.

Even though the Hotel is expensive, it was also a reasonably realxed environment unlike some hotels we have stayed at where you do not feel so comfortable.

There were a few small matters that made the stay less enjoyable than it might have been.

The first is that there was a stomach bug in the area, which unfortunately my wife suffered from for a day.

Secondly, the Hotel fire alarm went off at 3.00am on our last night. We were pleased that there was no fire, but would have preferred not to be woken.

Finally, the transfer back to the airport was not in the expected Mercedes car, but a larger Mercedes Viano, which although spacious, was not nearly as comfortable. The hotel did, when this was queried with them, quickly make arrangements to compensate us for this change of vehicle, and their gesture was appreciated by us.

Overall a very pleasant hotel, great staff and a beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

First, the Caruso is one of the most expensive hotels on in the Amalfi coast. We were lucky enough to get a super saver rate and were upgraded to a suite. If you are deciding between the Palazo Sasso and the Caruso I would choose the Caruso hands down. They are right next to each other but the pool is where you will be spending your days. the heated infinity pool cannot be beat. Lunch outside by the pool is fantastic. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the city center. The rooms are very spacious. The bathrooms and balcony were huge. The food served at the hotel was top notch. I enjoyed the breakfasts. The hotel has US outlets and the wireless internet worked perfectly. My only gripe is there is no iron in the room and getting your clothes pressed can be expensive. All in all amazing trip. I would stay here again. We did not do the boat tour because it was too windy.

Room Tip: Book the super saver rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Thank you Caruso for an unforgettable stay. Room, location, food, wine was amazing but best of all is the staff - amazing!!!! We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

The hotel is situated in the hills of the Amalfi cost with great view of the coast and the sea. We had an amazing room with a big terasse. The hotel restaurant is very nice and Giovanni and his crew take great care of you. The nicest thing is the infinity pool though, which was slightly heated when we were there in April, so you didn't even feel cold when going for a swim.

Room Tip: Definitely get a deluxe sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Ravello is a wonderful mountain village with superb views. Hotel Caruso is the most amazing hotel we have stayed in. The staff are wonderful, friendly but not intrusive. The views from the room, pool and eating areas are spectacular. The rooms are large, very well stocked, great bathrooms, good beds and a pop up TV! The pool area and gardens are beautiful. The most relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Our second Orient Express experience we knew to be expecting great things and we were quite right to do so!
The room was spacious and fabulously decorated with two bathrooms and designer toiletries, which was MORE than we needed.
The balcony with view over the gorgeous gardens and Amalfi coast backdrop were breathtaking.
We didnt hear a peep out of any other guests so really felt like we were on our own private getaway.
The Hotel pool has the best view and is heated so despite the weather not being great whilst we were there we still made sure we had our afternoon dip!
The restaurant served fine dining cuisine so not the Pizza/Pasta dishes that we had been enjoying whilst we were out and about, but together with the service they did offer a welcome bit of luxury.
Room service wasnt great but this isnt a place that you come to eat in your room.
We definitely enjoyed the sumptuous Hotel Caruso but warn that at £12 each for a cup of tea you need to expect to be paying for such quality

Room Tip: Sea view and balcony room was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the highest point of Ravello, this magnificent Orient-Express hotel is perched on a cliff top overlooking the spectacular Mediterranean and the Amalfi Coast. All the rooms and suites are very large and elegantly appointed with all comforts, most with balconies and private gardens. Swimming in the spectacular heated infinity swimming pool is like being suspended between sea and sky. Dining is a feast for the gourmets, at the hotel's restaurant, a gastronomic feast of regional flavours. Explore the splendours of the Coast with our complimentary boat excursions and shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.